We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Sage Restaurant

Sage Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 99 Restaurants in McMinnville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
mcminnville, oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“poor service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I wish I could review the food. I stood at the entry to this restaurant for 15 minutes. There were empty tables and servers passed by me multiple times and just ignored me. I finally had to stop one of them and asked if I was supposed to seat myself or what. I guess if you are not one of the locals and just dressed in jeans and are not in a group you are not really welcome here. I ended up leaving. I have not been treated this way at a restaurant before. Go to Red Fox Bakery to get a great lunch and to be treated nicely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Soup and Bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Sage is known for its creamy broccoli soup. They also serve sandwiches on their fresh baked bread. The menu is simple and homemade. A must for someone looking for a quick, satisfying lunch. Don't look here for fries or elaborate grilled sandwiches.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisabopisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've been eating at The Sage for years, and the menu hasn't changed one iota. Not that there's anything wrong with that, when everything they make is really good.
The house-made bread is dense and chewy. The soups and sandwiches are always tasty.
Not an exciting choice for lunch, but there's nothing wrong with being reliably good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank eljell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The meal wasn't as special as I hoped it would be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Sage restaurant is located in the Bella Casa store. (A great shop for browsing!) I had seen it last year and now it had been recommended to me by the wine pourer at local winery. The sandwich wasn’t as special as I had hoped it would be. The bread was good, but I make just as good sandwiches myself. However, the Broccoli soup was outstanding (I should have gotten a bowl instead of a cup) and the Raspberry Cupcake I had for dessert was divine: raspberry, white chocolate chips and coconut. Personally, I prefer the Red Fox Café.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelsR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMinnville, OR
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Soup, Salad and Homemade Bread!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is one of our favorite local spots for lunch. Cozy atmosphere
where friends meet. They have wonderful homemade soups and bread. The prices are good and the cobblers are a deal for dessert. We go at least twice a month!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BakerStreetInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sage Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing