We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newberg Travelodge Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Lewiston, Idaho
1 review
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed for more than a week. Excellent service, pleasant personalities of those in charge. Clean pool area. Good amenities. Bed was very comfortable. Room was cleaned regularly but could use more "behind the furniture & in corners" cleaning. Very limited TV channels. Overall, for the price, a very pleasant experience for our long stay. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbergite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    120
    67
    21
    28
See reviews for
118
75
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a very good motel for the price. It's clean, and conveniently located to Willamette Valley wineries. My room on the second floor was quiet, clean, and in good repair. The mini-fridge is a plus. The room had an air-freshened aroma that was OK for me. The hallway had a faint odor of cigarette smoke, due to a small number of smoking rooms at the other end of the corridor, but I didn't detect the smell in the room. The lobby is tiny. The clerk was friendly and efficient. There's a basic free breakfast. WiFi was free and worked fine. The property is set back from the road and thus fairly quiet (and also hard to spot from the road). My only complaints were that there's no elevator to the second floor, and that the bathroom towels are a joke, even for an inexpensive motel. A motel towel has to be big enough to encircle you once so you can leave the bathroom covered up if you want to, and just thick enough to absorb basic moisture. These towels fail even that minimum standard. But everything else is OK. There's plenty of parking, and nearby restaurants. The area seems completely safe. It isn't fancy, but everything is in good repair, clean, quiet, and comfortable. I can't think of a good reason to spend more if you just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SleptThruIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel99w, General Manager at Newberg Travelodge Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We thank you very much for the feedback. We try not to increase the price on the weekends and summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Let me preface this review with I am a former hotelier. I spent 17 years in the business, so if I seem bias, just read.

I pulled in Sunday to the Travelodge as a "walk in". Checking the rate prior to arrival, I had decided to check the place out before booking. Isabel at the desk was friendly, but did not have the tools to make things happen. I asked for a room for three nights at the triple AAA rate. She quoted me a rate higher than on the internet. I asked her if she would honor that rate. She stated she could not. So I asked, are you telling me if I go out to my car and book a room online I can then get the lower rate? Yep.....

So I did. Not only did I get a reduced rate, I did an advance booking from the parking lot and saved 20%. Next, I waited for 10 minutes for my reservation to appear. After getting checked in I went up to my room to find it dirty and several other rooms where the doors were open and the maid's cart, but no housekeepers. They were on lunch Isabel said. Would you like a room on the first floor. No, I am a single women traveling alone and need an upstairs room. After waiting another 15 minutes, I got into my room.

This transaction took an hour....

In deciding to extend my business I called down and as for 2 additional nights. The manager/owner told me the rate could be extended. I informed him that the rate on the internet had gone down and would he please honor the lower rate. No, I cannot do that. Then we had a go around regarding the rate, how he'd have to change me to a new room, that was smaller. I said, are you telling me that if I book a new reservation, then I'll get a lower rate. Yes but I will have to move you to a different room. After several minutes, he gave in and was so mad at me.

My issue with the property is that the lowest available rate, published either on the net or quoted on the phone should be honored. This manager/owner made it out that he was doing me a favor for allowing me to stay in the same room my entire stay. He complained that he had to upgrade another guest to accommodate my extended days. He complained to me how awful Travelodge was to deal with and as a former hotel owner I should understand wanting to maximize the room rate, the room not being ready at check in. He would never had argued with an innkeeper about rates.

Food for thought...
THE housekeeper I had rocked and did a great job.
I could walk to many restaurants easily.
Breakfast was inadequate for me.

I may stay here again as long as I pre-book to get the best rate. Overall it served my purpose and I did get good sleep, a clean room and internet for free....

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wattz777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel99w, General Manager at Newberg Travelodge Suites, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We thank the guest for her frank feedback. There are several types of reservation and hence we can not honour the internet rate as we will not know what kind of reservation he/ she looks into. For eg: pre paid reservation, stay two and save 20 %, hotel.com etc offer different kinds of bookings and rates. However the guest was given the same rate for the extended stay also, and as she did not come toe front desk to sign the credit card slip when checking out a receipt was e mailed to her for her information, how we honoured the same rate for her extended stay also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I made a reservation on line two week prior to traveling to Newburg for memorial day weekend. I called to make sure the reservation was received and was informed that yes they had the reservation but it was cancelled. I asked why they stated they had issues running the card but they did not call to verify the information or to ask to use a different card or even to tell us we had no room. All of our contact information was provided via the online form we filled out.

Just bad service!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timeshadowrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel99w, General Manager at Newberg Travelodge Suites, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
The reservation was an advance purchase reservation and the rate was 20% off for prepaying the same.. The credit card of the customer was declined by his cc company. This was informed to him by e mail on 05/05/11 itself and his reservation was for 05/28/11. The guest calls the property on 26th and he was informed that the reservation was cancelled and we are sold for that day and we do not have any rooms left. He states that he wanted to pay cash on arrival, which was not the case with this reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newberg hotels

Yreka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2011

I am a Principal/Pastor of a school in California. For the last 15 years our school has traveled to George Fox University in Newberg, Oregon for an annual school competition.
We have stayed at the TravelLodge in Newberg each year over the last 15 years. The hotel manager and staff are very friendly and accommodating. We highly recommend this hotel if traveling through this area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joshua_hill_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I sought a clean and quiet room after a long day - this place met those needs. If every hotel were like this one I would be a permanent resident.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I stayed here several times with my parents when they came into town to visit me at college and we never had any problems with the room, though breakfast is a bit bare. Never used the pool, but never was real impressed with the way it looked. Great location. And there are multiple parking lots and entrances so you're never far from your car and can quickly get in and out. However, I would never stay there again based solely on Management's rude response to a poor review a few months ago.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorfw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberg
0.3 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
0.4 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites - Newberg
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
14.8 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
10.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Northwind Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newberg Travelodge Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newberg Travelodge Suites

Property: Newberg Travelodge Suites
Address: 2816 Portland Rd, Newberg, OR 97132-1929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Newberg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Newberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Newberg Travelodge Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel with Two Stars from AAA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newberg Travelodge Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Newberg
Travelodge Newberg
Newberg Travelodge
Newberg Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing