We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderfully hospitable bed and breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Newberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A wonderfully hospitable bed and breakfast”
Reviewed July 23, 2009

A wonderfully hospitable bed and breakfast, situated a little way from the town, so very peaceful, but still in the midst of wine country.

Newly built, with wonderful views over the valley - a fascinating building on the hillside.

It was great to relax in the guests' sitting room, and chat with the owners. Also fascinating to see the way they are developing their fruit and vegetable gardens, and plan to grow lavender beds.

Home cooked breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdlChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    27
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
229
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2009

I traveled out to the Willamette valley with my girlfried for a friend's wedding over the 4th of July weekend and spent 3 days staying with Kristin at Chehalem Ridge; Like most other posters noted before me, the road up to the B&B was a bit windy, but the drive was definitely worth it -- the views from the B&B were absolutely amazing!! -- Additionally, the house itself was very new with cozy furnishings -- We stayed in the Wine Country room and loved the comfortable beds, Frette bathrobes, and the jacuzzi tub (an added bonus). The B&B was also rather convienent to all the wineries (at least all of the ones we wanted to see) -- Furthest drive was probably 20 minutes. On top of it all, I thought that the value we got for the price we paid was fantastic, especially on a holiday weekend. The only (slight) negative was that the breakfasts were a little too gourmet for my liking, but if that was the worst part of my stay, then I would say things were pretty fantastic -- I'd definitely return to Chehalem Ridge should I find myself in the area again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CushLash17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed here for our 10th anniversary in the wine country room and were very pleased with our choice to stay at Chehalem Ridge. The view from our deck was fabulous and we so enjoyed waking up in the morning to such a gorgeous view. The bed was so comfortable, partly due to the fact that it's one of those mattresses where you don't feel movement from the other side! Kristen's winery & dining suggestions were perfect and her breakfasts left you feeling pampered and completely spoiled! The house if very up-to-date and tastefully decorated, there's a cozy movie room downstairs for you to enjoy and yummy cookies to snack on. We will most definately come back many times!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmccallum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

My husband and I met up with 3 travelling companions (friends and family) in Oregon for a Memorial weekend adventure in the Willamette Valley. With the assistance of my travelling companions, I spent hours pouring over books, websites, and blogs--looking for the ultimate destination. We chose the Chehalem Ridge B&B.

As we approached in the car upon arrival, we were already pleased with our selection--the setting was BEAUTIFUL! We occupied the second floor--in the Rose Garden, Wine Country, and Oregon Trail room. The views from the balconies on the front of the house were amazing. My sister, who was in the Oregon Trail room, met me every morning on the balcony of the Rose Garden room, where we chatted and drank coffee while the sun was rising. For our comfort, there were heating mechanisms on the balconies for when the weather was cool (and it did get cool when the sun went down!) While the website does not show this, the views at night were equally specacular, overlooking the twinkling lights of Newberg.

Our hostess, Kristin, was the quintessential B&B hostess. She was certainly the master--offering advice and help when needed along with providing all of our comfort needs. She also cleverly disappeared so we could socialize amongst ourselves. She was extremely helpful--she provided us suggestions on local restaurants & wineries, she packed a "to go" breakfast for my sister when she had to leave early, and she even helped us to package our wine to take home! This came along with her very dry wit and humor, and her astounding ability to talk across a large contiuum of subjects, from Star Trek to Russian Literature (seriously!)

Overall, our experience was impeccable. The place was spotless yet homey, with living area that had all the amenities--a refrigerator, wine glasses, movies, games, and more. We felt completely relaxed and at home, with all of our needs satiated with just a request. Kristin is a wonderful cook--excellent delicious gourmet breakfasts! She also brewed coffee early for us so we could wake up and sip coffee on the balcony.

There is nothing that I could say that would have made our visit more pleasant or enjoyable.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chicagosuz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Chehalem Ridge B&B for 2 nights (April 18-19th) in the Rose Garden Room. Although it took a good 20 minutes from OR-99W to reach the B&B, the view from our room was worth every minute of driving. The B&B is perched atop Chehalem Mountain with breathtaking views of the Willamette Valley. The inn itself is extremely cozy and relaxed and Kristin made sure our every need was met. Breakfasts were a fine dining experience and started with a fruit dish (such as a poached apple) and a homemade pastry (we enjoyed lemon poppyseed bread and carrot muffins while there). The main courses at breakfast were truly gourmet -- smoked salmon quiche one day and baked stuffed french toast the next. It was great to have full tummies before we started our days of wine tasting. I highly recommend the Chehalem B&B if you are visiting Oregon's wine country.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseySmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrizz
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2009

Great location on a Mountain top, Owners were very nice ,very helpful, made you feel at home. Would go back again. Breakfast each morning was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We have stayed in Newberg on many occassions and by far and away Chehalem Ridge Inn is the best in town. From their billion dollar views to their to die for breakfasts to the gracious hosts that run the establishment you could not ask for anything better.

We stayed in the Wine Country room, from which you feel like a manor lord overlooking your kingdom. The rooms are furnished for peace, quiet, and comfort. There are no TVs (that can be found in the downstairs common room), phones, or other modern day inconveniences.
We would recommend CRI without any reservations, but you may need them to get in.
Robin and Owen

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ojmsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 28700 NE Mountain Top Rd, Newberg, OR 97132-6663
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning vistas of Oregon's wine country await you as guests of Chehalem Ridge B&B. Each of the five rooms - four queen rooms and one king suite - within the modern house evoke the spirit of Oregon in their decor. In-room amenities like fireplaces, jetted tubs and private decks enhance your experience. The valley is full of opportunities to explore with award-winning wineries, fine-dining restaurants, hot air ballooning, local artisans and markets all within a short drive. Of course, you start each morning with a gourmet breakfast, complete with scratch-baked treats, a creative fruit dish and a hearty entree. Dietary needs, like gluten or dairy free, are happily accommodated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing