We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm room resolved, I enjoyed it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm room resolved, I enjoyed it”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

A previous reviewer mentioned the issue of the room being warm. I also encountered this upon first entry, but the problem was solved and mentioned to the front desk. They now have a solution for future guests who happen to find the rooms warm.

The hotel was recently renovated to nice effect, including gas fire places added to [i assume] most rooms. The pilot light on these fireplaces is very large, nearly the size of a gas stove/range burner. The pilot light alone heats the room when the balcony door is closed, as you would do after a guest moves out and the room is cleaned. This happens even if the fireplace is "off."

I noticed these details and asked if they could turn off the pilot, or quench the gas flow. They were going to send their onsite maintenance person to do so, but he was called away to another task offsite. Initially I opened the balcony door to let in the cool October sea air [wonderful!] -- this mitigated the heat somewhat.

Then I took a look at the fireplace a little more closely. I quickly discovered that it is really simple to turn off the pilot light by popping open the bottom decorative hinged panel and operating the control, which is exactly like those used on gas water heaters.

Problem solved! As I say, the front desk now knows about this, and so hopefully won't require their official maintenance personnel to go to rooms that some consider warm. It is a very simple thing to do.

Of course, with the typical cool weather at the NW Oregon coast, you may really like the room to be warm. To each their own in this case.

The hotel has a good location, and yes, the sea views, ocean air, and sound of the Pacific are magical. I slept so well.

In this example I was in town for the Newport Jazz Festival, occurring just a 4 minute walk up Elizabeth Street to the Performing Arts Center. It was a fabulous festival, including performances by Monty Alexander -- a great pianist one owes it to themselves to check out.

Back to the hotel -- checkin was quick; staff were very helpful. Parking is ample and partially sheltered. The chowder and cookies, as someone else mentioned, are a nice touch in case you're feeling a bit peckish by end of day after a long oceanside walk, or tour of the Oregon Coast Acquarium (http://http://aquarium.org/).

Someone else mentioned the slow elevator in the hotel. I only ever used it when first going upstairs with bags, and when leaving going down with bags. Otherwise I take the stairs whenever I can and did so on this occasion. I realise some may not have the stairs option, but the elevator isn't overly slow in my humble opinion. I would guess you're on holiday, so slowing down is ok, yeah?

I found it another nice touch that they had a dedicated breakfast room / lounge. Breakfast is more than a cold continental, including waffles and other yummies, with the usual suspects of cereal, rolls/pastries/bagels/croissants, etc.

The hotel WiFi functioned just fine. Although it wasn't fast enough that you would want to download a large file, email, surfing, youtube, facebook, twitter -- these uses were all perfectly fine in my room on the fourth floor. I was roughly in the middle of the building, a tad south of the centrally located elevator.

I detected no issues in the room with odors, as it was a tightly regulated non-smoking room in my case. Pets, if you have them, are also restricted to dedicated rooms. Having some allergies in this area, I had a non-smoking room.

Someone mentioned the couch in the room being a bit tired; in my case the couch was fine.

Also, the rooms are pretty large. I paced mine off, and came up with a rough figure of a bit under 450 square feet (41m^2). This is quite spacious in my estimation.

The bathroom area had the toilet and shower in one room with user-selectable fan/evacuation switch, and then outside this room, adjacent to the main body of the room, two separate sinks with amenities, and a huge mirror behind the sinks.

Other amenities included a quarter sized fridge, a microwave oven that I used to revive leftovers at one point, and a basic coffee+tea service including small 4cup kettle (coffee pot to USA'ers).

I had been to this hotel before and enjoyed it, so I suppose I was predisposed to like it. I did come away with the fondness I had felt earlier reinforced, especially because of the nice renovations that had been done since my last visit.

All in all, though it is the location that makes it work. When you drive into town and bridge the crest of the hill that allows you to see the beach and the ocean thrashing away, with the smell of sea spray in the air, you know you have arrived and things will be kewl.

I hope you have a chance to visit. There are other hotel options on the same beach so you should compare prices if this is something that drives your decision. I, however, will continue to stay at the Elizabeth Street Inn whenever duty calls to visit Newport, Oregon.

Room Tip: top floor is best in my opinion. no foot trodding from above [not that this is a real problem]
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    292
    89
    44
    21
See reviews for
224
509
36
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We had two rooms for a single night mid-October. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the views are amazing. We didn't sample the cookies or chowder but they are certainly a nice touch. The breakfast looked substantial & well looked after. e would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorothyUgchelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Bonafides: I work in the airline business so have seen a lot of hotels over the last thirty years.

We were very pleased with the room, very spacious and we had a two queen room. No complaints about the decore. Couch seemed a little tired. Bed was fine. The elevator is very slow, but so what? We stayed in mid Oct. The temp that day was a pleasent 75 degrees. Yes, the room was warm, inexplicably, except that the room faces west into the setting sun. We left the slider open a few inches all night and were comfortable. In the summer it could be a problem. There is just no airflow unless you leave your door open and open a window in the hall, it might help while you are in your room.

Breakfast was better than some but not great. Industrial eggs, yeech! Sausage and biscuits and gravy not bad. Cereal is cereal, oatmeal is instant.

Staff was fine and recommended a fine dining restaurant within walking distance.
I would stay there again in cool weather.

Room Tip: They all face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I really enjoyed sitting in the hotel room and looking at the beach and the ocean right next to us. The location of the hotel is wonderful. We went walking on the beach and them swimming in the nice, warm pool! Kids loved the cookies served every night at 8 p.m. in the lobby. There is a wonderful Italian restaurant within walking distance (in a bookshop). We had a very good stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Nice to hear you had such a wonderful stay with us! We are so lucky to have such a great setting for our Hotel with every room getting virtually the same perspective and panoramic view. We will pass on your rave review to Green Gables, the Italian restaurant you mentioned.
Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

NO COMPLAINTS HERE! The people on here putting anything less than 5 stars is "TOO PICKY" and looking for something to complain about! We have stayed in many hotels and this exceeded our expectations! The bed was VERY comfy and they put 4 pillows on it for extra comfort. Large flatscreen tv, granite counters, tile floors a gorgeous view (and there are chairs for the balcony in the closet) fireplace and breakfast was awesome all three mornings we were there. Warm cookies and chowder in the evenings were a very nice extra touch! Staff was VERY friendly and helpful and we will definitely make it our place to stay when we return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thank you for your kind words! As we all know it is hard to please everyone, but we still hate to see a review that is less than perfect. We really strive to "exceed expectations" like we did with the two of you. Thanks again for noticing all of the extra amenities we offer and for acknowledging the staff.

Look forward to seeing you next time you visit Newport!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

The Good: Nice location and View, Friendly Staff, Clean, Fresh Hot Cookies at night, Seafood soup in the afternoon & within walking distance to Georgie's Restaurant. (See Review)
The Bad: Bed & Pillows not the best, Elevator sucks (Use the Stairs), Price & Breakfast is not the best one we've encountered.
Other thoughts, they could put a couple of chairs on the balcony so you could sit and enjoy the view, the gas fireplace in the room is a nice touch but too warm in the room to enjoy it even with the temperature turned way down. Otherwise having not stayed in other Newport Hotels I can not say how it ranks with the others in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, if you have trouble with stairs pick a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waytar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
We regret not exceeding your expectations when you visited us. Yes, the elevator gets a lot of use so it does occassionally take awhile to arrive. Not sure exactly when you stayed, but it looks as though it may have been within the time frame that we had a bus tour in and that could certainly explain any wait time you may have encountered.

I am surprised to hear you were not pleased with the bed, as we generally get very good comments about them. If you could contact me and let me know the room number you were in I could certainly check the bed to see if there is a problem. We will be replacing the pillows and linens in the rooms soon.

It is unfortunate that you did not notice the two deck chairs located in the closet of your room. We know how much our guests enjoy sitting and watching the sunset and view so we provide those in every room along with a small table for drinks, etc.

Do hope you will try us again,

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I enjoyed our four nights at the Elizabeth Street Inn, despite the warm room, the dark, tired decor and the poor breakfast, which are documented accurately by a previous reviewer. To their negatives, I would have to add terrible pillows and an elevator that didn't work one day. However, the room is spacious, the staff at the front desk were warm and helpful, and the view was wonderful! Yes, we saw whales from our balcony and slept with the sound of surf. Complimentary chowder and cookies are a nice touch. And judging from other places we stayed on the coast, this hotel was good value.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An0ther0pini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
We apologize for the elevator not working one of the days you were with us. Unfortunately, it was one of those situations that could not be avoided. The technician worked on the elevator most of the day and finally got it running that afternoon. (One never knows when a circuit board might go out and parts are usually several hours away, as was the case in this instance.) We never want to see our guests inconvenienced, so this was a very distressing situation for all involved.

There have been a lot of whale sightings of late. A pod resides in the area and it is not unusual to spot them from the Hotel balconies, or while strolling on the beach.

Hope you and your husband can return soon, maybe for some stormwatching!

Lela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
789 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Property: Elizabeth Street Inn
Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing