We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value on the Oregon Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elizabeth Street Inn
Ranked #4 of 24 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2011

We heard about the Elizabeth Inn from friends who had stayed there with their young children earlier this year. We are so glad that we took their recommendation to stay here. I was worried when we got to our room that it might be too noisy because it was Spring Break and the hotel was full. In addition, our room - 320 – was right in front of the entrance to the hotel's breakfast room & the only elevator-. There was no need for worry though - we had a very quiet night. The only hint at our room's location was the smell of bacon wafting into our room around 6:30am (not a bad thing).

The hotel was clean, the covered parking was GREAT, the staff was friendly and helpful (Rick the maintenance man gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner: Local Ocean), and the ocean front views were spectacular. The only 2 cons were: (1) the hotel has only one elevator. This made for some long wait times. (2) The hotel is located on a bluff overlooking the ocean and beach access is about a half a block down the street, then it's a steep walk down to the sand. It would be difficult to access the beach by wheel chair from this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXrockmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2011

Thanks so much for the glowing review! We always appreciate hearing from our guests. Every effort is made to provide the best value for our customers. We are constantly making improvements to keep current with what our guests have come to expect in a finer Hotel. Hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards,

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,055)
There are newer reviews for Elizabeth Street Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2011

A delightful hotel right on the beach with lovely rooms and a corner fireplace which adds to the coziness. 'The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is especially friendly and helpful. My husband had injured his leg a few days before our visit and the staff helped get our luggage from the car to the room and from the room to the car. The salmon chowder was delicious with large chunks of salmon as well as potatoes. The warm oatmeal cookies were a welcome treat after 8 pm each evening. We will definitely go back. This is not my first visit there and that is why we chose it for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joantecj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2011

Congratulations! We were so pleased to hear you spent your honeymoon with us. We enjoy knowing we have helped, in some small way, to make those special events memorable.

We were more than happy to have been of service with your luggage, it is the least we can do for you! The chowder and cookies are generally a big hit with everyone. So many people are allergic to shellfish so the salmon is a nice alternative.

Hope you will make us your Hotel of choice for your anniversary in years to come. Look forward to visiting with you on your next trip to Newport!

Best regards,

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

I enjoyed the Elizabeth Street Inn a great deal. The Hotel is comfortable, clean, relaxing and nicely appointed. Ienjoyed the clowder and cookies in the lobby in the evening as weel as the wonderful breakfast in the morning. The decor in the rooms, lobby and pool area are comtemporary yet homey. Then staff is very friendly and professional. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFB4131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2011

Thank you so much for the review! It is nice to know that our guests have taken the time to write a review for us, especially when it comes from a satisfied customer.

We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in our area.

Best regards,

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

I came here because of the previous reviews. The hotel is smaller than it looked from the pictures. The salmon chowder was more like potato soup from a mix, the cookies were over cooked. The hotel lobby is very small, not what I imagined for the price. There is not a easy way to get to the beach. The breakfast is fine, but not too exciting. If you wan to stay here just lower your expectations and you will enjoy it. The price for winter was just too high for what I was expecting. Now the good part.... The rooms are clean and the fireplace made it very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkay07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2011

I was sorry to hear you were disappointed in the size of our Hotel. By some standards we may seem small, 68 spacious rooms. Our goal is to provide our guests with an atmosphere that will make them feel at home, both in the lobby and in the rooms.

Our smoked salmon chowder is currently supplied by Ivars in Seattle. They are well known in the Northwest for their delicious chowder.

While we do not have direct access to the beach from our Hotel, there is entry just 3/4 of a block from us. It is the most convenient and easiest access with the least amount of exertion.

I was very pleased to see that your room was cleaned to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed the fireplace.

Thank you for your input, we always appreciate hearing from our guests.

Best regards,

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed midweek during Spring Break. The hotel was busy but didn't seem crowded. Enjoyed a lovely room with ocean views and fireplace. Very relaxing. Wish they would have provided a complimentary breakfast but that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat_8168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2011

We were so happy to hear about your wonderful experience at our Hotel! Just wanted to let you know that we offer a complimentary hot breakfast to our guests every morning between 6:30 and 10 AM. The breakfast is quite extensive, but just to name a few of the main items: fresh waffles, biscuits and gravy, eggs, bacon and sausage.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us! Hope you can make it for Spring Break again this year!

Best regards,

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I LOVED the Elizabeth Street Inn! My boyfriend and I stayed there for the first time after Christmas and over my birthday for two nights. The hotel is located right on the beach and every room has a fireplace. Our balcony looked right out onto the ocean. It was so nice to wake up and walk out on our balcony to see the ocean. We came to Newport to do some winter whale watching but the weather wasn't the best so we did spend a lot of time at the hotel. The staff was so nice; there was this super sweet gal in the breakfast area (hot breakfast bar by the way...amazing) who was so helpful. She had tips on everything from breakfast to weather.

We did manage to visit the aquarium and hit up some local restaurants and bars while we were there. The hotel's location made this even easier. If the weather was nicer, we would have walked since Nye Beach was so close.

This hotel also has warm, fresh baked cookies at 8pm every night and salmon chowder at 5pm. It was awesome to come home from our day adventures to yummy chowder and come back after dinner to fresh cookies.

I would have to say the best part about this hotel is it's staff. Well, and the fireplace and view.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank osuaphi8256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

Thank you so much for the great review! We are so pleased that you chose our Hotel to spend your Birthday at. We have a plaque on our wall that says "Life is all about making memories." Being able to be a part of those memories is a pleasure for us!

Look forward to seeing you next time you visit Newport.

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

This was the nicest place we have ever stayed. And if you want romance, find it here! The room and balcony right on the ocean with the bed right by the doors so we had the fireplace going and left the door slightly open so we could hear the waves crashing! It was awesome. And the breakfast buffet was very nice. I would EASILY recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lb0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lela232, General Manager at Elizabeth Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

Thank you for the great recommendation. Hope to meet you next time you visit Newport.

Best regrads,

Lela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 mi away
Inn at Nye Beach
Inn at Nye Beach
#3 of 24 in Newport
872 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Agate Beach Inn
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Landing at Newport Condominium-Hotel
0.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Newport
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Resort
Hallmark Resort
#2 of 24 in Newport
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth Street Inn

Address: 232 SW Elizabeth St, PO Box 1342, Newport, OR 97365-5033
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newport
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $143 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elizabeth Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come enjoy the warmth and quiet comfort of the Elizabeth Street Inn with all oceanfront rooms. Ideal for couples, families and even limited dog friendly rooms for you and your four legged best friend. Located high on a bluff overlooking the beach, the Elizabeth is within walking distance of distinctive dining, galleries and shopping of historic Nye Beach, the Newport Performing Arts Center, an historic lighthouse and miles of Oregon's pristine beaches and tide pools. The Oregon Coast Aquarium, golf, fishing and many other area atrractions are close by.Just a few things you can expect from the Elizabeth Street Inn, all oceanfront rooms with a fireplace and balcony. Complimentary hot breakfast buffet, seasonal smoked salmon chowder appetizer, nightly fresh baked cookies in our lobby at night. Indoor oceanfront salt water pool, jacuzzi spa and exercise room. Meeting room, business service center and complimentary wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Elizabeth Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Street Hotel Newport
Elizabeth Street Newport
Elizabeth Inn Newport Oregon
Elizabeth Street Inn Newport, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing