We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Surprise Treat in the Prairies of Oregon”
Review of Moro Cafe & Bakery - CLOSED

Moro Cafe & Bakery
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Cochrane, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Surprise Treat in the Prairies of Oregon”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I encountered the Moro Cafe only because it was time to eat, but am I ever glad that I found it.

I had a simple lunch of soup and salad, but that was very nicely prepared with fresh produce. The homemade soup was terrific. The dinner bun had some body to it and when I asked I found out that they made them in the restaurant. (Hence the 'Bakery' in their name, as I should have realized. Silly me.)

The two young women tending to the place were friends. One of when was the part owner along with her husband. I always like to see the owner on site. In my experience it always results in better service and the service here was excellent.

They pride themselves in making almost everything from fresh produce, which is something I look for in a restaurant.

The cafe construction was classic stuff from what I remember back in the 50's, so it had a 'feel good' aura about it - at least it did for this old guy.

Summary: Do try to get to this place. You'll not be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A Quick Lunch”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stopped in Moro for lunch and to stretch our legs on a recent road trip. When we walked into the cafe we were lucky to get a table as the restaurant was packed. The BLT sandwich was one of the best I have ever had. The staff was friendly and pleasant. We would certainly stop here again when travelling through Moro.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VI_Marmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Destination whenever we pass through this area”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This great little cafe serves freshly cooked, delicious meals with high quality ingredients. Meals are prepared with TLC and their desire to make food worth coming back for really shows. The chicken breast was plump and delicious, the vegetables fresh, and the fries were the best I've ever had. We will return here whenever we travel down Hwy 97.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindaglcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Fun”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you're in the area, why not plan a meal stop at the Moro Café? It has some of the best café / diner type cuisine you could wish for in addition to true homemade goodies. Breakfasts are varied, ample and home style. Varied pancake breakfasts with choice of meat and potatoes are fantastic. The wait staff is extremely attentive, the food served in reasonable time - especially for handmade. I thought the coffee was the best I'd had in a restaurant. The café is bright and cheerful to eat in. The cost was very reasonable, especially for what you will get. And, there are several great antique stores within a very short walking distance. I think the café view is scenic - it is a rural agricultural town setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodiefool_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

If you are traveling Highway 97 in north central Oregon and it is approaching time to eat, don't miss this place. Great service, good food, small town ambience and attitude, and it also serves as a Sherman County information outlet. One of the most interesting touches is the display of barn photos adorning the walls, all taken in Sherman County. I will stop here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kolekona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing