We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best, anywhere”
Review of Crescent Cafe

Crescent Cafe
Ranked #8 of 99 Restaurants in McMinnville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Crescent Cafe was started in 2007 as a local, family-owned restaurant focused on serving quality breakfast and brunch. We strive to serve the freshest, seasonal ingredients and create a cozy and relaxing atmosphere for our guests. Our bread and pastries are baked fresh daily and our menu rotates often, so there is always something new to try! We are open 7 days a week and serve breakfast and lunch Monday-Friday from 7:00am-2:00pm and brunch Saturday and Sunday from 8:00am-2:00pm. We serve beer and wine and are well known for our Mimosas!
Reno, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the best, anywhere”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

OK, a lot of good reviews before this one. Well, they're right! We were there on a weekday and a table was available when we arrived. We were lucky. The staff is extremely attentive and well versed in the daily offerings. It was explained that the rock fish had arrived fresh that morning. I'm an aficionado and ordered it. To die for! Lightly sauced and pan fried. The chicken casserole was a hit with two in our party and my wife raved about her chicken sandwich. The chef has an excellent touch with the spices. If you're a foodie this is your place and affordable for the quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happywiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    61
    14
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delicious dining and superb service.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Read all the reviews and concur - excellent all around.
We arrived shortly after 8:30 on a Saturday morning and got a nice table. Greeted very warmly by our host who seated us and told us about the food, choices, specials etc. Server then brought menus and water and fresh coffee.
We ordered from the daily special selection and were so thrilled with the fresh, clearly homemade
meals. One was an open faced omelette and the other was eggs Benny.
Also took a huge slice of the still warm in house baked coffee cake, to go for later.
Charming, quaint environment, classy clad servers, all added up to an excellent breakfast experience.
Be warned - when we left, the line up was out the door.....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pennymasae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well worth the wait”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

While visiting the Willamette Valley recently, we inquired of several people "where is the place for a great breakfast"? The answers were all the same "The Crescent Café in McMinnville". My wife ventured out on a rainy Saturday morning to fine The Crescent in downtown McMinnville. When found there was a line of people waiting outside in the rain... well it must be good if people are waiting in the rain. So we joined the line like the others. The Crescent is a small breakfast only restaurant that is a legend in McMinnville. It has an ever changing line of breakfast specialties. I ordered the pecan/sweet potato pancakes and my wife had the French toast; both large and excellent. Looking at what other diners ordered it was evident why people stood in line. Excellent!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mimosa's and Pancakes Banana Foster for Breakfast - Oh My!”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Crescent Cafe takes great pride in the preparation of their locally sourced food. Even the fresh squeezed orange juice is custom mixed from different orange varieties (not local to Mac). My friend had a chicken biscuit & gravy dish that she raved about. We were told by the host that the chickens were raised organically for them by 'a lady down the road'. This is a quaint, charming restaurant.

The service was friendly and excellent, the food was delicious, and it was clearly a local favorite. The prices were a little high, but the enjoyable experience made it worthwhile.

The surprising negative was that they didn't seem to take the same pride in their coffee. It was not particularing good, and there was no mention of the roaster which is unusual in an area where the name of the coffee roaster is usually posted outside the restaurant as an added enticement. If you are particular about your coffee, order the orange juice.

I feel confident in recommending the Crescant Cafe for breakfast.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clm-OKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast Place in Mac”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We are locals and we've been just about everywhere in downtown Mac to eat. The recipes, presentation, and quality of entrees here make it, by far, the best breakfast place in downtown McMinnville. The waiting times can stack up on weekends, so it can be a wait to be seated and to be served. Prices are a tad higher than other breakfast places. A great place for meeting people, and the staff is super friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jcwill5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crescent Cafe also viewed

 
McMinnville, OR
 

Been to Crescent Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing