We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single Ply Toilet Paper @ $350/Night”
Review of Allison Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Allison Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Portland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Single Ply Toilet Paper @ $350/Night”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have eaten here previously. We've also had cocktails on two occasions and I was really looking forward to a 5 Star experience. So it's not, AAA gives it 4 Stars, which is wonderful, but I had this notion that somehow it would be more than it is.

So this is the highest price point per night of any property in the Portland area. We spent two nights for a birthday. Yes, it's a lovely even gorgeous setting. Yes the building is physically attractive and staff are very nice.

We noted no upgrade offered at check-in and we are i-Prefer with Preferred Hotels. Usually, when we walk into a Preferred Property it's an immediate. And no the hotel was not sold out. I inquired. So that was annoying.

Another annoyance was that for the highest cost of any property in the Portland area they stock the bathrooms with single ply toilet paper. Seriously. And no daily newspaper. Otherwise the rooms are very nice, the amenities are nice and rooms are spacious. The bellhop offered to show us a suite but after check-in and not even being acknowledged with Preferred I was not in the mood to see an empty suite or a vaulted room on the 4th floor.

There's morning coffee in the lobby, but the pots get drained quickly and then guests stand around, some in bath robes, waiting while someone runs to the kitchen to brew more coffee and roll it out on the cart. It's an odd set up and didn't work that smoothly on either of the two mornings we were there. We did have some very nice conversation with other guests while waiting each morning, but I would much rather have a Nespresso machine in room.

The spa is beautiful, but the treatments we each had were average, average, average. We have bought better Groupon's for $39. Of course part of the $265 we spent on two treatments covered the atmosphere and setting. The funniest part was both of us getting back to the room and almost in unison saying, "Boy,we could have skipped that."

The Allison is blessed with high occupancy. Thanks to Wine Spectator, Wine Enthusiast, and other publications that have brought deserved press coverage to Oregon's Pinot industry, the Allison Inn catches a lot of very wealthy oenophiles who fly in to see and experience our AVA's. Mix that with meetings for A-Dec, celebrations, weddings, etc...and they can name their price.
So two nights, one dinner and spa for two ran a paltry $1166. If we scored a more favorable rate, I might return, but otherwise, no.
It was fun, but not as great as when we stay at a Preferred, a Ritz Carlton, Parker Le Meridien, etc... and I will say those properties do tend to go crazy and splurge on two-ply for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PDXStocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    118
    45
    17
    12
See reviews for
133
758
28
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay at the Allison! The staff was very helpful and everyone was so friendly. The main outside attraction is wine tasting, of course. There is also an air museum not far away. The front desk has a number of cards for free tastings, which are helpful, I would highly recommend this place to any one looking for a quiet get away.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. The Inn has a number of packages which includes both discounts and room upg...
See more room tips
Green Features: There were many innovative ideas--I liked the plants on the roof!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1CaliforniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights at The Allison in a "Grand Deluxe King" room located at a far corner on the 5th floor. Before I begin, it might be helpful to know that my husband and I have travelled all over the world, lived in Europe for 10 years, and have been fortunate enough to stay at some of the top hotels in the world. Having said that, we both agree that The Allison ranks in the top 5 hotels we have ever visited. Even with 5 stars, rave reviews, etc. ... often there is something that you find not to your liking during a stay at these top properties. Either the staff members are aloof or have "attitude", the on-site restaurant is "just passable", or something in your room/suite drives you crazy (like a shower that needs upgrading or a too soft/hard mattress, annoying maids that insist on pestering you even with the DO NOT DISTURB sign clearly hung on your door, etc.). You will find none of that at The Allison. Every single member of the entire staff that we encountered were warm and gracious, overly willing to help, very approachable, and extremely knowledgeable about the area. The room was pure BLISS to say the least. Spotlessly clean, perfect bedding/pillows/ dimmer switches on lighting, fantastic bathroom, filtered water from the tap in your room, a padded window seat with a gorgeous view always calling my name, push-button window shades for semi- or total privacy ... just overall luxuriously comfort and relaxation. I have left the star (in my opinion) of The Allison to last. That would be their on-site restaurant, The Jory. Leave all your preconceived notions about hotel restaurants behind. The Jory is nothing short of amazing. I so hope they can keep their fantastic chef! The food is extremely tasty, beautifully presented, and yet relatively "healthy". I love how the fantastic local wines are highlighted. Plus, YOU choose where YOU would like to dine. In the mood for the full restaurant experience? Fine, eat in the dining room. Don't want to change from your jeans and want to dine at the bar? No problem. Want to nap after a couple of wine tastings and dine later in their "living room" area? Go for it. And the entire Jory menu is available anywhere you choose to sit and also in your own room! Let me just sum this up by saying a stay at The Allison, either 1 night or 10 nights, is truly an experience you will savor and never forget. We are already looking at our schedules to plan our return. PS: The Allison serves the most amazing local filberts (hazelnuts) with their cocktails!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: One floor at the property allows pets (think it is the bottom floor). So something to consider if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsExpat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were impressed. Beautiful location right in Oregon wine country. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are spacy, beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable. The grounds are lovely. We look forward to returning - hopefully for more than one night next time.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyWidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The inn is situated on a hill in a verdant valley overlooking vineyards. It's architecture is vernacular seemingly blending into its surroundings. The rooms are very well appointed they have used rich woods and top of the line fixtures. They have beautiful walking paths throughout the entire property, with some privates terraces along the way. The service is first class and their in house restaurant - Jory - is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosita d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Allison Inn & Spa sets a standard of excellence beginning the moment you meet their well trained and courteous staff. Absolutely every effort is made to meet your ever expectation. One member of our family is wheelchair bound and the staff provided every type of assistance possible to make it a wonderful experience for us all. Please, if you truly want an exceptional trip to the Oregon Wine Country, visit the Allison Inn and Spa.

Room Tip: Every room has a view
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has received awards for its Green practices.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We spent four nights at The Allison for our 27th anniversary and loved it. It is a beautiful property, surrounded by abundant flora and fauna and vineyards. The architecture of the Inn looks deceptively simple from a distance. Once inside, it is jaw droppingly beautiful, from the all natural handcrafted furniture and art throughout to the stunning views of the surrounding area. There is original art throughout the Inn, all made my local artists. Light, clean, warm, modern materials and furnishings are second only to the lovely landscape that is show cased with great views from windows throughout. The staff were very helpful, the spa was lovely and Jory serves delicious, interesting and healthy food. We mostly toured vineyards and wineries in McMinnville, Dundee and Newberg, so we were never more than 20 minutes from wherever we wanted to be. Definitely a special occasion getaway place we hope to return to.

Room Tip: We chose a Penthouse Grand Deluxe King and loved it. Corner room with lots of space and windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeFlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H, Manager at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. GGLO, a design firm out of Seattle, did an amazing job with our building both inside and out. Our owners are a local family and they hand selected all the art (one even has a great gallery in Newberg, Art Elements) and our staff loves coming to work in such a beautiful environment every day. We have so many amazing guests that we enjoy sharing this with and your comments mean the world to us all. We look forward to your return!

Steve Hurst
Assistant General Manager
The Allison Inn & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,678 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allison Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison Inn & Spa

Property: Allison Inn & Spa
Address: 2525 Allison Ln, Newberg, OR 97132-7536
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Allison Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush beauty of Oregon Wine Country's Willamette Valley, The Allison Inn & Spa boasts 85 luxury Newberg, OR hotel rooms and suites with gas fireplaces, personal terraces or balconies, spacious spa bathrooms with soaking tubs, 42’ flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Signature hotel amenities include fine dining at JORY, a pampering spa with 12 treatment rooms, a fitness studio and a swimming pool. While staying at this Oregon Wine Country hotel, explore the property’s 35 acres of fragrantly elegant gardens and pathways connecting to vineyards and a beautiful picnic area. The Allison is also a premier choice for meetings, social events and weddings, offering a variety of flexible event spaces for up to 480 guests. When it’s time for an adventure, head out to enjoy a number of exciting activities on your Oregon vacation, such as hiking, grape stomping, wine tasting, and so much more. Suitable for family vacations, romantic getaways, business trips and solo adventures, The Allison Inn & Spa offers something for every pursuit in scenic Willamette Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Allison Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison Inn And Spa
Allison Hotel Newberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing