We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, elegant, stunning views!”
Review of The Awtrey House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nehalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Awtrey House
Ranked #1 of 2 Nehalem B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed, elegant, stunning views!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

One can hardly call this architectural masterpiece by Jim Cutler a typical B&B. How often do you get to hang out with an NBA champion who owns his B&B and does all the cooking himself? How often do you find complete privacy and endless ocean views at a B&B where even the bathtub has a great view? The amenities and comforts at the Awtrey house make the place comparable to our experiences at palazzos in Venice, to the Serbelloni on Lake Cuomo, and the Waldorf in NYC. Soft bathrobes, 500 thread count bed sheets, bath bombs and handmade soaps from lush, and DAMN! that Awtrey can COOK!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I celebrated an anniversary at the Awtrey House and it was a wonderful experience. Dennis and Peggy were great and more than met all our needs. We had a wonderful breakfast of fresh fruit and crab quiche. Our room was perfect and the views amazing. The bed was super comfortable, and the room was well put together and so comfortable we didn't want to leave. The private porch sheltered the wind and was the perfect place to relax, nap, read, etc. Very unique place. You will not regret choosing the Awtrey House for your getaway.

Room Tip: There are just 2 rooms and you can't go wrong with either.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjherr063084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I visited the Awtrey House for a one night getaway from the kids. We loved everything about it. The ocean view and sound of the waves in your room is worth the trip alone. The architecture and art were incredible. And the hosts were very warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgibler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stay at the Awtrey House, and you will feel that you're inhabiting a work of art. The gorgeous architecture, modern materials, abundant natural light, and sweeping ocean views will help you get your design fix. And that's just one aspect of what we loved about this B&B. Each guest room has a fireplace, a large soaking tub, and a private patio and is well-stocked with myriad luxuries: an espresso machine, Turkish robes, plush blankets, complimentary beverages, and high-tech gadgetry. For us, the greatest amenity of all was the stunning view of the ocean and shore, framed out in floor-to-ceiling windows.

Though we came for the architecture and the views, we found the hospitality just as winning. The Awtreys are charming, warm, attentive hosts. I've never met a couple better suited to run a B&B. Breakfasts are epicurean multi-course events featuring local ingredients and good conversation. By the end of our weekend stay, we had grown fond not only of this unique B&B, but of its hosts. We will definitely be back, and in the meanwhile, we will make the Awtrey House our number-one recommendation for where to stay in the Pacific Northwest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TwoforTravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Awtrey B & B is nothing short of Perfect. From your room there is a magnificent coastal view, wonderful privacy, exceptional hospitality and a breakfast which can't be beat anywhere else. The guest bedrooms are absolutely superb, extremely comfortable, spacious, clean and welcoming. There are no better hosts. The shore is a short stroll from your room and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Identical rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We were looking for a unique place to stay on the Oregon Coast for our 25th wedding anniversary getaway. The Awtrey House is located just south of Cannon Beach, near Manzanita. The Awtrey's built this specifically as a home with an attached wing that has 2 private rooms for guests. It is ideal for couples or singles; it is not designed to accomodate children (not sure if they take kids, but I wouldn’t recommend it for families with young kids because it is on an unfenced cliff). The design and furnishings are what I'd describe as Northwest contemporary, and each room has a large painting by local artist Pam Greene. Beautiful hardwood floors and high end fixtures. Each room has a small patio and a bank of windows overlooking the sea--the view is mesmerizing (and the sandy beach is just a short walk away). Each room includes a mini fridge stocked with complimentary San Pellegrino sodas, water, frappucinnos and ice tea. The bathrooms have Nespresso machines with a full array of coffees to choose from. Ladies will love the Bumble and Bumble hair products and Lush soaps. Spa towels and robes. The only thing missing was moisture lotion, but everything else was so awesome it's not really even an issue! The rooms are also equipped with a pair of wine glasses and champagne glasses. Add to this 2 friendly and relaxed hosts and you can't go wrong. If you or your spouse are into sports, especially basketball, then Dennis has some great stories to tell about his life in the NBA. Both Dennis and his wife Peggy are wonderful cooks. We enjoyed crab quiche with homemade pear bread and fruit one morning, and a Southwest Casserole with fruit and homemade bagels another day. If you have food allergies, not to worry--they will create a menu to suit your needs. Don't be surprised if they offer you hors douvres or a glass of wine when you arrive. They are flexible about check out and arrival (and breakfast time), and are dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. You just won't get that kind of personalized attention at a hotel, no matter how expensive. And in a luxury setting. I just can't say enough about this place (and they aren't paying me to say this, either!). This is truly world class pampering in a breathtaking ocean view setting. I enthusiastically recommend it to anyone looking for a unique place to stay for a getaway or special occasion. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: There are 2 guest rooms which are side by side and face the ocean. I do not believe there is any di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Splitshot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I loved waking to the sounds of the Pacific Ocean in this beautiful B&B and location. The hosts are welcoming, engaging, great cooks and great guides to the area. The local towns of Nehalem and Manzanita are picturesque and fun to wander around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldviewer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nehalem
9.4 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,929 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
253 reviews
9.6 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,732 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Awtrey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Awtrey House

Property: The Awtrey House
Address: 38245 James Rd, Nehalem, OR 97131-9602
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Nehalem
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nehalem
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Awtrey House Nehalem, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing