We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jack & Denise are the perfect hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Joseph Mattey House
Ranked #4 of 8 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Jack & Denise are the perfect hosts!”
Reviewed May 7, 2010

What a marvelous B&B. Smack in the middle of Willamette Valley (that's Willamette damit!). Denise' breakfasts were marvelous and she and her husband Jack have been here >15 yrs and know just about everyone in the wine and restaurant business (and where the best food and wine are). They provided winery (incl complementary wine tasting cards) and restaurant suggestions and they were all wonderful. Ask Jack to tell you his jokes - marvelous. And then the conversation at breakfast and in the evening. Terrific.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drdblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed 2 nights and 3 days here and I have nothing but kind words. Beautiful house, cozy rooms, amazing breakfast, and Jack and Denise are such gracious and wonderful people could not have asked for a better place to have spent the weekend. I definitely recommend The Mattey House!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewels2u42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

My first experience staying in a B&B, I couldn't have picked a better one. FRom the beautiful 1800's home, antique furnishings, to the comfortable living room and fireplace, (not to forget the stuffy, fall asleep chairs in there), to the room we shared overlooking the onsite vineyard. Now the breakfasts, WOW ! Delicious home made scones every morning, egg dishes, fresh fruit... just excellent ! And then there's the Innkeepers, Denise and Jack ! What lovely people ! Friendly, helpful, and very knowledgeable of the area wineries and restaurants. I'm hooked on B&B's, and will always find myself comparing wherever I stay to this lovely experience. I highly recommend it.
Gary & Marsha Peterson
Roseburg, OR

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winedude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My wife stayed at Mattey House while touring neighboring wineries. Jack and Denise are wonderful hosts- by the time you leave you'll feel you've been with old friends. Breakfasts were excellent. Our room (the Chardonnay) was extremely comfortable- we slept much better than at home. Refreshments were available all day. Jack and Denise's recommendations of restaurants, wineries, and places to visit were right on. We had a memorable stay and cannot wait to return.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alnan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Had a great stay at Mattey house. The hosts are inviting, friendly and informative. The breakfast, dutch baby pancakes, sausage, cantalope, freah HOT scones was delicious. The location is great for wine tasting in the area. Definitely will return!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumof3qts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
megh5
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2007

Diane and Jack were such warm and charming hosts. They were extremely
helpful is suggesting restaurants and wineries. Breakfast was consistantly delicious and we enjoyed the company of their friendly english sheepdog. As for the town, other than the historic district, I was somewhat suprised by it sprawling suburban feel. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2004

A lovely old but grand house tastefully restored. It is in a peaceful rural setting, handily located in the heart of the Willamette wine country We stayed in the Reisling Room - a relatively small but attractively decorated room with a clawfoot bath in the ensuite bathroom. Warm and friendly hosts with an in-depth knowledge of local attractions, restaurants and wineries. Excellent breakfast - a most restful stay.

Helpful?
6 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
3.9 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
309 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
5.2 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
8.6 mi away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
5.7 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joseph Mattey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph Mattey House

Property: Joseph Mattey House
Address: 10221 NE Mattey Ln, McMinnville, OR 97128-8219
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1892 Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in 10 secluded acres, surrounded by stately trees with vineyard to the front. Centrally located for all local wineries, restaurants, art galleries and other local attractions. Easy drive to the coast. Four rooms all with private bathrooms. Air conditioned and free WiFi access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joseph Mattey House McMinnville, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing