We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pancakes ever!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hale's

Hale's
Ranked #2 of 60 Restaurants in Milwaukie
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pancakes ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We have been eating here for some years now! !! They have by far the best pancakesI've ever had. My son loves them as well there the only ones he will eat. All there food is great and reasonably priced. All sound great family diner

Helpful?
Thank Holly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday Morning Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Most Sunday's we go to Hale's on McLoughlin Blvd south of Milwaukie and North of Gladstone and we are never disappointed.

We get the usual senior breakfast ... egg over easy, patty sausage, hash browns crispy, two slices of light rye bread with Marionberry freezer jam. Does that make you salivate?
Try it! After church crowd makes a busy place sometimes but if you wait it will be short wait.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iCycle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Extensive menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had breakfast (love their loaded hash browns) and dinner (good chicken enchilada). Portions are HUGE and prices are good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JGW33782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was visiting the Portland area and made a trip in to Hale's. What a treat. I am a big fan of Swedish pancakes and the German pancake. They make them both - perfectly. Large portions as well. Our group of five all ordered something different and everyone was elated with their choices. A very large and diversified menu to choose from. I had not been to the restaurant for 5 years and was happy to see the redecorating work that's being done. Almost finished, but not quite yet. The "update" makes a big improvement - not so run down looking anymore. You will not be disappointed if you go there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wurlibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT HOME COOKING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

It is hard to find good home cooking any more but Hales in "both" locations is still good. I prefer the one in Milwaukee because it is a little newer building and comfort wise the chairs are better. Both locations (Hillsboro is open later) they are both equally good in food. Milwaukee is a little smaller and closes by 3PM on Sundays. Nothing compares to their SWEDISH PANCAKES with WOW!!!!!! Add lingonberries and oh my....: ). My favorite is the pork chop breakfast. GREAT OMLETTES large portions you will not go away hungry.

Also the Spartan Cheese sauce. I order it on the side and put it on my eggs and hash browns. It is clean and service is GREAT very personable.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank powerdove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hale's also viewed

Milwaukie, Clackamas County
Milwaukie, Clackamas County
 
Milwaukie, Clackamas County
Milwaukie, Clackamas County
 
Milwaukie, Clackamas County
Milwaukie, Clackamas County
 

Been to Hale's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing