We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great family time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Horizon Inn
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Certificate of Excellence
medford, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“A great family time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

this a very relaxing hotel, quiet, lots of flowers, a great pool and just a very nice place to stay. This time we had our grand kids and they swam every day, took a walk down the creek which is a great bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Karon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
You said "lots of flowers"! Our pride and joy are our flowers. We take care of them like they are our babies. We are so glad to read that you enjoyed them. Thank you for sharing your great family experiences with other travelers.

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    390
    118
    38
    25
See reviews for
422
357
79
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is a huge property...lots of rooms. We had a room with a king size bed and it was very comfy. Great TV choices. Close to restaurant next door. Had adequate breakfast of cereal, French toast, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, different breads, coffee, juices, biscuits and gravy. YUM! Easy off and on the freeway; quiet; and easy to find.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
What a great review. We are so thankful that you pointed out that the Black Bear Diner is right here on the property. They are such a popular restaurant and just a few steps away from the rooms. Thank you again for your very kind words!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This is a very good hotel. I'm going to give it the top rating. That doesn't mean it is the quality of a top hotel in New York City, but it is still a great value and served my needs perfectly. The room was in very good shape, carpets were nice. It is a two level hotel with outside access. I had a lower level room. I didn't hear any noise from the upstairs, nor did I hear any adjoining room noise. There were no odors in the room. Bed was very comfortable. The staff that I dealt with was very professional. There is a well-maintained medium sized pool that had heavy use when I was there as the temperatures were over 90 degrees. By the way, this town can get very hot in the summer.

I would recommend going to Ashland while you are in the area. Its a really nice town with Shakespearean plays going on three quarters of the year. We drove there for dinner. It was less than 10 miles.

The breakfast was good, but maybe not quite as good as others I have had recently. They had most of the usual fare, but were lacking the sausage and eggs I have seen. They did have biscuits and gravy, if you like that. Unlike other places I have stayed, they had a staff person at the breakfast area all the time replenishing items and generally helping out. The eating area is a little small.

Watch out for the traffic light camera on the way there. Whether you access from the north or the south on I5 you will go through an intersection where you turn right that has a sign warning of photo enforcement of the light. I hate those. I saw two people go through the right turn arrow red light and was expecting to see the bright flashes, but didn't. It was daytime. Not sure it is working but don't take the chance.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Skytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
WOW! What an incredibly generous review of our hotel and our surrounding area. You said some of the nicest things about our hotel and gave fellow travelers some really good tips on things to see while here. We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to tell us all about it!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in Medford due to its central location to Crater Lake, Ashlan's Shakespeare Festival, and Grants Pass. We enjoyed the French toast for breakfast. The fitness room had a weight station in which most hotels do not have. The room was very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank GeorgeR1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
When someone says "great deal", that is just a home run for us to read. It means to us that our guest found us a good value and having met all their needs. There are so many amazing reasons to visit Medford, we really are the center of it all. We really enjoyed reading that our hotel served as a home base for you while you visited some of the many great visitor sites of Southern Oregon.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arnold, ca
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Based on TA we stopped here on a recent road trip. While it is not new facility, it is super clean, huge, the rooms were well made up, and all ducks in a row. The manager even called our room about 45 minutes after check-in to see if everything was to our liking. The price was right, conveniently located right off the freeway, hard boiled eggs included in the typical breakfast, and I would definitely stop here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaardiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We must say to read that you found us pretty darned good, feels pretty darned good. We know we are not the new kid on the block but we work extra hard to keep fresh, maintained and to provide for all our guests needs. We are thankful that you pointed out to other travelers that we make courtesy calls to our guests to make sure they are pleased with the room.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I booked this hotel because of how great the reviews were. It was so disappointing. I don't know if the others that wrote reviews were blind and deaf. I paid $130 for a dirty hotel room. It was very very noisy. I don't know about you, but I stop at hotels to sleep. From slamming doors, to people yelling outside, dogs barking, and car alarms going off. The water pressure was great for a hotel, BUT the water went from scolding hot to ice cold within seconds. It switched back and forth through out my shower. DO NOT STAY HERE!! The service is poor too. The only employee that showed good service was Megan. If you are talking to Leslie, ask to speak to someone else. Don't waste your money, there are plenty of hotels around Medford that you would be better off staying at, if you want a clean hotel room, a shower, and be able to sleep.

Room Tip: Here's a tip, stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
From the bottom of my heart, we are so sorry for your experience. I have always told my staff that what seperates good and business is not whether we make mistakes but how we make our mistakes... right. It sounds like not everyone you dealt with at Horizon did all they could to turn your bad experience around and that means its time to revisit our commitment to our guests. Please know that when we fail, we rise up again more determined than ever to not let this happen again. If you ever come this way again, please stop in and let us try again. We will give it our all to make sure your stay is great and that it makes up for your bad experience.

Very, very sincerely,

Darby Stricker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This property is in the stellar class of Best Westerns, Safe Area, Clean well maintained, all of the staff I encountered were friendly and a bonus is they have an alert all night staff who watches what goes on through out the night so I can sleep peacefully at night. The pool area was super clean.

Truck w/trailer parking is somewhat limited to 2-3 spaces and they do not have an elevator to the 2nd story, so if walking up a flight of stairs is a problem (as was my case), you will need to reserve a 1st floor room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nerdtude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at Best Western Horizon Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for the very kind words. Our night staff will be so happy to hear that you gave them kudos. We appreciate that you took time to share with other guests that your stay was so nice. We hope to see you the next time you are coming through.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medford hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Medford
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Horizon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Horizon Inn

Property: Best Western Horizon Inn
Address: 1154 Barnett Road, Medford, OR 97504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Medford
#4 Family Hotel in Medford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Horizon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Best Western, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Horizon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horizon Hotel Medford
Best Western Medford
Medford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing