We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”

Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in McMinnville
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Amazing. We had seen the Spruce Goose years ago while in Long BeachCa. So nice to see it in it's new home.
But the jewel of this museum is the extensive collection of vintage aircraft along with incredible volunteers. I spoke with men that have flown or worked on planes during war times. The Amazing stories and knowledge they share is priceless. If in the area this is not to be missed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    217
    29
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
194 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Now THAT'S an airplane!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Go for the Spruce Goose but take in all the other wonders. A great collection of important aircraft and spacecraft. Imagine what it must have felt like to power up all 8 engines on the Spruce Goose and taxi across the water. How could Hughes have NOT tried to fly? I was fortunate to get a personal tour of the Spruce Goose by 'Spruce Goose Bruce.' Well worth the time and money spent.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ossenfogva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, IL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The museum was a wonderful experience for us. My husband is a huge plane enthusiast and I go along for the ride. This one was a little distance from where we were staying on this trip, but was well worth the drive. It is beautifully set up and very well done. They have many informative staff to help tell you about the displays as well as good information with the displays themselves.

The fact that the Spruce Goose is housed there is what attracted us to the site and I will say that it was truly worth the trip just for that alone, but the rest of the displays were definitely also well done.

We did not visit the water park area, but it was in a building just as beautiful as the museum area.

Take the time to visit this attraction and plan to spend several hours.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Idaho
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Must see for aviation enthusiast.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A great variety of aircraft, and related history information. Space buffs will find this museum interesting as well.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank N7JHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We wished we had more time here.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is an amazing complex. Four large beautiful and very clean buildings. There is the building with the spruce goose and other aircraft which could be a day on its own. A second large building is the movie theater, which shows different movies all day. A third building is the space museum, which we could easily have spent more time in. The 4th building (with a 747 on top) is the huge water park, which we didn't' go in. We didn't get to the museum until 11 a.m., and we left at 4 p.m. to avoid the heavy rain on the the ride home. My husband remarked that we should have thrown an overnight bag into the car and stayed another day to fully experience it all. We will be back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Calikidsgramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Evergreen Aviation & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing