We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant on the Oregon Coast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cafe on Hawk Creek

The Cafe on Hawk Creek
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Neskowin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant on the Oregon Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stopped overnight in Neskowin and had a late dinner. Chowder and Spinach Salad. and the had breakfast before hitting the road again. The food was very well prepared and the restaurant is modern and very clean. The service was also great. We sat at the counter and watched pizzas being made.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genie U, Owner at The Cafe on Hawk Creek, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Delighted to hear that your experience was enjoyable, and that everything met with your satisfaction. Please visit us again.

Regards,

Genie Ullrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    75
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The all new Cafe at Hawk Creek is a winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I were devotees of the old Hawk Creek Café dining there many times per year as we vacationed at the Breakers Beach Houses in Neskowin. We were very disappointed when the restaurant closed. About a year later the new Café at Hawk Creek was open for business after the premises were fully renovated. The new owner kept the charm and ambiance of the old restaurant while giving the place a deserved updating. The menu is virtually the same, but the quality of food and service is even better than the old Hawk Creek. At our latest stay at the Breakers, we dined at the Café three times. Our first meal was pizza and soup. I would rate that meal on par with the old restaurant; in other words, very good. The pizza's are cooked on a wood fired brick oven and are delicious. Our second meal was hamburgers. I didn't particularly care for the burgers that the old Hawk Creek served, but these were excellent. We both had fire burgers with bacon. For our third meal, we both went for one of the dinner specials. This was a hazel nut encrusted halibut topped with crab. We opted for the gorgonzola mashed potatoes and it came with salad, bread, and a medley of vegetables with a balsamic dressing on the vegetables (carrots, squash, asparagus, green beans). We did not try any of the deserts being too full from our dinners, but they looked good. The service was wonderful. We had different wait staff each time we dined. We were promptly seated (get there early as the number of tables limited and later there will be a wait). Service was nicely paced and with drinks soup and salad arriving soon after our order was placed. The new owner circulated through the restaurant meeting and greeting customers and ensuring things were to everybody's satisfaction. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank foxsable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genie U, Owner at The Cafe on Hawk Creek, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks ever so much for this absolutely wonderful review. Reading about your experience makes all the work infinitely worthwhile.

Regards,

Genie Ullrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
105 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Meal for Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Six of us enjoyed our lunch very much. The oyster sandwich and the clam chowder in a bread bowl were delicious. The waitress was very friendly and attentive. It was a great place. Be sure to walk to the beach - just follow the path along the creek and be sure to take the camera!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haptravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genie U, Owner at The Cafe on Hawk Creek, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thanks very much for your generous review, we’re delighted to know that the oyster sandwich was a hit.

Regards,

Genie Ullrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“The only game in town, but a good one.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Cafe was closed for exactly a year after the previous owner abandoned it. Finally it was purchased by a nice guy named Frank, who gave it a facelift and reopened it just in time for the 4th of July weekend this year. When it first opened the crew was all new, and it took them a little time to get things running smoothly. But that happened quite quickly, and now it's better than ever before. Frank is almost always there to visit with customers, and he seems open to suggestions. The server staff are all courteous and efficient, and the food quality and preparation are at least as good as before. My only negative comment would be that the menu remains nearly if not exactly the same as before it closed. It's a limited menu, and a somewhat tired one, so I would have liked to see a few changes. But the food is good so I see that as a very minor complaint. Caveat: This is a very small cafe, with perhaps 10 tables indoors. They serve outside on the deck, weather permitting, but that is not dependable on the Oregon coast. Sometimes there is a fairly long wait, especially on summer weekends. There is a wood-fired pizza oven, and the pizzas are excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BobConklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genie U, Owner at The Cafe on Hawk Creek, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Bob,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a kind and carefully thought out review, it helps immeasurably when customers take the time to point out what’s great about the menu, and what could use a tweak here and there. We’ve taken your pointers under consideration and have made changes that we hope will meet with your satisfaction.

Regards,

Genie Ullrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Food, "Quirky" Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have to agree with some of what the other reviewers are saying about this restaurant. The first time we went there we wanted to order food to go and were asked if we wanted to sit at the bar and have a beer while we waited - sure! So we sat there and after about 10 minutes the same gal asked if we still wanted a beer, well, yes. She walks off, I guess she was not old enough to serve beer and went to get someone who was...then forgot. It was taking awhile for our 2 sandwiches, and the chef even came out from the kitchen and apologized to us. Finally, after about 35 minutes we were paying for our food and we were asked if we still wanted that beer...um, no. The time we spent sitting at the bar, however, we did notice we would rather get food to go than eat in the restaurant, as we could see patrons waiting - awhile - to order, some asking when they would get their food, others flagging down a waitress for more water, etc. The next two times we called at least an hour before we were ready to eat and ordered take out, and one of those times I was hoping we would actually have an order to pick up as the gal did not seem "with it". We tried oysters, sandwiches and the wood-fired brick oven pizza - all very good. The oysters were some of the best I have ever had. Bottom line, if you can put up with the inconsistent, quirky service, there are some nice people working at this cafe and we thought the food was very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelFan5355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genie U, Owner at The Cafe on Hawk Creek, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We’re very glad to know that all the menu items met with your expectations, and that you enjoyed your visit at the café.

And thank you for taking the time to review your experience so succinctly. It’s often only through mediums like tripadvisor.com that we discover what needs to be improved upon. And granted, the second month after opening still included a novice staff, but rest assured that things have since been streamlined nicely here.

We very much look forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Genie Ullrich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe on Hawk Creek also viewed

Neskowin, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
 
Lincoln City, Oregon Coast
Pacific City, Oregon Coast
 

Been to The Cafe on Hawk Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing