We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, serene, welcoming inn.”
Review of Allison Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allison Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely, serene, welcoming inn.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We enjoyed a perfect weekend in early February at the Allison Inn and Spa. From the beginning of our visit, being greeted by the valet and welcomed by name by the staff at the hotel, we felt special and pampered. Our room had many thoughtful amenities. My favorite was the sliding glass panel that separated the soaking tub from the bedroom. As I soaked, I could look out and window to the garden….or watch the television and the fire in the gas fireplace. We had chilled, filtered water, many snacks, and wonderful smelling bath amenities. The quiet, restful room was very well sound-proofed. Besides the tub, my other favorite spot was in the window seat, propped agains cushy pillows with the throw over my knees. We will definitely make this a yearly splurge.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor, looking out at the front garden. We could also see the hillside with the...
See more room tips
Green Features: The inn is very environmentally conscious. Glass bottles for filtered water in the room are re-filled, linens are only changed by request. Linens are almost exclusively used instead of paper products in the restaurant. There is a chef's garden and a seasonal menu in the restaurant.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Marvon,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and all the efforts we have made to make sure you are fully relaxed in your room and on our grounds. Thank you for recognizing our environmentally friendly choices, most of our efforts are behind the scenes but the little things that help improve the world we live in are equally important!

Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon!

Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,031
    118
    44
    16
    12
See reviews for
132
754
28
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We recently stayed at The Allison for our fifth time. Over the years, our positive customer experience has only gotten better. First of all, the location is outstanding as a base to explore the Willamette Valley wine country. Or stay put and enjoy all the ammenities of the Inn - pool, spa and lovely outdoor spaces. The staff always puts the customer first with genuine smiles and well-wishes. Our dog has even enjoyed the benefits of coming! He is always greeted by name and is thrilled to devour a special room service meal that looks good enough for us to eat too! The Allison Inn & Spa is unique place that deserves the attention that it receives.

Room Tip: There are two distinct views - vineyard and valley. The vineyard side is beautiful, but the valley...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 77Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear 77Duck,

We have been very fortunate to have a very high level of repeat stays, and clearly it allows us the opportunity to get to know you and provide better services each time. We have always felt return stays are vital to our success and every morning when the Managing Director, the Director of Sales, the Reservations Manager, the Director of Housekeeping and I go through the arrival list for the day we are excited to see so many return stays.

Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to #6!

Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Allison inn about four years ago. Found in by accident on a road trip. When you arrive you can tell it going to be great. Front desk was super in getting us a good AARP rate as a walk-in. The young lady that saw us to our room and showed us around was so very professional, but not stuffy. Only downer was the Jory Restaurant, but I have seen assurances that that has changed dramatically since our visit. Main problem was a very rude waiter, who is likely not around now, Plan to return soon. Expensive? Yes! Worth it? Definitely!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gatorday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Gatorday1,

Thank you for the review so long after your stay, and maybe more importantly thank you for your stay! JORY, our restaurant has experienced a lot of change and growth in our nearly five years, all for the good! I would really encourage you to come back and see how we have grown. The staff is warmer, the food continues to evolve and grow (including much of it coming from our near 1.5 acre garden), and we would be happy to welcome you back!

Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were excited to have discovered this lovely hotel shortly after moving to Portland. We stayed there in the summer and spent a couple of days wine tasting in the area. I had a wonderful spa treatment and I must say the food was pretty incredible as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kurichan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Kurchian22,

Thank you for your kind words and we are thrilled to have you living in Portland, I know many in the state appreciate that The Allison provides as a close getaway and a home base for experiencing wine country and our "incredible spa"n (it really is amazing)!

Thank You,
Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This place has become more expensive over the past three years, and with less service.

We had visited three years in a row, brought guests, left a couple of small gifts to be delivered to the chef and manager for their previous good deeds, recommended others to visit, so one would think that such dedication would inspire the same in return from the hotel staff, restaurant and management, right?

On the contrary, this last visit we experienced some odd issues at check in, during the stay, and at dinner that should not exist, especially for the price one pays here. No one in management seemed to care. Heck, no one even acknowledged our little gifts?

In our experience when things goes awry, management should endeavor to make it right, and there are myriad ways of doing this. Unfortunately, all we received across the board from management was the platitude: 'hey, you raise good points, sorry, we cannot do anything about them now, or make it up to you, but thanks for taking the time to help us, we can learn at your expense, and make sure future guests have a better experience than you did.'

Watch for Steve to chime in any minute with this refrain.

Well, I guess we are glad to have been useful to the hotel and its future guests. We don't feel too inspired any more to be your good will ambassadors or to return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
13 Thank HelloThereAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear HelloThereAgain,

With this being one of three reviews for the same stay I am a bit disappointed to say the least. Not necessarily that you have posted three reviews under two user names but rather that you are so upset that you felt the need to. I considered a response for some time as I do not want you to feel for a moment I am trying to get the last word, it is merely the nature of this website that management responds.

We take great pride in caring for each of our guests and their specific hopes and in some cases needs. Clearly we fell short in fulfilling yours and while we communicated with you many times and received numerous communications back at no point was it clear what your expectations were for resolution. The managers you did give gifts to all told me they did appreciate them and in no way intended to insult you with their lack of a written response.

For those considering a stay with us, please understand that we made every effort to communicate and resolve the challenges experienced by this guest, but unfortunately reached a point here communication was no longer productive.

We do appreciate all of our guests, even those who help us grow with new experiences.


Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent New Year's eve there and loved the entire experience: from booking online on the site, getting a follow up phone call to welcome us to our actual arrival with the Bell men and reception staff. Everybody was very friendly and the hotel and amenities are world-class all the way. The room was so spacious and comfortable, the pool and the gym were great.
We really loved it- it was what we were looking for and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skinneriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear skinneriv,

Thank you for your comments and we were happy you shared the New Year celebration with us. We are very fortunate to have a staff of genuinely caring and thoughtful people that actually want you to enjoy your stay. We place a premium on hiring quality people over experience, and I think it makes all of us happy to be here and share our beautiful wine country.

Thank You!

Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hood River, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was a belated honeymoon and based on a recommendation from a colleague. We are new to the area, without a lot of free time, so this was a leap of faith. Our experience could not have been better. In any regard. The concierge went out of her way to assist my husband with personalized add-ons and a proposed wine tasting itinerary. We felt significant but comfortable and at ease from check in until check out. No detail went unattended. Our dining experience at the Jory was particularly enjoyable. Again, we felt signfidcant but not obtrusively so and the food and wine suggestions were perfect. We will budget to return when possible and highly recommend the Allison Inn and Spa to our out of town friends and family.

Room Tip: I can't imagine any room would be a substandard choice. Our King room on the main floor was pri...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel's environmentally-friendly practices were particularly compelling, including their on site gardens from which the restaurant harvest's its own produce from garden to table.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Kristen,

Congratulations on your marriage and we are honored that we could be the getaway of choice for your honeymoon. Our half acre garden has grown to well over an acre and even includes a 90x46 green house! Should help JORY deliver even more fresh from the garden food right to your plate.

Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allison Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison Inn & Spa

Property: Allison Inn & Spa
Address: 2525 Allison Ln, Newberg, OR 97132-7536
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Allison Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush beauty of Oregon Wine Country's Willamette Valley, The Allison Inn & Spa boasts 85 luxury Newberg, OR hotel rooms and suites with gas fireplaces, personal terraces or balconies, spacious spa bathrooms with soaking tubs, 42’ flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Signature hotel amenities include fine dining at JORY, a pampering spa with 12 treatment rooms, a fitness studio and a swimming pool. While staying at this Oregon Wine Country hotel, explore the property’s 35 acres of fragrantly elegant gardens and pathways connecting to vineyards and a beautiful picnic area. The Allison is also a premier choice for meetings, social events and weddings, offering a variety of flexible event spaces for up to 480 guests. When it’s time for an adventure, head out to enjoy a number of exciting activities on your Oregon vacation, such as hiking, grape stomping, wine tasting, and so much more. Suitable for family vacations, romantic getaways, business trips and solo adventures, The Allison Inn & Spa offers something for every pursuit in scenic Willamette Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Allison Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison Inn And Spa
Allison Hotel Newberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing