We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel changed names and remodeled”
Review of Inn at the Commons

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at the Commons
Ranked #6 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Certificate of Excellence
Portland
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Hotel changed names and remodeled”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This older Red Lion property is now the Inn at the Commons. The changed the color scheme from Red and White to lime green and white. The rooms are being upgraded. They have on-the wall flat screen tvs, and a combo refrigerator/microwave unit. There is not much storage space in the chest of drawers as one half of it is a locked cabinet leaving three smallish drawers. The nightstands also have drawers for additional storage. Our bed was rather firm and the pillows were very small. They have wi-fi for free, but you need to log on at least once a day with their passcode. They don't have much in the way of power receptacles. You may wish to bring a protected power strip. All units are outside doors - no inner corridors. They have added a nice complimentary hot breakfast, which was a pleasant surprise. The pool is outside and the weather was not warm and was rainy, so we did not use it although we were told the pool was heated to about 80 degrees.

Room Tip: If the weather is rainy or exceptionally hot and you need to travel to the hotel meeting rooms or re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    114
    36
    7
    10
See reviews for
82
54
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

When I booked our room I was expecting an ordinary stay, but a few things made this a GREAT stay, friendly service from the begging to end, room EXCEPTIONALLY clean, I am talking under the bed, in the corners, and nook and crannies. It is walking distance to little shops, and right next to a river. The room also had a fridge and microwave which would have been a HUGE bonus if we were staying longer then one day. when they mentioned a free breakfast I was impressed with the eggs, not the regular mush without flavor but really good eggs, along with bacon, potatoes, cereals, juices, coffee, teas it was very nice. the person working that morning was so professional and friendly, (I usually get names but forgot being in a rush) when checking out I got to meet the day and night managers, Tracy and Marcus, thank you for the great stay and mostly your WONDERFUL STAFF

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chantesinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

While having dinner in downtown Medford, I read in the local newspaper an article about the newly updated Red Lion in town which is now called The Inn at the Commons. Since I had stayed at the Red Lion around a year ago and found it "okay", I thought why not? Let's see the changes. Don't get excited. The place is no different than it was with another name. The room appeared "clean" (#118), but with further inspection there was dust, cracked tiles in the bathroom, peeling wallpaper and odd marks on the wall and worse feature: small television set. I've stayed at hotels (ie: McMenamin's) where there is no television, but this television was out of proportion to the existing pictures and wall size. Total cost was $89.00/plus tax. The Inn at the Commons is, in short: just a place to sleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonProud7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

If possible, I'd rate this place a 3.5.

Service was good, I was checked in quickly, and our free car service to the airport was fast as well.

Value was also good, the price ended up being very fair.

Rooms are nice, pretty basic, but clean. You can tell they are updating the place. In fact, some of the rooms were closed for renovations. Sleep quality was fine, pretty quiet, with decent beds.

Location is within walking distance to downtown and a very short drive to the airport (less than 10 minutes) and that's exactly what we were looking for.

Overall, a slightly above average hotel that looks like will be even better in time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flexabull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

On my annual Vancouver to Palm Springs power drive, it was a treat to stay here after 10 hours on the road.
Here is what I liked:.
1) parked my car at my room door
2) very comfy bed with nice linen and a clean room
3) good shower with rain nozzle
4) fridge and microwave
5) ate at Larks restaurant, located off the lobby and the menu offers a wide variety of interesting choices and everything sounded delicious!! Best burger ever.
6) walked to the old down town (after sunset) and felt safe
7) LG flat screen TV but not HD
8) no bad smells anywhere
9) the breakfast (included) cheesy scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, real potatoes plus lots more was delicious

The $78 (tax in) includes a full breakfast. I highly recommend this stopover and will stay here again next year.

Room Tip: I was in room 143 and it was quiet even though the free-way is very close. Also had good ventilation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindaoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is an older Red Lion and is in the throes of being remodeled by it's new owners. It appears only the rear building along the "river" is open for occupants and I had a decent room with a comfortable bed (not my tempurpedic) but quite comfortable, an older tube TV but almost on demand hot water. My only complaint about the room itself was the air movement or lack of it. Once you take a shower, it's hard to get rid of the moist air without opening the doors. If you plan on walking up to the main building (restaurant) be aware it's "up." If you are elderly or handicapped, you will want to drive. One reason I choose the hotel was it's restaurant - however, it has been updated and I'm sure very nice, but the new menu (they just had their grand opening) is much too esoteric for my taste and dietary restrictions, so that was a big disappointment for me. I don't know who they are planning on attracting with this menu - they might be better served waiting until the remodeling is complete as I just don't see that working for them as things are. They do offer a free breakfast which had a nice variety - and was quite decent with either hot or cold foods. Above all the staff was truly nice and seemed very accomodating. If they came up with a more "normal" menu, I'd try them again - especially at the current price point.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank faeriegrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I've stayed at the Red Lion Medford in the past but in August this place changed to Inn @ the Commons. I picked it because of the price, free shuttle and that it is close to a movie theater. I didn't expect it to be nice but found the room to be upgraded with big screen TV, lots of space and practical usable room with refrigerator, microwave and balcony. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I enjoyed a hot yet simple breakfast. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a remodeled room as some rooms haven't yet been converted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunriverOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medford hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Horizon Inn
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
552 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Medford Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 35 in Medford
323 reviews
1.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
1.7 mi away
Rogue Regency Inn
Rogue Regency Inn
#10 of 35 in Medford
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Commons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Commons

Property: Inn at the Commons
Address: 200 N Riverside Ave, Medford, OR 97501-6027 (Formerly Red Lion Hotel Medford)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Inn at the Commons 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Commons is conveniently located in the heart of downtown Medford, in southern Oregon’s scenic Rogue Valley. Its location offers an easy access to all the treasures and attractions of our region, including Crater Lake National Park, charming Ashland with the renowned Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Southern Oregon University and a sophisticated dining scene. We are just a short drive from the historic Jacksonville and the Britt Festival, golf courses, as well as wineries of the Applegate and Rogue Valley. With the multitude of trails, rivers and lakes, Southern Oregon is your outdoor vacation bonanza. Enjoy hiking, biking, jet boat trips, rafting, fishing, bird watching and skiing.The Inn is just 10 minutes from the Rogue Valley International Airport via our complimentary shuttle. Our 118 non-smoking spacious guest rooms and suites feature all the modern hotel amenities, including complimentary breakfast, WiFi, parking, and the heated outdoor pool. With over 9,000 square feet of meeting and banquet space, we can also accommodate up to 900 guests for your next conference, or special occasion. For business or pleasure, make Inn at the Commons your destination in the heart of downtown Medford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Commons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Medford
Medford Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing