We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful motel for traveling with a dog” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn
Ranked #4 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
“A wonderful motel for traveling with a dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We recently spent two separate nights at the Horizon Best Western in Medford while traveling with our dog. Lots of hotels "allow" dogs but very few of them actually work very well. Especially the area for dogs to do their business.

The Horizon Inn Best Western is a GREAT motel for traveling with your dog. :) There is a large shady area of grass and trees for them to do their business at the end of the motel PLUS there is an off-leash dog park AND a large leashes-required park right across the street. How cool is that?

The room was basic - really preferable not to be too fancy with a dog in tow - and exceptionally clean and well maintained. And it was pretty quiet. We made reservations in advance so we had the same room coming and going, which helped our dog settle in quickly on the return trip. And a huge selection of television channels on cable. And all of the staff were very nice.

Only negatives: a noisy air conditioning unit. But it certainly kept the room cool. Just wish the fan wasn't so loud. Wi-fi worked better the first night than the second, when it was slow and/or down in the evening.

Any future trips with our dog that involve an overnight stay in Medford will be at this Best Western.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
What a great review! We love our four legged visitors and welcome them with a biscuit. You are so right about the off leash park across the street, it is fantastic and the dogs love it! I was sorry to find that you had a noisy AC. Don't ever hesitate to let us know, sometimes it is as easy as tightening the fan or we will try to find you a better room while we repair the ac. We want you to have a great experience. Coming here twice is quite a compliment and we really appreciate that you took a moment to share the good word with other travelers.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    380
    115
    37
    24
See reviews for
416
347
77
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed in a first-floor room in early September, 2012, about ten rooms down from the front desk and overall, didn't have a great experience.

Pluses:
- Staff was friendly and efficient
- If you stay on the first floor, it's convenient for transporting luggage to your car

Negatives:
- Really hard to get a full sleep if you are a light sleeper. The noise level is similar to if you had a window open, due to the air conditioner placement. I woke up twice during the night as (what sounded like) trucks drove in the parking lot. I woke up again around 7 a.m. and couldn't fall back to sleep due to the constant noise of other customers chatting as they passed our room, and loud vehicles starting up in the parking lot, etc.
- We care a lot about cleanliness and wipe down some of the surfaces of the room when we arrive. The white paper towels we used were yellow or brown after wiping each surface. The one exception was the toilet, which was fairly clean.

We paid $98 incl. tax for the room, and wish we had stayed at the nearby Hilton for the sound issue alone, as it would have been worth an extra $20 for a proper sleep.

I realize that the staff cannot do much about the sound issue (other than significant renovations), but wanted to let others know who are not really sound sleepers, so they can make an educated choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
We are sorry you didn't get a good nights rest. It is fair to say that outdoor corridors are not for everyone. While we have a very strong following of those who love the access to their cars when they can park their cars at their doors, we definitely understand that the activity of our busy hotel, can challenge a light sleeper. You had some very kind words for our staff, which we really appreciate. We are glad to find that we were able to give you a pleasant service experience.

Grateful for your kind words,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Kind of a throwback to my youth. Haven't stayed in an outside entry motel in years. Yet for what it is, our stay was good. Large rooms and attentive staff. I am six feet tall and appreciated the higher showerhead addition. Breakfast area was small, but had enough seating for us and provided adequate variety.
Some noise from other guests entering/exiting vehicles and walking across second floor walkway, as well as stairs to upper floor, but not the fault of the Horizon Inn!
Only complaint was the bed seemed to be too soft and "bouncy".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weloveRtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
I have been training a new super star at Horizon, so I apologize for taking too much time to reply! I really appreciate hearing the great comments about our hotel. You know some people just really love the outdoor corridor because they can pull up right to the door and be so close to their car. But your right, there is a lot of activity at check in and check out. I really appreciated your kind words about our staff because I know they really put their best foot forward. Thank you for the time you spent sharing your good word with other travelers.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Of the 8 BW's we stayed at, this room had THE Largest room! Very spacious! Staff was very friendly and room clean. We tried Best Westerns over Holiday Inn Express for this vacation and we will most like go back to Holiday Inn Express Overall, Holiday Inn Express is worth the extra $$.. hotels are more consistent and we've never been disappointed. You never know what you get when you book a BW - thank goodness this Medford, Oregon location was worth the stay - most of the others were not! The only complaint my family had was that the breakfast room was VERY small, hot & crowded. Grab your free breakfast and take it outside to eat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are the best value choice by design. We do our best to make sure your experience with the BW Horizon Inn is super clean and super friendly and at the same time value sensitive. The BW Horizon Inn recently considered upgrading to a BW Plus (extra's and prices like Holiday Inn Express) but our guests overwhelmingly stated that they like our price point, in position with our great service. While we couldn't agree more that HIE is a great product, we have chosen to remain humbly positioned in our product choice, as we focus all of our resources to provide the best service and cleanliness that we can, leaving extra money in our guests pocket to spend on their choice, of the many amazing things to do in Southern Oregon. So, we can only say that we understand if you enjoy the extra's, but we hope if your looking for basic value with great services, you will choose the BW Horizon Inn! Thanks for your great comments, this is always a good time to evaluate that we are delivering on the value choice.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Since this kind of hotel is mostly for people traveling who need a night's rest, the most important piece of furniture is the BED. Unfortunately the king bed mattress in room 245 is too soft and bouncy. Now that could be a question of personal preference, but even still, it was definitely on the softer side of the spectrum. And one person moves, the other person wakes up. Not good. The TV connection had occasional static, and CBS didn't register at all. If it's important to you, the toilet paper is raspy. Of course, you could always bring your own. The non-basic things were nice: cheery room, lots of lamps with bright bulbs, relatively quiet considering the hotel layout, good plumbing, towels, sheets.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We do agree bed comfort is subjective. However, we will be inspecting this room today to make sure the bed frame is in good condition, which can make the bed unstable on a king because a king frame is in 2 pieces. The other comments are also taken seriously. I have never heard we use raspy TP, so you can bet I will take a roll home to check in out personally. We are basic value and want to stay that way, but..... we know that comfort doesn't always rely on expensive add ons. Like you say, just make sure the basics are right. We never stop evaluating that, time for another look! Thank you for your great feedback, we can only improve because you took the time to share it with us!!!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have stayed here at least once a year for several years, generally as part of a group. When I travel with groups, I often hear at least one or two of the group complain that something is not good enough. the comments I heard on this trip were about how clean the room were, etc. The biggest comment was how great the staff is. There were no negative comments. I whole hardly agree, the staff make this place. it is a good clean hotel. Rooms are clean and spacious. The breakfast is good as well.

The staff is more than accommodating. On this trip, they went out of their way to work with us after we had to make some last minute changes. Kudos to Darby (manager) and her staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
THANK YOU! One of the most challenging jobs for a hotel is to succeed with groups, because there are many different tastes involved. Its the old adage of trying to please all the people all the time. When we read that we have, we walk 10 feet tall for a week in gratitude that a member of the group took the time to share the comments. Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate every single piece of business that we get. We are truly grateful!

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stretching the ratings to a three because the check in process was quick, efficient and friendly. Our on-line request for a room on the first floor was ignored so we had to schlep our suitcases up a flight of stairs (no elevator) in 104° heat. Room was OK - probably last remodeled in the '80s, but clean. They provide a coffee pot and coffee makings; a microwave; a smaller refrigerator and a terrible old analog Cable TV system. Breakfast is included. Pool is large but not heated. Hot tub jets were weak. But overall it was an OK stay when we were exhausted and needed to rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darbyanne, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
We are so sorry we were unable to accommodate your online request for a downstairs room. We would never ignore the requests, we just can't always fulfill them all. We are sure to state that on every reservation both online and over the counter so as not to mislead anyone. We do our best but our hotel is very popular and full most every night in summer because of the incredible outdoor recreation here and it just becomes impossible to get every request, so we do them in order. Please don't ever hesitate to ask us for help with your bags, we have staff who would happily jump in to help.

Our pool is maintained at a refreshing temp with heaters but I will have our maintenance records pulled to make sure that temp is consistent, as well I will immediately have our team check the performance of our brand new hot tub.

You comments can only serve to help us improve our performance, so we are grateful to get them. We appreciate the time you took to point out issues which may be over looked.

Gratefully,

Darby Stricker, CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medford hotels
1.4 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#11 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rogue Regency Inn
Rogue Regency Inn
#10 of 35 in Medford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Medford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn
Address: 1154 Barnett Road, Medford, OR 97504
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Medford
#3 Best Value Hotel in Medford
#4 Family Hotel in Medford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Horizon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Horizon Hotel Medford
Best Western Medford
Medford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing