We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in northern Oregon area.”

Nehalem Bay State Park
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Nehalem
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular state park.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in northern Oregon area.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days in a large 38 foot motorhome. Nicely kept spot that is a hop, skip and jump away from the nicest, longest open beachfront in the northern part of Oregon coast. Clean, full hook ups and really nice warm showers too. Close to day trips to seaside, cannon beach and manzanita. Really glad we picked this spot for 2 days of exploring the northern part of oregon coast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Webbwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    44
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Campground for a night on Oregon Coast”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here one night while traveling down the coast. The Oregon beaches are good, and Nehalem stands out I'd say. I wouldn't spend more than a night on any Oregon beach, like I said, they're good, but not great.

Nehalem is the best in my opinion because:
1. The campground is close to the beach, just hike over the dune and you're there.
2. It is beautiful, the dunes and beach grass are cool
3. If you're on a Portland-Lewis and Clark NHP-somewhere in the coast trip, then this is a perfect stop in terms of distance
4. They have showers

The campground has a few downers, mainly the closeness between campsites, but if you're okay being close to neighbors, then it shouldn't affect your night. Also, it's Oregon, the water is cold.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Inindo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver. B.C.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful place for Camping and relaxing! Amazing beach”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stopped here one night on our spontaneous trip down the Oregon Coast and decided to camp here. The camp ground is equipped with flushing toilets and showers. Yurts also available at additional cost. Just a 2 min walk over a small ridge lays an amazingly peaceful and beautiful beach. We sat on the beach with some drinks and watched the sunset. There were very few people around, except a foursome riding horses along the beach. The wind was mild, but it did get quite chilly once the sun went down, and I would have loved my warmer sleeping bag. There is a market nearby, and fire wood available at the registration. Registration does close at 6pm I believe, and if you don't have reservations, it is best to get there early, apparently they do sell out of camping spots quite often.
I would highly advise camping here, it was a beautiful location and I look forward to our next trip down.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank backpack_to_suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best camping spot”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We've been here a few times and it's by far our favorite place to camp. The sites are well maintained and there is enough space between you and your neighbour so you don't feel like you are right on top of other people. It's quiet except for the wonderful sound of the waves crashing. Bathrooms and showers are clean and well maintained and the water is hot. There are playgrounds dotted throughout the different loops and kids are safe to ride their bikes around the park. The beach is easily accessible and beautiful. The park hosts come around every so often with firewood for sale and you can buy ice from them as well. It's close to Cannon Beach and Portland is only a couple of hours away.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KristaBratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Camping Place”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We threw the tent down here for the night and had a very peaceful sleep. Our spot was near the short path to the beach...and a beautiful beach it is. If you're camping in the area, I recommend Nehalem Bay State Park for sure...and bring a beach kite as the wind was steady.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelIsAsTravelDoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nehalem Bay State Park also viewed

Cannon Beach, Oregon Coast
Nehalem, Oregon Coast
 
Nehalem, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Nehalem Bay State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing