We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Adventure”

Vista Balloon Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hot Air Balloon Scenic flights from Newberg, Oregon. Morning flights from Friday through Monday from April 1 through October 15, weather permitting. Plan on spending 3 hours with us! Your flight is about one hour followed by a catered gourmet brunch.
Gresham, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Adventure”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

An event never to be forgotten is a Hot Air Balloon ride by Vista Balloon Adventures in Newberg, Oregon. Passengers arrive by 5:30 AM to sign in and then watch the entire process as the vans arrive with the balloons all in a big bag. You are invited to watch or just stand and enjoy or take pictures. The material is carefully unfolded, air is pumped into the balloon, the basket is attached, and finally the gas is pumped into the balloon to get it upright. Passengers are loaded into the basket and liftoff occurs! The view is overwhelming and sensational. It is so quiet you feel like a bird flying except when the gas is fed into the balloon to put you higher in the sky. The hour ride ended much too quickly for any of the passengers-----we all loved it! Champagne and a delicious buffet breakfast was served at the end.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    11
    2
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Riddle, OR
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Zen!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The owners and crew were wonderful! Very friendly and informative, and caring (they called to ask why we were late; it we were okay, etc.) We also enjoyed our fellow passengers. The champagne brunch afterwards? Kathryn is a GREAT cook!!! And Roger? So full of stories and more than willing to swap life stories with his guests! SUPER!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Vistas, Great Staff, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I had a sunrise balloon trip the day of our anniversary. Staff were welcoming, fun to interact with, and professional. Our flight, which we shared with two other couples plus the pilot (Roger), was very pleasant: we flew over farmland, trees, and a river. In a highlight, we were even able to ascend above a cloud bank to see a panoramic view of Mt. Hood, Mt. Jefferson, Mt. Adams, Mt. St. Helens, Mt. Rainier, and the three Sisters: it was a very calm, peaceful experience to be floating that high above the earth enjoying the view. For those afraid of heights, I can say that lift-off was a bit disconcerting only in the sense that rather soon you find yourself airborne, but it was a very smooth, stable-feeling flight (including lift-off). Jitters are likely to soon subside, and the experience and the views are worth it.

Staff invited the guests to help with getting the balloon ready for take-off, and then putting it away once the flight is over, and actually this experience is part of the fun. So, when they ask for volunteers, volunteer!

After the flight, brunch was excellent--a lot of options (including vegetarian-friendly options), from breakfast burritos to a cheese blintz casserole to fresh berries and baked brie, and more. All of it was delicious.

It really did seem like a lot of thought and care had gone into both the flight and brunch. My impression was that staff liked their jobs, took pride in their work, and genuinely wanted everyone to have a good experience. Put simply, the staff were superb: knowledgeable, helpful, and funny.

In short, this was a great experience for my husband and me, and I highly recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mycroft17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnFreeman45, Owner at Vista Balloon Adventures, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words, very much appreciated! It is so nice to hear that your time with us met expectations. If your pilot (Moi, Roger) had mentioned the launch was going to be a bit 'dynamic' it would have not been so much of a surprise....I do generally like to take a bit of time to 'look at the ants' before climbing to altitude so I can check in with everyone to see how you are doing. Thanks for the 'reminder'! -Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

First time flight for me and a friend. Truly amazing. Beautiful weather, beautiful sights. Peaceful. Everyone on board left with a smile on their face. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone! The crew was fun and friendly and very efficient!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank madjik00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Sunrise Adventures”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We went for a sunrise balloon flight this morning. Kelly was our outstanding pilot. This company was a professional operation from beginning to end. They were especially helpful and accommodating our dietary requests (vegan food.) Everybody is cheery, polite, solicitous and helpful. It was the perfect way to start a day!!! I recommend them highly!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrEthan725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vista Balloon Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Vista Balloon Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing