We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was a wow!”

Subterra - A Wine Cellar Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 85 Restaurants in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Affordable fine dining at it best in an amazingly ambient cellar venue in the Willamette Valley wine country. The menu reflects a patchwork of complex, bold flavors pieced together from varied cuisines, brought together with classical technique. Open daily for lunch from 11:30 a.M. To 5:00 p.M, and dinner daily from 5:00 p.M. To 9:00 p.M. Extensive local and global wine and beer list, classic cocktails, small plates, happy hour weekdays from 3 to 6 with food and drink specials.
Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food was a wow!”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We made reservations for an early dinner on a Sunday night. It was our first time there and the food was fabulous with lovely wine to match. My husband felt it was the best meal he has had in a very long time. Every course was divine.
The restaurant was almost empty when we arrived and totally full by the time we got our dinner. The longer the evening went on the longer the wait for service. Our server was profusely apologetic about the delay in ordering dessert and bringing the check, and to make up for it she comped us two glasses of wine. She said they had only 2 reservations for that night and they didn't have the wait staff to handle a full restaurant. If you plan to go to Subeterra make a reservation. Really that's good advice for any nice restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Riveright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    95
    29
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gracious service, very good food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Lucky us! Sarah at our hotel front desk recommended Subterra and she was right on! The food was perfectly prepared and presented, the service was gracious and friendly, the small plate menu imaginative, and all very affordable! To quote Sarah "you won't have to sell a kidney" to enjoy a delightful dinner. Dine here with confidence, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldport, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is now a will definitely do again, and again”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Friendly staff, reservations, great food, knowledgeable staff, easy to get in and out of in a very busy area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A good place for friends”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have a lovely time lunching and relaxing at Subterra with friends. While the business crowd enjoys it's atmosphere, it is a favorite place for me to meet for lunch. I can count on this restaurant to keep the background to a comfortable, conversational volume, while the food is consistent. We always enjoy the menu and the entire dining experience..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great value in wine country”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very good food with an emphasis on value here. I had the grilled shoulder of beef, which was a new dish just added, and my girlfriend had the chicken saltimbocca. Both dishes came with soup and salad. While the salad was a bit underwhelming, the soup made up for it. And the bread was free, something you don't always get for free in Northern Oregon. Keep in mind the entrees are priced in the mid twenties, with soup and salad included, so keep your expectations in check and you'll do fine here. Our dinners exceeded expectations and we would gladly return if we're in the area again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knoxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subterra - A Wine Cellar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Subterra - A Wine Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing