We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Biscuits and Gravy.”

Sidewalk Cafe & More
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Mitchell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are a small cafe in downtown Mitchell Oregon. Excellent food, fun location and wonderful hospitality. Dont miss us on your next journey to Mitchell.
Tigard, Oregon
Level Contributor
132 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great Biscuits and Gravy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

The prices are a little high, but the food is very good, and the portion are very good. There is no young wait help here. Seniors are welcome here, on both sides of the counter. Come early, and rub elbows with old timers, you know, the ones with a million stories about the old west.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food Friendly People”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stopped in on what was apparently day 4 of the government shutdown, after 5 days trekking around the SE Oregon desert. The town was roughing it- the municipal water supply was out and the tourism dollars had dried up because the main local attraction is the Painted Hills National Monument.

Despite these hardships the people at this quaint little cafe greeted us with good cheer and fed us a solid meal. I would recommend this place to anyone, at least for the breakfast! Support Mitchell, OR!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank espato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant Potato Salad Ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stopped in for lunch on our Painted Hills trip and ordered a burger. The burger was very good but the potato salad was the best I ever had in a restaurant - just like someone would want to make for their own family. Fountain soft drinks would have been nice, but like many small, out of the way places, the sodas were in cans. Definitely worth the stop, though.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank couverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEAVERTON
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice folks but mediocre food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I stopped in Mitchell on a motorcycle trip and saw the Sidewalk Cafe and More. It advertised homemade pies and home cooking. I had a BLT and asked for macaroni salad, but they were out. I opted for sweet potato fries instead. They were burnt and tasteless. I asked what kind of pies they had, the lady who bakes them didn't feel like baking so they didn't have any that day. the people were nice and the BLT was fine but overall it was a disappointing lunch. I'll opt for the other place in town on my next trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAVID B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
Level Contributor
356 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Quaint and Cute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stopped at Sidewalk Cafe and More in Mitchell, Oregon, on a day of exploring the John Day Fossil Beds. The owners were very friendly and the food--walnut pie for me, and salad for my wife--was fine. Considering the town is very small and isolated, the cafe did a good business with locals. It's worth planning to stop for coffee, a bite, or lunch if you're in the area. BTW, the photo linked with the cafe name is not of the cafe, but of an abandoned shop next door to the cafe.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sidewalk Cafe & More also viewed

 

Been to Sidewalk Cafe & More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing