We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine country lifestyle”
Review of Allison Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Allison Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights at the Allison Inn and Spa last week and all the hype we read about this property is true. Excellent accommodations, first class spa, and world class dining! It's a beautiful property in wine country, complete with all the extra's you expect from a property. We would rate the spa in the same class as the Pebble Beach Spa in California. But the food is the real highlight!! It was outstanding and offered everything from Pinot Noir burgers with truffle fries to "lamb served two ways". The wine list is unbelievable! It kept us sampling all those great Oregon Pinot Noirs. Hint: Ask for Ryan as your server, if you love wine.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spaqueen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,275 - 1,281 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Allison Inn & Spa a handful of times now and they always do a wonderful job. The property is clean, quiet (even when they are full), and beautiful. The staff is friendly and attentive. They do their best to make you comfortable, even greeting you by your last name at times. Jore, the restaurant is excellent as well. We went there two nights in a row and had great meals. It was a nice relaxing birthday for me on this last visit. By the way, try the suite if you would really like a nice experience, we got to drive one of their fancy Lexus cars for a day!

Sergio F.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sftm0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I had been looking forward to my visit to the Allison Inn and Spa with my friend and business partner. Perfect in every way is what we found. We pulled up to the door and they greet us by name and assured us valet parking was complimentary, check in was fast and easy and everyone to a person has a smile and always knows the right thing to say. It is the off season but there was plenty of staff and they were anxious to please from the bartender who wants to get the drink right and checks back with us to the housekeeper to went out of her way to find the answers to our questions. The rooms are spacious and well appointed,fireplaces with timers and not only is the wi fii free but there is free bottled water and forget the mini bar they leave a basket of snacks But no in room coffee. There is coffee on the 3rd floor entrance free but too much of a walk before I was awake but room service was quick, friendly. The gym was great, wonderful equipment near the pool (indoor) and jacuzzi ..we enjoyed a nice lunch there before our day of beauty in one of the best spas in the US. Again it was like everyone had taken a course in how to say the right thing all the time. Great people and fabulous treatments ,wonderful touches

We ate in the restaurant the first night and were very pleased and the second night sat at the bar and enjoyed tasty burgers

Enjoy your stay...I'll be looking for an excuse to get back there...

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Krmrn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've stayed at the Allison several times and each time I come away from the experience really satisfied. Just 45 minutes from downtown Portland , the Allison is a welcome refuge in the heart of
Oregon pinot noir country. The rooms at the Allison are quite nice, roomy, quiet and well appointed. I like the soothing color palette of the entire facility. Jory is the on site restaurant and like the rest of the facility the service is first rate and friendly. The menu and preparations are well conceived and executed in Northwest style. The Spa facility itself is really wonderful. My wife and I found the therapists there were very experienced and their treatments were terrific. The Allison has great areas for reading, quiet conversation and relaxing, inside and out. I highly recommend it and will certainly return. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nova R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

A staff that greets you by name; a great restaurant; beautiful grounds; a top-notch spa; service that exceeds expectations . . . this would be wonderful anywhere, but the location in Oregon Wine Country makes it truly perfection! Even before we arrived, we knew this was a special place. Kaylee helped us plan details of our trip, arranged for some "by appointment only" winery visits, and booked our spa treatments. When we arrived, the staff greeted us by name as we drove in (even wished me a happy birthday!). The front desk provided us with a portfolio that included appointment times, driving directions, phone contacts and operating hours for places we had mentioned in our prior conversations. The design of the room and the layout of the hotel made perfect sense; small details combined to make everything feel "just right". Service in the bar and restaurant was impeccable throughout our four day stay - always a perfect combination of knowledge, professionalism, enthusiasm, and warmth. The front desk and valet staff never ceased to provide efficient service, express a sincere desire to hear about the day's adventures, and offer helpful suggestions. The spa was wonderful; we loved being able to use the spa facilities throughout our stay, not just the day of our treatment. The workout room was large for a hotel of this size - - - the cool scented cloths in the fridge were a nice touch! Yummy coffee in the lobby each morning; the Lexus day-long "test-drive" . . . detail after detail that made our stay perfect. No matter where we went in the area, the reaction to The Allison ws the same; it was universally hailed as THE place to stay in the area. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_of_us_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, and sharing your experience. I am sure Kaylee has already read your kind words, but I will make sure to pass them along, just in case. We truly enjoyed reading about your stay, and it just confirms we are succeeding at exactly what we set out to do - to create an unparalleled hotel experience. It doesn't hurt that we are lucky enough to be anchored in the Willamette Valley, and our real job is to simply celebrate every aspect of wine country - from the local families making wine, to the small businesses & vibrant community, or incredible vegetables and meats from nearby farms. We want to open up our Oregon hospitality to the world, and reviews like yours help us reach people everywhere! Thank you again for your support, cheers, and be well!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We came for a long weekend spa getaway and the Allison exceeded all of our expectations. The reservation process was easy. The concierge contacted us about 3 weeks out and was really helpful arranging our dining and spa reservations - everything was in order. I requested fresh cut flowers for the room and was amazed at the size of the arrangement that was provided for the dollar amount I specified. All of the staff from the moment we drove up until we got in the car to go home were fantastic: friendly, accommodating, knowledgeable, attentive. The food at Jory was great and the atmosphere was terrific: quiet (despite being full) and romantic the way we like it. The spa was terrific: very comfortable, clean, very attentive staff. Our room was very nice and the housekeeping was great. The Allison is a wonderful spot. From a guest perspective, its very well run and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the deluxe king room which seems to be the 'standard' room - very comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your review! There are certain aspects of a great hotel stay that are de rigueur, and expected. We like to observe those expectations, and then attempt to go beyond them to surprise and delight our guests. It's important that we have the opportunity to stand out, and out perform beyond the typical hotel experience - whether it is a floral arrangement, a more off beat special request, or if something isn't totally perfect - contact us before, during, or after your stay, and we will do whatever we can for you.

It's a pleasure to amaze you, as well. Hopefully, we will have the chance to do so in the future. Your review was a treat to read, and we truly appreciate it. It does a lot to inform future guests of what we are trying to do here in Oregon's Wine Country, so we owe you much. Thank you again, and we hope this finds you well.

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel, but my mother and I went to the spa for a day of pampering and it was wonderful. The massages were great. The staff was friendly and I can't wait to go back! Its a bit spendy for me, but as a once in a while splurge its totally worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savingparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OnlineConcierge, Online Concierge for The Allison Inn & Spa at Allison Inn & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. You do an incredible service for us, and help remind the surrounding Willamette Valley communities that our spa is not only available to hotel guests - but anyone can come and enjoy all it has to offer. We find more people coming from Portland, and making a day of it. Start with champagne, a relaxing treatment, lunch at JORY, and back to the spa for the afternoon! Someone's got to do it! =)

What's more, our spa was just voted #1 Hotel spa in the US, and #5 Hotel spa in the world, for Travel & Leisure's Best of 2013 Awards. We're proud to offer a great value compared to other world class spas, and thrilled to be able to offer it to everyone in the Oregon area. We have some spa packages on our website, as well, or you can just call directly to the spa to find the best deal.

Thank you so much for your support - we really appreciate our community coming and experience our spa. It means a lot, and we're thrilled you enjoyed it. Be well!

Sincerely,
Michael | Online Concierge
The Allison Inn & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allison Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allison Inn & Spa

Address: 2525 Allison Ln, Newberg, OR 97132-7536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Price Range: $463 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Allison Inn & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lush beauty of Oregon Wine Country's Willamette Valley, The Allison Inn & Spa boasts 85 luxury Newberg, OR hotel rooms and suites with gas fireplaces, personal terraces or balconies, spacious spa bathrooms with soaking tubs, 42’ flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi. Signature hotel amenities include fine dining at JORY, a pampering spa with 12 treatment rooms, a fitness studio and a swimming pool. While staying at this Oregon Wine Country hotel, explore the property’s 35 acres of fragrantly elegant gardens and pathways connecting to vineyards and a beautiful picnic area. The Allison is also a premier choice for meetings, social events and weddings, offering a variety of flexible event spaces for up to 480 guests. When it’s time for an adventure, head out to enjoy a number of exciting activities on your Oregon vacation, such as hiking, grape stomping, wine tasting, and so much more. Suitable for family vacations, romantic getaways, business trips and solo adventures, The Allison Inn & Spa offers something for every pursuit in scenic Willamette Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Allison Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allison Inn And Spa
Allison Hotel Newberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing