We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Allison Inn & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Newberg Inn(Newberg)(Great Value!)
$128
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,612)
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveler rating
1,311
175
72
32
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,311
175
72
32
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjory restaurantwillamette valleywine countrywine tastingwindow seatfiltered waterbeautiful propertycomplimentary snackssteam roompinot noirsoaking tubgas fireplaceturn down servicelarge bathroomfitness centervalet parkingwineries
Filter
Updating list...
1,305 - 1,310 of 1,612 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife wanted to spend her 40th birthday in the Oregon wine country, and my objective was to find her the perfect place to enjoy her special day. I first discovered The Allison in the Fodor’s Oregon travel guide, then read the reviews on Trip Advisor. As we all do, I paid special attention to the negative reviews. Since the cost of The Allison is well beyond what I would normally spend for lodging, I wanted to feel some degree of reasonable assurance that my wife and I would enjoy the experience and avoid any cognitive dissonance caused by unfulfilled expectations. Most of the negativity I read about The Allison in the reviews related to the cost vs. perceived value, but the actual issues people brought up seemed a little picky and immaterial, so I went ahead and booked the stay…and I am so delighted that I did!

From the time you see The Allison emerge while driving towards it, you get the sense that it is going to be a special experience, and this holds true from the time you arrive through your entire stay. Everyone on the staff, from the valets to the front desk to the spa and beyond, demonstrates a deep appreciation and understanding of true hospitality – something that has become increasingly rare in the “hospitality” industry. We had a penthouse grand deluxe king, and it was spacious, well-appointed, and wonderfully decorated. They have given so much thought to the details – the bathtub is extra-long so you can enjoy a good soak without having your legs bent and out of the water; snacks and water in the room; comfortable robes and slippers; ultra-comfortable beds and bedding; the lovely gas fireplace; and the list goes on and on. The room was so comfortable, we found it challenging to find the motivation to leave for wine tastings….but we did. ;)

The one thing about the room that I would say is a little disappointing is the lack of a scenic view. The vineyard side faces a very small vineyard (more like a large garden) on a steep slope which limits the range of your view while the valley side faces the road and some industrial buildings which are not very pleasing. Overall, I would say the valley side is preferable for its expansive view. In truth, the room itself is so spectacular, you won't be too concerned about what is outside of the window.

On the morning of her birthday, my wife had a Mimosa massage at the spa. She was absolutely delighted with the service. While she was getting her massage, I used the fitness facility. This is the one area where I would consider The Allison to be just average – I workout 4 to 6 times per week with weights as well as cardio, and I have seen hotel gyms range from extensive to awful, and this gym falls somewhere in the middle. They have some cardio equipment, a small circuit of weight machines, a single adjustable bench, dumbbells to 50 pounds, and 2 versatile cable machines. I pieced together a couple of workouts during our stay, but it is clear that The Allison is for relaxation, not intense exertion…and I was just fine with that!

Prior to her massage, we had breakfast delivered to our room, and it was delicious! I had the Vintner’s Breakfast, which consisted of assorted pastries and a parfait, while my wife enjoyed eggs, toast, and bacon -- well…I enjoyed most of her bacon. :) It was all well-prepared, well-presented, and well-consumed!

We have been back from our Oregon adventure for two weeks, and we still talk about and miss being at The Allison. Before we even checked out, we were already planning our return! If you are reading this review and weighing your options about where to stay in the Willamette Valley, do yourself a favor and choose The Allison…then YOU can one day have great memories of it, too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterJoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review - it provides an incredibly helpful summation of the challenge all travelers go through when deciding how to spend the money earned from one's hard work. It is terribly nerve racking - a vacation is one of the most important experiences a person can have! Your thoughtful and detailed review will certainly alleviate people's concerns, and answer many questions, in regards to whether it was worth it. Thank you!

We are very proud of our Oregon hospitality. In a time where hospitality is less about the guest, and more about the bottom line, it's important our guests understand they come first, and any opportunity to make your stay better will come naturally to us. We look to the classic experience of hospitality, while being genuine and unpretentious. We truly appreciate when someone takes the time to write about it.

Thank you, and we await your return. Cheers, and we hope this finds you well!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a very special place. The design, rooms, setting and service are beyond 5 star, and at this level the room rates even in summer are really a value. DO NOT MISS THIS PLACE if you are in Portland or anywhere nearby. The Jory Restaurant in the hotel is also superb. The service is second to none without being pretentious in any way. There is nothing but great things to say about Allison Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review! We were delighted to read such a concise directive - "Do not miss this place!". We couldn't agree more. =) Cheers to that, and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. It will inform many people for some time to come, and we are incredibly appreciative. Thank you, and be well!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about the Allison.

My husband and I stayed here on a romantic weekend getaway once, with breakfast in bed and a delightful dinner with live music by Halie Loren.
The food is outstanding, the service is incredible and the whole building is breathtaking.

I love that they are so "green" that there isn't a single plastic container or thing in the entire hotel. Everything is ceramic or porcelain or glass. The roof in one of the buildings has plants on top :-)

We've been here as overnight guests and we've also headed down to the Allison just to hear the live music on Fridays and Saturdays while we enjoy a couple of drinks by their beautiful fireplace.

We haven't been to the spa but we took the tour and if the service is nearly as good as it looks it has to be incredible! I can't wait to try it out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaRaJiTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you very much! We are very thankful for the performers that grace our living room, and appreciative you brought that up! In our living room, off our lobby and check-in, we have a local winery visit on Thursday nights, for an educational wine tasting with a "celebrity" wine maker. The music is on Fridays and Saturdays, and is typically a jazz vocalist, or trio. Make sure to check out our events calendar on our website, because musicians and days vary. But it's open to the public as well as guests - please come by! If not to explore our hotel for the first time, to enjoy talented musicians, while enjoying a glass of wine!

We also love talking about how green our hotel is (LEED Gold), without it impacting the guest experience in any way. The living roof is just one exceptional part of all our initiatives, but thought has been given to every aspect of not only the building, but operations as well. We believe we are leading the industry in this regard, and will continue to innovate and implement new ideas and technology as it becomes available. Thank you for recognizing it!

We enjoyed your review very much, and we can't wait to have *you* back. Thank you, cheers, and we hope this finds you well!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Three nights there recently. This place is really outstanding. Doesn't try to be a resort, so don't expect a lot of onsite activity options, but a perfect base for exploring wine country and even for a day excursion to the coast.

Room Tip: stay on the 4th floor and get a north side room for a view of the vineyard, or the south side for a view down the valley.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Well Traveled Golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for the Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for your review. It's always a pleasure to receive a review with high marks - it's an indicator we're headed in the right direction. We enjoyed your description, and think it's apt - instead of trying to tell our guests what we think they should do, we are simply available to help craft any and every type of experience one might want for their weekend. With so much to do, it would be difficult for us to pick! =)

Our guests are more entrepreneurial, and appreciate self-guiding their own weekends - we just help make them happen. There are so many wineries within a few minute drive, it's often we help set up private tastings. Outside of our our full service spa, our fitness center and pool & hot tub area (and sundeck), there are many options for activities around the Valley. From helicopter to hot air balloon rides, to museums and cultural activities, you can find something for just about everyone. There is also great hiking, and there's an incredible network of roads for cyclists. Let's not forget the Wine Tastings and Live Music in our Living Room. But more often than not, people end up just living in their comfortable rooms - relaxing and peaceful with fireplaces and oversized soaking tubs.

We offer many ways for people to decompress, have a quick romantic escape, or simply to use us as a home to explore the diverse wineries and other spots throughout the Willamette Valley. Whatever vacation you might enjoy, we assure you we can help create it, here.

Thank you for your review - with kind words such as yours, we are sure we will be able to reach more people, well into the future. Cheers, and be well!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We’ve managed to find occasions to stay at The Allison Inn several times in the last three years and this wonderful hotel never disappoints. It has remained warm and welcoming with a graciousness that seems to capture Oregon at its best. Wonderful rooms with views of vineyards and valleys, innovative dishes featuring local produce in Jory restaurant, original art by Northwest artists both inside and out, and a front desk staff so warm and welcoming one feels like a guest a country manor house. Makes me proud to be an Oregonian!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpiritedWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! It's important that our guests recognize our commitment to this new type of service - Oregon hospitality. It's unparalleled, and a modern approach to the traditional expectations of excellent guest service: we're here to serve you, and make your stay with us as exceptional as possible, with earnestness, and lacking pretension. Our staff is genuinely compelled to cultivate a world class stay for you, just as we all have pride to be able to work here, and offer the experiences people truly want during a modern vacation - relaxation and calm, as well as discovery, delight, and lasting memories. We truly believe that travel can be transformative, and it's something that can positively impact your life, well after your stay is over. We're proud to be Oregonian too, and with reviews like yours, our Oregon Hospitality promises to reach more people, for years to come. Thank you, and cheers!

Sincerely,

Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews