We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a weekend stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My wife and I just finished a weekend stay at the Elizabeth. Overall it was a nice hotel. The room was big, up to date, had a great ocean view, new furnishings. The staff was pleasant. The location was great, right on the beach. The one thing I noticed was there was a lot of food choices around which could be a pain if you stayed there longer. We would definitely stay again.

A couple negatives:
They had free breakfast which was nice but the quality wasn't that high, a holiday inn level. Nothing wrong with it just for almost 200/night I would expect better

The thermostat didn't seem to be working, it made it difficult to get a good temp to sleep
Couldn't turn off the fireplace, kept blowing hot heat

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbmateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    311
    96
    45
    21
See reviews for
245
552
39
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Enjoyed our 3 night stay at Elizabeth St Inn. Had a 4th floor room with great views of the ocean and whales spouting and breaching. The balcony was a nice. Beach easy to get to. Staff friendly. Good breakfast. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackamas, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Beware of staying on the 3rd floor. The balcony light will come on at 2:30am and if your drapes are open you will have a well lit up room!! No way to shut it off. And of course you will more than likely have the drapes open before you go to bed because the view is great and no one can see in. But what a suprise it will be at 2:30am unless you are a very sound sleeper. Maybe the lights come on so the ships at sea don't run a ground on the beach in front of the Elizabeth street Inn after 2:30am?. Lord knows they will be able to see them!

Room Tip: Dont get a room on the 3rd floor. For that matter dont get a room above the first floor as the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tltroonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane Valley, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Elizabeth Street Inn could not be more charming for a hotel that is not vintage. Wonderful personal touches which make you feel like you are in a friend's home. Very obvious this is NOT a chain. Perfect for that Oregon Coast "feel". Fresh baked cookies which give off a wonderful aroma in lobby served every evening. Great free hot breakfast buffet including just about anything you could want. Rooms all good sized with nice gas fireplaces, couches, tables & flat screen. HINT - request one that doesnt have the gas vent out on your balcony. The smell comes back in room prohibiting your use. Summoned maintenance - although nice he said he could not smell it. THAT would not be possible - very very strong odor & obvious - everyone in my party agreed. He did ck it out to make sure not dangerous but I felt I could not use. The last night I moved to a different room (preplanned) - no balcony vent & no smell. There were a few light stains on carpet & a little wear & tear on furniture HOWEVER this is the coast - a family place - it would be expected even if hotel only 6 months old. Sink leaked a small stream of water. I am particular & grout in tub corners could use a better celaning or re-done. The bed mattress & linens were luxurious. Pillows NOT lumpy. The sound of mini fridge in room was a little annoying but I am a light sleeper. Room darkening curtains a great touch even though facing west. Views are magnificient - request a room on right hand side (facing west) to include lighthouse. Sunsets from balcony truly unbelievable. Ample parking garage with more than enough spaces. Be careful as ramp is steep - drive in slowly so as not to hit bottom when first approaching or last leaving. All this being said - access to ocean beach is a very long walk. You have a choice of many many steep stairs past the Shilo Inn next door (over a block away) or a much more user friendly ramp (but still long & steep) about a block or so in opposite direction. There are ample resting benches along the ramp but they have a green slimy sludge all around bottom - would not be pleasant to sit for long. If someone has trouble walking OR several little ones not sure this would be place to stay. The beach itself is just so so. You are in the Nye Beach area so very crowded. There is a small rock jetty that is fun to climb around & look for "sea critters". I feel the Elizabeth Street Inn is about as good as it gets for a hotel in a major Oregon coastal city. Price a little high but probably average going rate for ocean view & the amenities (indoor pool - with deck & great views too, sauna, exercise room, jacuzzi). Nice touch with fluffy robes hanging in each room. No restaurant on site but Shilo Inn has one. Try Newport Cafe's (located right up on main Hwy 101) chowder. If you like creamy - its the best on the coast! Place looks like a small dive on outside BUT not so & staff are very gracious. I stayed 4 nights @ hotel. During that time there was only one instance where I felt front desk staff were a little less than welcoming & friendly. More than not they went out of way to try & remember your name as you passed by, etc. & always looked up with big smiles which must get a little old since desk is located right by elevator. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: cant go wrong with any room - all ocean views.. I stayed on 2nd floor - still panoramic as hotel si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty8893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great service, very nice room, gorgeous view. all in all a great experience, booked online and got trip advisor 15% discount (we stayed a sunday night), got a corner room and the view was stunning over pacific from room porch. great spot and would defo stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon7up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We love this hotel but it has become the high end of hotels in the area. But with the balconies hanging over the ocean, the swimming pool, exercise room, fireplaces, location to the restaurants in Nye Beach and the waterfront, cookies in the evening, and morning full breakfasts, it is well worth it. We stayed two nights and broke the vacation budget but we loved the experience. Front desk people were not helpful with discounts or suggestions.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and are great. Third floor is next to the breakfast buffet. Ask for rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readerlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Mt
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This hotel was everything it promised and more. Great ocean view, clean room, friendly staff, great breakfast and yummy cookies in the evening. We will definitely be back. What a great experience for my children's first visit to the ocean! Thank you! The McEwen Family

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for such a great review! By surpassing your expectations we have accomplished our goal! Very pleased to learn you had such an excellent stay with us! Look forward to seeing you again.

All the best,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
846 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing