We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McMinnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Joseph Mattey House
Ranked #4 of 8 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Our stay here was fantastic thanks to our hosts Denise and Jack, a charming couple with plenty of stories of their world travels. Their knowledge of the area was huge and they gave good advice regarding restaurants and wineries to visit, along with other attractions.The house is set in beautiful grounds with a lovely deck for enjoying the warm evenings. Our room was wonderful and clean along with the rest of the house. Breakfast was always an enjoyable time due to the great food and again our hosts ability to get everyone together talking. We would certainly not hesitate to recommend Mattey House to others visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

How often do you get to spend a few days in the wine country in a historic Victorian home tenderly cared for by a charming British couple who've lived all over the U.S.? Mattey house was built by a orphan from the U.K. over a hundred years ago. It faces a charming vineyard overseen by the original owner's enormous beech tree. Jack & Denise welcomed us with enthusiasm and shared their love of the house when we asked about the history. The breakfasts were truly memorable with unique dishes that made each morning special. Jack was especially good at recommending restaurants as well as wineries to visit. In fact he even provided complimentary tasting cards for several nearby vineyards. Our room faced the vineyard and was very comfortable, the only drawback being the lack of a comfortable chair to read in. While some guests might prefer staying in town, we loved the country setting and the fact that we could be in McMinnville (or other nearby villages) in 10 minutes. The A/C also worked well when needed.Treat yourself, try it!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room with a full bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Mattey House was the perfect introduction to McMinnville! The house is lovely and the grounds are gorgeous. Jack and Denise are fantastic hosts, with much local knowledge they are happy to share. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! We would recommend this Inn to anyone visiting the McMinnville area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattey1993, Owner at Joseph Mattey House, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you for your very nice review and that you were pleased with your stay. Trust your search in the area was successful

Jack & Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This B and B is a little off the beaten track - around four miles out of McMinnville and so walking to dinner is not really possible. It is an old farmhouse that overlooks a small vineyard. Jack and Denise are the ever-present, friendly, knowledgable and chatty hosts. They knew a lot about the area, the wineries, the monasteries, the restaurants and just about everything else you might need to know. There are several small towns within a 15 minute drive, each with several restaurants and wineries, and Jack knew them all (and was known by these business people). He had free wine tasting passes for a lot of the wineries which was a real money saver. The bedrooms were all upstairs, quite steep for some people perhaps, but were nicely furnished and the bathrooms were adequate and, important in early February, nicely heated. We stayed for three nights and breakfast was different each day, always one fruit- based first course and fresh fruit biscuits/scones. The hot dish was always tasty too. We enjoyed our stay there.

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged the stairs are quite steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeeKayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Denise and Jack, thank you so much for all your help, hospitality and expertly advise about wineries and restaurants!
Our stay at your wonderful house was one of the most pleasant and memorable episodes of our trip.
Yakov and Evgenia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yakov V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at The Mattey House for 2 nights in the Pinot Noir Room. Jack and Denise are wonderful hosts - very friendly and extremely interesting. We loved hearing their stories - especially those concerning "Never assume someone does not speak your language". We did wine tasting in the Willamette Vally - Denise gave us coupons for tastings and made some recommendations. The second day, we went to Silverville State park - the park of 10 waterfalls - to do some hiking. Denise packed a couple of her delicious scones for us to take with us. We really enjoyed them as a mid-hike snack. This park is definitely worth the visit. Jack sent us to Thistle restaurant in McMinnville the second night. Thistle is a little different with some exotic choices on the menu - but we did enjoy it. We got to watch Jack and his workers picking the grapes from their vineyard. It's quite the process. The Mattey house is definitely worth the stay. The location is near many wineries, close to dining in Dundee and McMinnville, yet in a quiet country setting.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My fiancee and I only spent one night here. Jack and Denise were so friendly and are great hosts. Before we arrived they emailed us a list of great local restaurants and offered to make reservations for us. The full breakfast was amazing and they accommodated my need to eat gluten free! Jack & Denise gave us recommendations for wineries and free tasting tickets. Our room was clean and comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
3.9 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 7 in McMinnville
333 reviews
3.8 mi away
3rd Street Flats
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 3 in McMinnville
136 reviews
5.7 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
3.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
3.4 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#4 of 7 in McMinnville
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joseph Mattey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph Mattey House

Address: 10221 NE Mattey Ln, McMinnville, OR 97128-8219
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Price Range: $115 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1892 Queen Anne Victorian B&B set in 10 secluded acres, surrounded by stately trees with vineyard to the front. Centrally located for all local wineries, restaurants, art galleries and other local attractions. Easy drive to the coast. Four rooms all with private bathrooms. Air conditioned and free WiFi access. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joseph Mattey House McMinnville, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing