We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing view and a nice B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Newberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing view and a nice B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2009

Chehalem Ridge B&B was a great experience for us. If the room would have been available for another night, we would have spent more time in this area. First, the view from the balcony is amazing. It's a great way to wake up, grab some coffee, and watch the world come alive. Our room included a jetted tub which was nice. Wireless internet is available. Breakfast was a delicious egg dish that included home grown squash from the on-site garden. It was very tasty. The hosts were helpful and provided suggestions for things to do on our trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 137mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    25
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
223
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tillamook, OR
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

This was our third stay in just over a year. Our first stay was a surprise for me for my birthday. We loved it so much, we have returned twice with friends. The rooms are lush with fabulous views overlooking Oregon's wine country.

Our hostess is just wonderful!!! She is warm, fun, and funny! She makes us feel welcome and at home. I just love her sense of humor! I have been so impressed that she "remembers" each detail of our previous visits so that she can better accommodate us on future trips (remembering the flowers I am allergic to and that I like decaf coffee!)

The breakfasts are gourmet all the way and declcious! We have yet to have the same thing twice --- even when we loved each course! Kristin is quietly around when needed, but never hovering. There are always homemade cookies in the jar, cold water in the fridge, and wine glasses in the rack for our pleasure. Since most people are touring wineries and buying wines, Kristin makes it easy for us to enjoy our purchases in our room or on the deck.

Although dinners are not served, there are menus and maps available, as well as advice if requested. We have often brought deli food back to the B&B and enjoyed quiet meals on the decks while taking in great sunsets.

I think we would say our annual stay at Chehalem Ridge is becoming a tradition.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank studiovb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

My parents gave my husband & me a night at Chehalem B&B as an anniversary gift. Knowing we're not the typical "victorian-doilies-country-kitchen" types, my mom chose this inn based on the photos from the web site: new construction, contemporary decor, loads of huge windows, and we were SO pleased with the place.

Kristin was baking granola when we arrived and the house smelled heavenly. Some of her comments were a bit off-putting (as others have noted), but we still felt at home and wished we could have lounged around the place more than we did. The location is up a windy hill (for that awesome view!) but not a far drive from a handful of wineries and restaurants. (We had dinner at The Painted Lady, another gift from parents.)

In addition to a spectacular view, the house has two living room areas for hanging out if the weather is bad and a spacious common deck (handy for whoever books the non-view "Oregon Trail" room). Our bed was comfortable, though it felt a bit futon-like. We slept quite well. The bathroom was spacious and well-appointed though the shower felt a little like a Bathfitters phone booth. The free Wi-Fi was a bonus.

We were so disappointed to have missed Kristin's breakfast as I had a hot air balloon ride early in the am. Co-owner Curt, who was quite enjoyable to speak with, surprised us with a DVD of photos he took of my hot air balloon as it was taking off. You can see the airfield from the B&B!

All in all a beautiful house and perfect location. We look forward to returning and actually having the Breakfast part!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

If you need a view that will take your breath away, a quiet that will let you hear your own breath and a location that literally seems like you are on top of the world, this is the place.

My wife and I spent 10 days in Oregon. Our first two days were in Portland. Our first night outside Portland was at Chehalem Ridge. We wanted to arrive early to enjoy the view. We weren't disappointed. For as far as the eye can see, we were treated to the spectacular view of the valley below.

We introduced ourselves to Krisitin and she gave us the tour. She was very friendly and made us feel at home (bring your sense of humor, she has a good one).

The room had a great view of the valley, as well, and had a private balcony for us to enjoy the view. Our room was clean and very nicely decorated. We took advantage of the two person jacuzzi tub, a nice way to unwind. After that, we took a glass of wine out on the balcony and actually were lucky enough to enjoy a few shooting stars (very romantic!).

In the morning, we were treated to a great breakfast. Kristin made eggs and bacon (the bacon in Oregon is amazing). The coffee was delicious and and we enjoyed it with a very special treat. We learned that, unique to Oregon, there is a jelly made with Marion berries. We had never had them before. Very tasty, you must try it.

All in all, even though it was only a one night stay, we are left with great memories and we highly recommend Chehalem Ridge B&B. Be sure you stay there when you're in the area, you won't regret it!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ME777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillamook, OR
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

This is our second year at staying at this lovely place, and we have thoroughly enjoyed each time. This is the perfect place to stay if you are touring the wine country.

I read a couple of the negative reviews, and can't believe or understand them. The host is wonderful and has a great, dry sense of humor (so I guess you need to have a sense of humor yourself to appreciate her).

The breakfasts are out-of-this-world, and the host keeps track of what you have had during your stay, so when you come back you don't get a repeat. (That's above and beyond, if you ask me.)

We have stayed in two different rooms, but have looked in others. Each room is comfortable and charmingly "themed" with spacious bathrooms. Most rooms have balconies with dynamite views.

We highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHandLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

Having never stayed at a B&B before, we were a little nervous about the experience prior to arriving. However, one look at the breathtaking view of wine country from the top of the mountain just blew us away. It was enough reason to fall in love with this B&B as well as reason enough to cancel a fantastic dinner reservation to order subpar pizza and watch a movie on the balcony on our laptop. The atmosphere was very nice and the guests were very friendly. Our hostess, Kristen, seemed to want to make our two night stay enjoyable and readily helped us out with inquiries about the area and even in packing up our boxes of wine to ship on the plane. The rooms were small, but quaint and clean. The breakfasts were really amazing as well. While B&B's in general may not be our first choice of places to stay in our future travels, I have to say that this was an excellent first experience and it would make us much less apprehensive to do so again when the situation calls for it. I would recommend this B&B if you are going to Newberg...you cannot beat the view!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CourtHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

I'm a sucker for a view and a comfortable mattress. The Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast has both. The innkeepers are friendly and helpful without seeming forced or phony. (Thats a tricky balance in the B&B world.) The decor is contemporary, tasteful and uncluttered. The view was lovely and the breakfasts superb! The price seemed reasonable for the area.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MOWSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 28700 NE Mountain Top Rd, Newberg, OR 97132-6663
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning vistas of Oregon's wine country await you as guests of Chehalem Ridge B&B. Each of the five rooms - four queen rooms and one king suite - within the modern house evoke the spirit of Oregon in their decor. In-room amenities like fireplaces, jetted tubs and private decks enhance your experience. The valley is full of opportunities to explore with award-winning wineries, fine-dining restaurants, hot air ballooning, local artisans and markets all within a short drive. Of course, you start each morning with a gourmet breakfast, complete with scratch-baked treats, a creative fruit dish and a hearty entree. Dietary needs, like gluten or dairy free, are happily accommodated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing