We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Close to Nye Beach and great views. Oceanfront views. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet, the warm cookies and if we had been there on time, the chowder. The room was clean and comfortable. There was a fireplace in the room. Next time we plan on staying longer to enjoy the beach and the pool. We came for a gymnastics meet and didn't have time to enjoy all that it had to offer. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxi1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    300
    91
    45
    21
See reviews for
233
529
38
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights during the Seafood and Wine Festival. What a beautiful view - breathtaking really. The hotel is on a bluff directly over the ocean - the surf is crashing literally right outside the front entrance. Pretty impressive introduction.
We enjoyed our king suite - it was spacious, with comfortable bed and pillows, a large sofa and fireplace. We had inclement weather the whole time, so we didn't make much use of the deck other than to take a few photos - but the view from the room was great.
Staff was very friendly, and we appreciated the free coffee and cookies. We used the hot tub - it was VERY hot, sort of a shock after having to walk across the concrete parking garage to get there. Overall, a really wonderful stay. We will return for sure.

Room Tip: Ice machines on 1 and 3rd floors only. There is only one elevator for the entire hotel. Breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklingspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently stayed at the Elizabeth Street Inn at Nye Beach, Newport, Oregon. We had a corner room with a beautiful view of the ocean from the deck on one side and a large picture window that looked north up the beach. The hotel is very well maintained, the beds comfortable, and a nice breakfast included in the rental. In addition, at 5 p.m. they serve salmon chowder in their reservation area and freshly baked cookies at 8 p.m. We would definitely return to this hotel. We went in February and got a great stay-for-one night get 2nd night free rate they were offering.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbEugene_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is one of the nicest in Newport. Rooms are large, clean, comfortable and all come with oceanfront viewing. Staff was very helpful and friendly. There is nothing like listening to and watching the ocean from your room. As a bonus, it is located near our favorite oceanfront restaurant (Georgie's). We had not been to this hotel since it opened but the hotel was as nice as we remembered. A must stay in Newport!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had the privilege of staying here for the first three days of our honeymoon. We loved our room! It was so nice to have a gas fireplace in the room as it enabled us to keep the sliding door open during the night so we could be lulled to sleep by the sound of the ocean waves just steps from the inn. As a self-professed lodging snob, I have very high expectations when it comes to room cleanliness. Our room, as well as the rest of the inn, was spotless. You can really see that the employees of this establishment take pride in their work. We are looking forward to staying here again, as well as enjoying their homemade chocolate chip cookies in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theincrediblelunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

As usual the weather in Late January can be touchy on the Oregon coast. The Elizabeth Inn is a great cozy place to stay. Gas fireplace, covered parking, breakfast, late afternoon chowder, clean, quiet, balcony ocean views and late night cookies.
Winter rate around $100 was reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stay at this hotel for work. It's one of two hotels my company has an arrangement with and I prefer this one for the view and it's a little more comfortable. However...

The "high speed" internet is nothing of the kind. I suspect the hotel has the lowest speed tier DSL connection available and shared by all the guests. Also, they have 2 or 3 different wifi networks, but they all use to the same slow connection out to the net. Forget watching Netflix or using Skype and you're lucky if you can browse the web at all. Whoever manages their network obviously doesn't know what they are doing. As an IT professional, internet access is important for me, but I carry an LTE enabled iPad with mobile data sharing that I can use in a pinch.

Aside from internet access, there is only one elevator and it is very slow. When there are a lot of guests, and especially in the morning when people are going to breakfast or checking out, you can wait for 10-15 minutes. That's NOT an exaggeration. I often carry my bags down the stairs so I can get out of there and get to work.

The rooms are fairly spacious, with the exception of the bathrooms (barely closet-size), and cozy enough with gas fireplaces. They do not have A/C which isn't usually an issue as long as you don't mind keeping the patio door open for the ocean breeze. It's not super secure but someone would have to be willing to climb out over the balcony rail from another room and side step past the dividers to get to you which is not something I would want to try that far up.

The staff is friendly and they try to be helpful. I had to complain once about failing to connect to wifi at all and they did their best to get me up and running. Of course the hotel was full on that visit and even when I got connected, I was only pulling dial-up speed (literally less than 56kps).

They do have a decent indoor pool and hot tub, but you have to walk through the basement parking level to get to it.

Overall, it is a decent hotel for a relaxed vacation when you want to disconnect, but nothing special. I still struggle with going back to other hotel just for the fast wifi, but it's not on the ocean and the rooms are not as comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ash-OR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Good afternoon Ash-78OR,

Thank you for your honest review and opinion of the Elizabeth Street Inn. I am writing to you to address the comment regarding the poor Internet service at our establishment. If at all possible, I would like to talk to you at length regarding the inconvenience you've experienced, so we can address it with our Internet service provider. While it is true that we have had challenges, a few months ago we went through an extensive effort to change our provider and the quality of our Internet service, and to remove the issues you've described. We want to ensure that our guests are always receiving the best service, and to prevent future connectivity issues.
Please provide us with your contact information, or contact us at your convenience at 541-265-9400 - ask to talk to Tina (Assistant Manager), or to Lela (General Manager). We may be reached via email at tina@elizabethstreetinn.com or lela@elizabethstreetinn.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Tina Strode
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing