We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an Oasis!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mitchell
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We can highly recommend the Painted Hills Cottage to all travelers to the region! All of us in our group of eight plus two dogs had plenty of room in the spacious cottage, cooked great meals in the evening when we came back from our great adventures, and enjoyed sitting under the old apple trees till late at night. All the special little touches like the games for the kids in the game-room, the well equipped kitchen, and the organic shampoo and soaps among so many other highlights, were greatly appreciated. The free Wifi was another plus. Thank you for providing such a special place .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arunajacobi, Owner at The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you,Gabor and Family. We are happy that you were so pleased that you made spending time at the cottage and in the garden such a big part of your vacation. We're one of the few places that actually promote to bring your dogs along. The garden is a safe place and the hikes in the near surrounding are exceptional with lots of leash off places for the dogs to roam.
Come back again one day, maybe in spring when the old apple trees are in bloom giving the garden such a soft and poetic feeling.
Aruna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our second trip to these wonderful cottages. When you open the rustic metal gate, you are transported into a secret garden. Surrounded by lush flowers, shrubs and trees it feels like a private oasis in the desert. The owners have cultivated a magical place where you can recharge your batteries in peace and beauty. I would highly recommend staying here if you are going to visit the Painted Hills. They even have a separate building that has a cozy library and game room with couches and a wood fire stove.

If you haven't been to the Painted Hills area you will enjoy the rugged beauty and expansiveness of the area. Dig for fossils in Fossil! Find Thundereggs! Go rafting/swimming! Check out dinosaur fossils at the Condon Museum! Or just relax. It's worth the trip.

Room Tip: The Painted Hills Cottage is larger than the Hollyhock House Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arunajacobi, Owner at The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for your kind words, Ted. Mom and I are working passionately to make your stay at our cottages a wonderful and memorable experience. The garden surrounding both cottages is a never-ending creative project for both of us and we love it when you love it. Eastern Oregon and all it's treasures, stunning vistas, vast landscapes and national monuments is still as secret that wants to be shared with many more adventure seeking travelers. We're happy when our guests spread the word and keep coming back again and again.
We're looking forward to welcome you soon
Aruna and Barb

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vielleicht das grosse Haus mit nicht mehr als vier-sechs Personen belegen, da es nur ein Bad & W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals

Address: 209 -213 SE Rosenbaum St, Mitchell, OR 97750
Location: United States > Oregon > Mitchell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Mitchell
Price Range: $95 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 charming European cottages available for your Eastern Oregon vacation. Located in the quaint town of Mitchell, just around the corner from the famous Painted Hills,one of the 7 Wonders of Oregon. Another one of the Wonders, Smith Rock is only 1.5 hours away. The cottages are surrounded by a beautiful private garden, and are equipped with everything you need for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Free WiFi, pet friendly, exceptional movie library, artsy ambiance. German owners. Everything is in great condition and we keep it that way. A paradise for nature lovers, artists, geologists, photographers, and outdoor enthusiasts. Great hikes in pristine nature, a taste of wilderness and amazing star gazing. We offer accommodation for larger groups and gatherings, workshops like yoga retreats, or photography and art classes. Free Wifi, pets are welcome, full kitchens in every cottage with basic condiments provided and herbs and spices provided. Country fresh eggs from our own chickens will be in the fridge for you. Mitchell has 3 restaurants , a gas station, espresso shack, and a general store. We're looking forward for your visit! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Painted Hills Vacation Rentals Mitchell, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing