We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value. Good food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Subterra - A Wine Cellar Restaurant

Subterra - A Wine Cellar Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Affordable fine dining at it best in an amazingly ambient cellar venue in the Willamette Valley wine country. The menu reflects a patchwork of complex, bold flavors pieced together from varied cuisines, brought together with classical technique. Open daily for lunch from 11:30 a.M. To 5:00 p.M, and dinner daily from 5:00 p.M. To 9:00 p.M. Extensive local and global wine and beer list, classic cocktails, small plates, happy hour weekdays from 3 to 6 with food and drink specials.
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great value. Good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We called at the last minute for a party of five and were able to get a table at the opening time of 1700 because a party of 21 was expected at 1730, and the staff did not want to overload the kitchen. Very smart planning, and we could tell by the number of empty tables between 1700 and 1830 that they had sacrificed filling tables in the interest of being able to properly care for a reasonable number of diners. The menu is not exhaustive but there is something for everybody and the top price was $26. Each meal includes soup, salad and bread for the table. All of our five entrees were excellent in presentation and taste. The desserts, ala carte, were large and very tasty. We did not explore the wine list because two of us had spent some time in the wine tasting room above the restaurant and stocked up there for dinner, and, because of an arrangement between the two facilities, there was no corkage. Service was very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    93
    28
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the wine country”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

From the moment you walk down the stairs and into this place, you know this could be a special experience. This place lives up to the expectations. Food, ambience, service...all first class. The other positive is that this is not overly expensive. Not like the Painted Lady nearby, which gets a lot more notoriety, but is not nearly as good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DJAPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun to be in a wine cellar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The menu was quite varied, but no duck. Delicious food, served in a friendly, comfortable setting. The service was fast and friendly as well.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank IluvmyJRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Wouldn't have known about this place if it wasn't recommended at a wine tasting. It was almost empty when we went, but the wait staff didn't hover. Food was the highlight. Good menu, small plate options. The wine list could have actually been better, considering the patrons they should expect in the area. My husband was happy with his martini. They have a happy hour menu, which we didn't get the chance to order from, but could be a nice option for an early dinner after a day of wine tasting. Be sure to go to the Dark Horse wine bar located above the restaurant. Both are in an unpresuming location, but are two of my new favorite spots in Newberg.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank EGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sweet little romantic restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Made reservations and arrived a little early. They kept us a waiting a bit after the reservation time and I was getting a sinking feeling. We got seated and they explained that their hostess hadn't showed (and hadn't even called in) up so they were short handed. They worked really hard to please us including comping a desert at the end. I have to give them high marks for recognizing the importance of customer service. It's one thing to give good service when things are running smoothly but quite another in the face of a problem. The food was quite good. I almost rated them excellent - it was very close. Will return again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil_from_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subterra - A Wine Cellar Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Subterra - A Wine Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing