We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Relaxing”
Review of The Awtrey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nehalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Awtrey House
Ranked #1 of 2 Nehalem B&B and Inns
Sandia Park, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I traveled to the Oregon coast for the first time with some friends. We stayed 3 nights in the most beautiful setting that we found it very hard to leave! The 2 rooms are gorgeous - comfortable beds, a wood buring stove, luxury amenities, and best of all, an incredible view of the ocean. We left our window opened every night so we could hear the ocean - so peaceful. I would be remiss if I didn't mention Dennis and Peggy's fantastic breakfasts. Not your usual fare - if you go, insist that Dennis make you the crab quiche. The Awtrey's are great hosts - warm and friendly but not obtrusive. When we plan our next trip to Oregon, this B&B will be our home base.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
53
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the Awtrey House a few months after our wedding to get away and have a romantic weekend. It was amazing from start to finish. The view from the room is spectacular - you can literally lie in bed and watch the waves. The decor is simple yet classy, with many little touches such as Nespresso machine and high end bath products to make you feel pampered. But possibly the best part is Dennis and Peggy - they were perfect hosts. Welcoming, yet giving us our space. They cooked us an amazing breakfast, complete with homemade cookies to take back with us. And they sat and chatted with us about anything and everything - great stories and laughs. We'll definitely be heading back out there - one of our new favorite getaways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautiful setting, luxurious accommodations, welcoming host. What more could you want? Breakfast you ask? That was the best, with gourmet and delicious food, not found in the average B & B. We had the most wonderful and relaxing few days and we look forward to a return visit. This is a 5 Star property from top to bottom.

Room Tip: There are two rooms and they are exactly the same. Instead of a fitness center a walk down to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Wow!! What a wonderful experience. This is a 1st class B&B. From the soap & shampoo in the room, to the food that Dennis served. It was amazing to see an ex 6'11" Pro NBA player baking bread & bagels, making a crab quiche (delicious) and when we left had 4 hot chocolate chip cookies wrapped with a ribbon. The house is beautiful and warm, high on a bluff, with the most incredible view. Overlooking the ocean and seeing a 7 mile beach was awesome. Dennis was a great host, friendly & intelligent. Unfortunately, his wife wasn't there during our visit. Will definitely have to go back when his wife is there. Anyone who goes to another B&B in the area will be missing out on something very special.
PS: I know Dennis from his BB days and how tough he was, now to see him become so domesticated was FANTASTIC & UNBELIEVABLE!!

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms and they are exactly alike. BEAUTIFUL!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend there to celebrate our anniversary. The location was breath-taking, the room stunning (yet comfortable), the food excellent and the host incomparable. Dennis Awtrey (of NBA fame) was so warm and welcoming, intelligent and approachable, the kind of person I think a lot of people would like to have as a friend. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MizKitKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

When I saw the bed and breakfast preview on their website I was very excited to see it in person and it lived up to my expectations. This place is designed by a very well renowned architecture firm from Seattle. The spaces inside are designed with keeping in mind the connection with nature and at no point you are dissappointed. The location is a close to the Nehalem beach, just up the road from where you have these great vistas of the ocean.
The host was very friendly and very welcoming. He showed us our room and made us comfortable. He was very gracious to offer us a house tour and I can say it was straight out of an Architecture Digest magazine.
The room was modern and the wooden floors and roofing gave it a warm feel. The room opned out to an outdoor pation with reclining chairs and of course a beautiful view of the coastline. There was a kingsize bed with crisp linen, a flat screen TV with a DVD player, nespresso machine, small fridge and a fireplace as well. The bath had a small shower and there was an soaking tub in-between the vanity and the bedroom. This could be made private by closing the shutters. Everything was spotless. The soaps and bath products were from Lush.
Upon request the host gave us creamer for our coffee the next morning. He asked us what time would we like to have our breakfast which was very accomodating of him. The breakfast was an omelette with smoked salmon, cream cheese and chives, plate of fruit and coffee, tea, juice. He had freshly baked the bread at home. It was delicious!
it was one of the best bed and breakfast experiences ever! When it was time to say good bye, he brought a pack of home made chocolate chip cookies for us. That was a sweet gesture!
Overall an experience unparallel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tellatraveltale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

The Awtrey House IS perfect. My beau and I stayed there two weeks ago, and we were the second couple that has stayed there and gotten engaged. We know there will be many more. Peggy was away, but Dennis was the ideal host. We particularly liked the crab quiche, but all three breakfasts we had during our stay were stellar. The small touches were all perfect without being too much. Just as others have said before me, everything here is just as it should be. Combined with the magnificent view, it was pure heaven.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nehalem
9.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
9.8 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
5.1 mi away
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
Arch Cape Inn & Retreat
#2 of 4 in Arch Cape
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Awtrey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Awtrey House

Property: The Awtrey House
Address: 38245 James Rd, Nehalem, OR 97131-9602
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Nehalem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nehalem
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Awtrey House Nehalem, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing