We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in the Willamette”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 7 Newberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 1, 2008

My Wife and I spent 3 nights at the Chehalem Ridge B&B to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary and enjoy the Willamette Valley wine country. Fitting enough for our trip, we chose the Wine Country Room which was awesome. This was our first trip to Oregon and we used Trip Advisor comments and ratings to help choose this B&B. Having only stayed one night in a B&B before this (also during this trip), we did not know what to expect. I will tell you that the house looks great online and is even better in person. The Wine Country Room is on the top floor, right hand side. The space is cozy, the bed sleeps well, and the bathroom is very modern and totally makes this the best room in the house. The views out of the balcony were amazing and we had some great weather (mid 60s) the week we were there. If you stay here, you will really enjoy the large jetted tub.

Kristin, the Innkeeper, is very knowledgable of the area and the vineyards and is great with directions. She knows the restaurants well and will tell you what you can expect. She was also helpful when we asked about a side trip from the Inn to see Mount Hood the day we checked out. We had 3 amazing breakfasts at the Inn. She has a knack of bringing fruit and traditional breakfast items together (apple pancakes as an example) without going overboard. Usually the breakfast involves fruit that her and her husband picked during one of their excursions. Funny story, the first evening we went to Tina's in Dundee for dinner (Kristin's recommendation) and while we were eating the waitress asked where we we staying and when we told her, she said "I have heard great things about the breakfast there". When you visit the Inn, be prepared to rest, relax, and enjoy the peace and quiet.

If you venture out to the wineries, I would highly recommend Elk Cove, Chehalem (tasting room in Newberg), Archery Summit, Dobbes, Duck Pond, Lange, Erath, and the Carlton Wine Maker's Studio (another Kristin recommendation). From our experience (12 wine tastings in 2 days), the best Pinot in the Valley is at Lange. The most interesting wine tasting room is at the Carlton Wine Makers Studio and the fun stop at the end of a full day of wine tasting is Argyle who is just as known for their sparkling wines as their pinots. Another must see winery and a look into sustainable wine making is Sokol Blosser.

For those of you that are flying out of Portland and have a afternoon to kill, you must visit Hip Chicks Do Wine on the South East side of Portland, It is in a very unassuming industrial section of town (call for directions) and is worth the trip. You will blown away by their wines.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RDU-TRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 289 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2008

What else is there to say? I completely agree with the rest of the reviews. My wife and I had a wonderful stay. We enjoyed everything right down to our brown bag breakfast left for us the morning we had to leave really early for the airport.

5 stars for sure - if you're in the area, you should stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank wilkintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We just got back from our trip wine tasting in the Portland area. We stayed in the Wine Country Room at the Chehalem Ridge B&B for 5 days. It was a great location with a wonderful view and Kristen's breakfast's were an excellent way to start the day. Our room was spotless and we spent many evenings (when weather permitted) sitting on the balcony taking in the view.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CADream1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

I sometimes enjoy disagreeing with others' opinions but in the case of the Chehalem ridge B&B I have to go with 5 stars too. We spent two nights there and could not have wanted more from our stay. The rooms were spotless and comfortable, the views to die for and the welcome, breakfast and amenities a delight.

Very handy for touring the area and plenty of good places to eat close by.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QNDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2008

This was our favorite place we stayed on our entire honeymoon - and the most peaceful. We loved it and have already recommended it to many of our friends!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mundyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

The Chehalem B&B sets a high standard for B&Bs. The view of Newberg and the Willamette Valley is breathtaking, the innkeepers outstanding and the food is delicious.

Our room (Rose Garden) was spotless. It is tucked under the upstairs eaves, with a million dollar view of the valley from the room's wall of windows. The bath is spacious and charming with both shower and claw foot tub. Fluffy, immaculate robes are carefully laid out for your pleasure.

The common room is cozy, and is outfitted with a bar equipped with corkscrews and the proper wine glass for your wine choice. Just the place to enjoy that special bottle you bought during your wine tour earlier that day.

Kristen is an outstanding chef - the cookie jar seems always to be full of her lemon shortbread cookies (out of this world,) and her breakfast was marvelous.

Though there are several very good restaurants in the region (e.g., Painted Lady) we could have simply popped open a good Oregon Pinot and watched the sunset from one of the inn's decks - or our very own balcony - and skipped dinner altogether.

Kudos to the proprietors of the Chehalem B&B, how they achieve so much at a reasonable price is remarkable.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

My mother found this incredibly picturesque B&B for our family to take over en masse for a few days as we roamed around the state of Oregon, and it could not have been better! From the wonderful views of the vineyards sweeping down the ridge behind us to the soothing sound of the waterfall at night, to the surprising sight of hot air balloons floating amongst the wispy clouds over coffee one morning, there was no shortage of amazing moments that we all took away with us. Kristen and her husband took great care of us, catering to our special food requests and providing us with a wonderful home away from home. We all hope to return some day - seven thumbs up!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shystah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newberg - Wine Country
2.4 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
5.9 mi away
The DreamGiver's Inn
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 7 in Newberg
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
19.8 mi away
Lion and the Rose Victorian Guest House
2.3 mi away
Newberg Travelodge Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chehalem Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Address: 28700 NE Mountain Top Rd, Newberg, OR 97132-6663
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range: $140 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning vistas of Oregon's wine country await you as guests of Chehalem Ridge B&B. Each of the five rooms - four queen rooms and one king suite - within the modern house evoke the spirit of Oregon in their decor. In-room amenities like fireplaces, jetted tubs and private decks enhance your experience. The valley is full of opportunities to explore with award-winning wineries, fine-dining restaurants, hot air ballooning, local artisans and markets all within a short drive. Of course, you start each morning with a gourmet breakfast, complete with scratch-baked treats, a creative fruit dish and a hearty entree. Dietary needs, like gluten or dairy free, are happily accommodated. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing