We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming Location and Excellent Cuisine”

Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $35
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming Location and Excellent Cuisine”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen is simply our favorite restaurant in Newburg. It is conveniently located in the central business district in what is obviously a renovated Victorian style building. The décor is charming, and the cuisine is varied and truly outstanding. The restaurant offers a good selection of wines to complement the European style cuisine. Servings are ample and reasonably priced. On our last visit, we tried the Crispy Duck Leg Confit and the Payne Farms Pork Tenderloin dishes and found them to be truly outstanding.

The atmosphere and décor are very relaxing and the staff is certainly warm and friendly. The service has always been quite good. We sincerely believe that one would be very hard pressed to find a more pleasant dining experience in Newburg. I highly recommend this restaurant, and I’m certain to visit again the next time I am in Newburg.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    87
    18
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice in Newberg”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Driving from PDX to the coast, we decided to stop here on a whim for lunch: good idea! Fresh ingredients with a nice preparation, good service, and a quaint yet refined atmosphere certainly made for a pleasant and tasty meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtwjlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hall, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow, totaly enjoyed food, atmoshpere and service”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Came to Recipe after 8:15pm on a Thursday night. Wife and I had already discovered several places that closed early because it was slow time of year. Glad to say Recipe was not one of those. Had a great wine list, food was fantastic (wife still talks about gnocchi with consume), front of the house was great, and bang for buck was over the top. We had 2 apps, 2 entrees, split a dessert, and a $70 bottle of wine for $130, with tip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yamhillwino, Owner at Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi Steve,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your visit with us! We were glad you found us that evening! We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit us in Oregon.

Kindly,

Paul Bachand
Chef/Owner
Recipe, a neighborhood kitchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A restaurant worthy of a return visit”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The ambience was very country-quaint. The staff was attentive, and the food was delicious. What more could you ask for?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Portland-PR-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“So offended, we didn't even stay for dinner”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a reservation but decided to go early for a drink. The over weight older man behind the bar area originally ignored us, then was so indifferent to our drink order, that after we placed it, he thought it better to just polish wine glasses and let us stand there wondering what we said wrong. When we got seated, the frazzled server came to the table and immediately started rattling off the specials without even looking at us. At that point we looked at each other and decided that if this place treated it's customers this way then it doesn't really matter what the food tastes like, and left. We went to another recommended restaurant and had amazing meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nachokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Recipe-A Neighborhood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing