We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lunch”

Nick's Italian Cafe
Ranked #10 of 99 Restaurants in McMinnville
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Serving the Willamette Valley since 1977. A favorite among the locals and visitors from abroad. Nick's Italian Cafe serves traditional fare passed down generations, as well as original dishes, created by our Chef. Trained in classic Italian cuisine in Italy, Eric Ferguson & Carmen Peirano strive to make every plate a special and unique experience.
Ridgefield, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
265 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had lunch here and the food was wonderful. Two of has sandwiches. They were delicious. One of us had a pizza and the other had the crabmeat lasagna. Everyone was happy with their choice. The minestrone soup was the best I have ever tasted. Service was excellent, also.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank emmalea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    129
    63
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A bit of a 'miss'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a very "Clubby" Restuarant. If you aren't one of the "chosen", you only get adequate service. Food was good, with adequate portions.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank szsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“No reservations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had tried to eat at this place for 20 years, it was either closed when we wanted or full when we drove by. It is a long drive for us and our timing never seemed to work out. We finally got to eat here but only in the bar. The small piazza's were good along with the micro brew on tap. As others have pointed out the portions are small but good. Will still try and make a reservation to eat here for a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CascadeHeadJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had always heard raving reviews about Nicks. It's a considerable distance from where we live but when we found ourselves in McMinnville on a recent Saturday evening we took advantage of stopping in. We didn't have reservations which may have made our visit go downhill but, nevertheless, the restaurant was almost empty when we arrived. Waitress said they couldn't fit us in but we were welcome to eat in the bar area in the back, which we opted to do. Football game was on and it was obvious the bartender was much more interested in the game than serving us. Food was good but portions were miniscule; we had to ask for bread, ask for water & my husband even had to go up to the bar and get waiters attention for a 2nd glass of wine and it's not like there were a lot of customers competing for her time. Price was high for very small alacarte portions - nothing extra at all. When we left, we exited back out of the restaurant area & tables were still empty so not sure what happened that they couldn't fit us in to begin with. Truly, I think our experience may have been much diffeent had we been in the restaurant area to begin with. Lastly, the menu in the bar area was different than offered in the restaurant; when we had been directed to the bar in the first place we assumed we could order as if in the restaurant which was not the case. Disappointed!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaLeePortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went for my husbands birthday. 4 of us crammed into a small booth. Food was decent but overpriced. Service very nice but not a place I would return to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Janeqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Italian Cafe also viewed

 
McMinnville, OR
 

Been to Nick's Italian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing