We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“surprisingly good pizza and lasagna!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giovanni’s Mountain Pizza

Giovanni’s Mountain Pizza
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Mill City
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland OR
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“surprisingly good pizza and lasagna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We live in Portland where good pizza is plentiful and I've got to say, if Giovanni's were in town, it would give Apizza Scholls a run for my money! Excellent crust, tasty toppings (and just the right amount), cheesy lasagna. Only downside is no beer on draft (other than Bud).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank contactcolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aloha, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't forget the breadsticks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Yummy! The dough at Giovanni's is the best ever! The breadsticks are to die for! Excellent pizza, excellent service! The waitresses checked on our table at least five times while we were there, and we tipped accordingly!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GweatAndTewwibleOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best You'll Get in Mill City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

I was here in February 2014. I enjoy this place maybe six times a year.

Hand made pizza and pizza pie accessories, so it takes a bit longer than if you were to head on down to your local Papa Murphy's. Certainly worth any wait.

I enjoyed "the works." A full-size calzone with red sauce and fresh sliced red tomato. The order also comes with a little house salad of no consequence with choice of dressing. My little autistic friend, a computer genius with a hardy appetite, enjoyed a medium Hawaiian pie.

To occupy his time during the wait, he threw down his quarters in the pin-ball machines, which are now legal in Oregon. And after his money ran low, again just to bide his time he fixed the one wizard machine on the blink.

The manager thanked us by offering the pie for free. We accepted, but left a generous tip.

Nice small town family environment. You will not go wrong here.

Helpful?
5 Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sisters, OR
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try The Calzone, Too...:)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

When traveling to or from Portland over Santiam Pass...we actually time our travel by making sure we are hitting Giovanni's Mountain Pizza after 11:30 so we can have the most incredible calzone. It's HUGE...and two of us can not finish it! All of this with a salad for around $11. Very old world Italian...Our favorite ingredients are meatballs, sausage and canadian bacon. Absolutely addicting...The best value around....and the nicest owners, too.. The pizza is wonderful, too..Truly worth a trip to check this out..

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OrlandosAmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go for the pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Giovanni's makes some of the best pizza around. The crust is unique - slightly sweet and a little soft, but not thick or doughy. They make the pizza to order, so it's not a place for a quick stop. The restaurant itself is very basic, small town pizza joint, and salads and other food are unremarkable. Mill City is located about halfway between Portland and Central Oregon, so it's a good place for a stop on a trip over the mountains.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PortlandTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni’s Mountain Pizza also viewed

Been to Giovanni’s Mountain Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing