We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty Good, Could Be Better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Medford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty Good, Could Be Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hilton Homewood Suites in Medford for 13 days.  I had need of temporary housing in my home town, and I was relatively familiar with nearby comparable properties (two Marriots, and a Comfort Inn).  Even though I am a loyal Marriot customer, I chose the Hilton because the cost was about the same, the rooms seemed larger (I had a one bedroom) and better lit (the Marriots seemed a bit cave-like), but mostly because I knew from another stay a few weeks prior that the Hilton provided evening meals M-Th.  For this stay, having meals was a very nice value-add.  The interesting thing is that as far as I can tell, this meal is not advertised or even mentioned on their website.  If I had not stayed here another time I wouldn’t have known about it, and I wouldn’t have chosen the Hilton this time.  (I could have earned enough “points” by staying at the Marriot to give me a free night.)

As it turns out, neither the breakfast nor the dinner were of much use to me. There is only one entree, and there is heavy use of beef and pork in both meals, neither of which I eat. I noticed several other customers asking for non-meat options at dinner, as well. It is really a lousy selection for those of us who prefer lighter, less red-meat oriented meals, even at breakfast. If you love bacon & sausage, though, you’ll love this place. And it’s only a few blocks away from one of the top cardiac surgery hospitals in the country, so you’ve got that covered! Check ahead re availability of the meals, it may be a seasonal offering.

Comfort: The rooms are nice, roomy, the furniture is very functional. Heating was relatively quiet, as were the rooms. I could hear sounds through the bathroom ventilation and walls, but very muffled. Unlike other places I’ve stayed, the ventilation does not blow directly on the bed which makes for more comfort. I have a bad back, but I found the bed itself to be very comfortable. Overall, I’d rate comfort very high.

Safety: The interior of the hotel is as safe as it could reasonably be. I do have some complaints, though. The layout is a bit odd; to get to the dining area it’s often easier from my room to walk outside to get to dining. We had several below-freezing mornings, and the walks were very icy. They did not salt the walks on those days. They did salt on a snow day, but actually the icy day was much more dangerous because it was invisible, especially before sunrise. Also, the branches of the small trees hung over the walkway at about shoulder height; in the dark I’d be whacking myself with those nearly invisible branches and slipping on the ice. I think this must be a huge liability for the hotel. Also, the day I moved in I noticed that the grab-bar in my bathtub was loose. I told the front desk about it and the response was “do you want us to fix it?” Seemed like a no-brainer to me, especially since I’d taken the trouble to mention it. I told them it was up to them but it seemed like a risk to the hotel not to fix it. The maintenance guy was up and fixed it promptly and was very friendly.

Staff: I’d put it this way. The housekeeping and maintenance staff felt like family. Always happy, always seeking to please, very personable. Same with the servers in the dining area. At the desk, a mixed bag. I didn’t have that much opportunity to interact at the desk, but I’d say the service is notch below what I’m used to at Marriots. They would respond to requests, but didn’t have that “how can I exceed your expectations” approach. But I must say that usually by the time I got to speak with one of them, I was already infuriated: There is no bell at the counter, and I would often stand there for quite some time before anybody stepped out from around the corner where they hang out. It’s incredibly frustrating to not know when/if someone will notice me standing there. On one occasion, I actually had to call the hotel phone number to tell the clerk I was waiting at the desk for assistance. The phone rang 6 times, by the way, before the clerk came out looking as if I’d interrupted a nap. For this reason alone, I would not stay here again.

Amenities: There is no ethernet, and the WiFi was spotty. There were two evenings where I could not log on. It just seemed more clunky than other hotels I’ve stayed in. The pool and spa were nice. I’ve already mentioned that the food was not to my taste, but I must say the coffee was quite satisfactory which is a HUGE deal to me. Also, complimentary wine or local beer at the evening meals was a very nice surprise. The exercise room was adequate.

Green: There’s the usual notice that the sheets will only be changed on a schedule to save the environment, but there is not any recycling in the room. Also, the spa timer was broken and as far as I can tell it ran continuously unless someone would turn it off manually. I don’t see much commitment to operating green.

Overall, it’s close to the freeway if you’re traveling, not bad except for a few fixable flaws. Strengths are the nice room layouts, comfort and feel. It’s the newest hotel in the area. Weakness are food selection (some might see it as a strength, though), spotty internet, and service at the desk. Depending on personal preferences, I’d probably recommend another hotel if a friend asked.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I appreciate all the comments and suggestions as this will help us to improve our hotel and service in the future.

I am glad that you found the rooms very accommodating and comfortable. It's especially nice when the bed is comfortable when you stay as many nights as you did.

I apologize that you did not enjoy the breakfast or dinner. For breakfast we do usually have some type of eggs and meat. We also have fresh fruit, yogurt, cottage cheese, oatmeal and other items to try and accommodate all our guests’ tastes.

For dinner we usually have a variety of menus for the week; such as peppered steak, fish, stuffed shells, chicken, lasagna, etc. We also provide a salad bar every night for those guests who may not prefer the main dish. While we do have a variety of menus, we are always looking for different meals that may accommodate more of our guests. We also post the menu in the rooms so that so that our guests can plan their dinner schedule.

Thank you for your business and thank you again for all the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    641
    217
    46
    25
    15
See reviews for
350
273
61
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here on our way to Monterey for our anniversary. You can count on this location for great service and a clean almost new room. Only draw back was peoples pets barking from their rooms at night. We have dogs also but do not bring on trips, hmmm maybe we should LOL. But overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mixalti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad that the service was great and the room was clean. Please accept my apologies for the noise issues you experienced. We are a pet friendly hotel and we try to make sure that pet’s do not create any issues for our other guests, particularly noise. We have a pet policy that the guest must sign and we also charge a non-refundable pet fee, so that we can deep clean the room upon check-out.

Thank you for your business and I am glad that overall you had a pleasant experience with us. We hope to see you the next time you pass thru the Medford area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

This seemed like a fairly new property. If it's not new, the management should be given a thumb's up for keeping up such a nice appearance. Room was spacious, spotless, and decorated very nicely. Not a detail out of place and was a very pleasant stay, especially for the price!

Room Tip: Stayed in king studio. Very spacious and well decorated, clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. The hotel is only 3 year s old and we do our best to keep it in like new condition. I am glad you found the rooms spacious and clean. I hope you had the chance to enjoy our many amenities included in the price.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you stay in the Medford Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2012

Our first time in a Homewood. Staff was helpful; amenities were great. Our room was huge and well furnished, very comfortable. Even though we were near the freeway, it was a very quiet facility. Full breakfast was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Halls are long. If walking is a problem for you, request a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am glad that you found the staff helpful and the room comfortable. Don’t forget that we also have our Welcome Home Reception with complimentary beer and wine, Monday thru Thursday from 5:30-7:30pm.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in the Medford Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
148 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I just enjoyed my fourth stay at this property, which is located at the south end of Medford just off a convenient I-5 interchange. As with previous stays, I was greeted warmly, checked in quickly and professionally, and on my way to my studio suite. Dinner was still being served when I checked in. I still am impressed that for the relatively low nightly rate during the work week Homewood Suites offers a full breakfast each morning and a satisfying dinner (with a nice salad bar) in the evening.

My studio was spotless. In fact the entire hotel looks as if it has just opened despite the fact that it's now been open for several years. The studios and suites offer a kitchen, eating area, and combination work area-desk/living room/bedroom (sofa-bed and kingsize bed with nice duvet. The bath/dressing area is large and well-lit.

I am a long-time Hilton Diamond HHonors member and even after multiple stays spanning several years, I continue to be impressed by the quality and value this Hilton-branded property offers. I highly recommend it to you (in fact, as it's not far from Ashland, I'd view this hotel as an ideal location as a "base" when attending the Shakespearian Festival).

Room Tip: Ask for a suite/room on the 3rd or 4th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flying_Lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford, responded to this review, January 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience’s at our hotel. I am glad you enjoy our many amenities and our spacious guest rooms. We try our best to keep the entire hotel in like new condition for our guests.

We have had many guests stay here while they attend the Oregon Shakespeare Festival in Ashland. In fact we will have a Shakespeare Package once the season starts this year.

Thank you for your continued business and we look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Medford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

We spent one night at the Homewood on a recent road trip. Hotel seems brand new. I have limited experience with Homewood but am a self-professed hotel snob-this was fantastic, especially given the price. Room was enormous, fully equipped, and very tastefully appointed. Highly recommend this option if you are in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PierreCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed our oversized rooms and hope you were able to enjoy all of our great amenities.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you stay in the Medford Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed in Medford Oregon Homewood Suites December 3, 2011 king unit. Beautiful room with a ton of space. Full kitchen. Flat screen TV. Lovely bed with nice bedding. Clean bathroom with seperate vanity area. Really everything we needed. Very quiet. Highly recommend and we will stay again!

Room Tip: No need to spend extra for 1 bedroom unit as the standard was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thoop8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed the room as we try to make our hotel rooms, your Home away from Home. You are correct; our standard Studio King is just as big as our Standard 1 bedroom. The only difference is the 2 separate rooms, with 2 separate TV’s and a door that can close between them. We appreciate the positive recommendation of our hotel.

Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you stay in the Medford Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Medford hotels
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Medford
Hampton Inn Medford
#3 of 35 in Medford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Medford
1.7 mi away
Inn at the Commons
Inn at the Commons
#6 of 35 in Medford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Horizon Inn
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Medford
4.2 mi away
Courtyard Medford Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford
Address: 2010 Hospitality Way, Medford, OR 97504-8212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Medford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Medford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Medford
#2 Family Hotel in Medford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest’s of Homewood Suites by Hilton will find all the comforts of home. As they explore new places on vacation or travel for business, they look to the welcoming, relaxing attributes of Homewood Suites. They have a level of expectation with our properties, and we deliver. Homewood Suites by Hilton offers guests an upscale, yet affordable stay! Nobody does it better than Homewood Suites by Hilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton, Medford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton, Medford Hotel Medford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing