We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WINE WEEKEND WITH THE GIRLS”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newberg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
University House of Newberg
Ranked #5 of 6 Newberg B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“WINE WEEKEND WITH THE GIRLS”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great historic location, with comfortable well appointed bedrooms, and gorgeous antiques. The owner is delightful, very knowledgeable about the area, and anticipated our needs. The hot tub is very private for both day and night use.
Our stay at the University House is simply FABULOSITY!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winegal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
4
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Valley, Washington
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Have stayed here on numerous occasions and it it always a great experience. It is my favorite place to stay when visiting the Newberg area. You get the entire house to yourself and it is filled with wonderful antiques and it has a nice and private hot tub!. The owner is wonderful and is very knowledgeable about places to see and things to do...she is a great resource. If your going to stay in Newberg this is the place!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is a charming house. It has all the comforts of being a home away from home, such as a small kitchen with all you need to do a bit of cooking, along with a laundry room to wash and dry your clothes. And the whole house if beautifully furnished with lovely antiques throughout. There are three well sized and comfortable bedrooms and two baths.

There is much to see and do in the area as well as some very good restaurants.
Newberg is just 20 miles from Portland, and right in the heart of the Willamette Valley Wine region. The house is located across the street from George Fox University and within easy walking distance of the small downtown area of Newberg, a coffee shop/book store, a coffee/sandwich shop, galleries and wine tasting shops, and a small movie house.
And if you don't feel like going out, you can soak in the outdoor, covered hot-tub.
My husband and I live in the area, and the University House is where we put-up our visitors as well as business associates.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanceMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Artist-carpenter and Mistress Storyteller-Hostess Leigh Wellikoff has transformed this early-century home into a storybook setting from which to launch your wine country adventure. You are at once transported to an idyllic time and place, but the creature comforts include flat screen monitors in the living room and every bedroom, as well as wi-fi and use of the "house" computer.

The furnishings are sumptuous - the home is filled with period antiques and fittings from Leigh's family. The kitchen has every convenience imaginable and, just out the back door, in a hand-built enclosure, is a fantastic hot tub, nestled in an incredible hand-painted mural of the wine country.

Just minutes from to-die-for dining (Tina's lamb, duck and vegetarian entrees are perfectly paired with the area's most delectable Pinot offerings, and the Golden Leaf Thai restaurant is a wonderful choice when you just really need a good curry or Tom Kha Gai) and all the wineries.

University House is directly across from the lovely George Fox University campus which affords nice walking trails and - if you need it - a great covered fire pit you can rent!

There are so many wineries, you cannot possibly cover them all in one trip. Your host is an invaluable source for authoritative - but not overbearing - advice for novices and returning visitors alike. Leigh exudes authenticity and charm in equal measures and, after living in Newberg for 30 years(!), you can be assured that her advice and suggestions are grounded in first-hand knowledge of all things Wine Country.

We came for our daughter's graduation from Linfield College in McMinnville.We'll be back to savor this gem of a home and more great wine tasting! Thanks, Leigh!

One last tip: Ray's Produce - absolutely the best produce in a 100-mile radius and a very convenient walk from University House.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ideas2Art
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2011

My time at University House was delightful. The owner's philosophy is to only rent to one user at a time, so I had the entire house to myself, complete with fireplace, office I could use, flat panel TVs. She even went out and picked up dinner for me, and made me exactly the breakfast I wanted. This is a wonderful place. I've never posted a review on trip advisor before but my experience was so positive I couldn't resist.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KPowellPasadena_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

For my father's 70th birthday, we organized a trip out to Oregon's wine country. With three bedrooms and lots of living space downstairs, it was perfect place for 5 adults to stay. We loved the hot tub, having our own kitchen and being so close to everything.
Leigh was a great hostess. When she realized we didn't eat pastries, she thoughtfully brought us delicious fruit and whole grain bread which was a great fit for our family. Every suggestion Leigh made, from dining places to wineries, turned out to be memorable experiences.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loggerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My husband, adult son, and I recently stayed for the second time at University House. What a little known jewel in the historic town of Newberg, home to George Fox University. As indicated, it is right across the street from the university which allowed us great access to the graduation activities for our daughter without ever moving the car. When you reserve the University House, you are the sole residents - a three bedroom, two story home all to yourselves. It couldn't have been more carefully thought out to ensure the guests have everything they could possibly need for a relaxing stay. It is just like staying with family without having to deal with weird Uncle Harold. Our hostess Leigh was there when we arrived late from the airport. She made sure we knew where everything was located - hot tub controls, extra pillows, alarm system, extra toilet paper, etc. We knew she was available if we needed her but truly felt welcome to relax in our fully furnished home away from home in solitude. We had the option of a continental breakfast each morning or doing it ourselves. The full kitchen was competely stocked. We've been to Newberg numerous times getting our daughter settled at the university but this time found a great new restaurant close by - Subterra had great food, good wine, and a cozy atmosphere that lent itself to great conversation. With the wine country expanding each time we visit Oregon, University House is close to several wineries open for tastings. We sampled Laurel Ridge's offerings and had a personal tour of their facilities. As everywhere in Oregon, we are always pleasantly surprised by the constant friendliness shown. Overall, we had a great experience at the University House and will definately stay there if we are in the Willamette Valley area again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Picky_Pamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
0.7 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
0.5 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Newberg - Oregon
11.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The DreamGiver's Inn
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 6 in Newberg
177 reviews
3.3 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Newberg Travelodge Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University House of Newberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University House of Newberg

Property: University House of Newberg
Address: 401 N Meridian St, Newberg, OR 97132-2624
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to discover a unique lodging experience in the heart of Yamhill Valley's wine country. Family antiques blend with modern amenities to bring you into our world of comfortable elegance. We offer intimate charm, warmth and character. Located in Oregon's scenic Willamette Valley, this classic 1906 home offers a peaceful atmosphere within walking distance of downtown Newberg. Rest and relax in the private hot tub, then explore the nearby wineries, antique shops and incredible dining available close by. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing