We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, helpful managers”
Review of Tall Winds Motel

Tall Winds Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tall Winds Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moro
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
97 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful managers”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

The managers are fairly new, but they made every effort to make our stay pleasant. They responded immediately to a request on a maintenance issue. When they found out that one member of our party prefers tea to coffee, they supplied us with tea -- in addition to the great coffee and Continental breakfast provided in the lobby. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable. The motel is just a few feet away from a beautiful city park, and from the absolutely stellar Sherman County Historical Museum. Although the motel is right on the highway, the rooms are relatively quiet. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegandBigGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

The sign in front of Tall Winds says "Clean and Comfortable", it should also say, quiet and affordable. Glad we stopped here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirklancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here while racing at ORP, and found it to be a good base, about 10 miles from the track. Room was fairly large and well-equipped (although I never did discover any internet connection. No AT&T coverage in town or surrounding area.) Front desk was very friendly and helpful, but housekeeping did miss a few things (replaced in-room coffee but no cups, no big deal). Road noise was noticeable, but the AC vent (on low) covered that ok.

Don't depend on any email to them for reservations, call them!

Room Tip: call for res. Room next to road is a bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed here for one night with our two dogs. Excellent value, friendly staff, quiet, clean, comfortable rooms...large park next door...this place exceeded our expectations. The flat screen tv was a nice touch and free internet was a lifesaver as we didn't have cell service in the area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sika260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasco, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Travelling towards John Day Fossil beds stopped for overnight stay. Staff have been amazing - friendly and helpful and have only been here for 2 weeks. Clean comfortable - everything that could be needed. No nearby restaurant but recommendation to nearby Wasco proved very good and reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landa_deacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed overnight on a road trip through Eastern Oregon with two young kids and our dog.

The owners were nice and provided a good place for our crew. The county museum and park next door were real treats. Moro seems like a nice little town, (quiet, friendly citizens, a few antique shops, a store, breakfast/lunch restaurant and anything else you might need). No place to eat dinner though, so eat in The Dalles/Biggs Jct. or bring your own food.

We stayed in a family room that had a big bed and a twin bed, it was very adequate for the four of us. The room was clean, especially the bathroom, and the grounds around the motel were too. The only inconvenience was the ice situation. You have to take your bucket to the front desk and ask them to get it. This was OK though as the clerks didn't seem to mind, and hey it's a small business, maybe their regular ice machine was broke down and I'm sure it costs alot to get those things fixed.

Overall the price was OK (low $70 range which included the $10 or $15 dog fee and it was a weekend night as well)

Would I stay here again......................? You betcha'! It's not the Ritz, but I didn't expect it to be. Maybe there's more options in The Dalles, but I'll take small town life on a road trip anyday. This is what exploring is all about.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaleMurphy4HOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

I stayed one night at this motel on a trip to ORP. This motel is the closest one to ORP. It's cheap and clean, which is all you can ask for in a roadside motel in this category.
Two things you need to be aware off however: no AT&T cell coverage at the motel, and no premium gas in the town.
For those two reasons (neither of which is the motel's fault), I now prefer staying in Biggs Junction.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieC_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moro
19.5 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
23.9 mi away
Ponderosa Motel
Ponderosa Motel
#1 of 3 in Goldendale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
24.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites The Dalles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
12 Tribes Resort & Casino
21.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
Comfort Inn Columbia Gorge
#4 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Dalles Inn
The Dalles Inn
#5 of 9 in The Dalles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Winds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Winds Motel

Property: Tall Winds Motel
Address: 301 Main St, Moro, OR 97039-3082
Location: United States > Oregon > Moro
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Moro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tall Winds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Tall Winds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Winds Motel Moro, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing