We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food adn great ambience”
Review of Thistle

Thistle
Ranked #11 of 99 Restaurants in McMinnville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
brmb
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food adn great ambience”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

friendly staff, good food, and drinks, and busy with frindly atmosphere, certainly worht booking a table for dinner here in McMv

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank myob2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    41
    18
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“The Emperor Has No Clothes...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

...that's what reading reviews reminds me of. After all I spent a lot of money on a meal that everyone else says should have been good. It was not...let's be honest. When you start with the comment that you had better order a lot or you'll leave hungry (my translation) that is a red flag right off. My entree was not seasoned and especially small....bland in a word. The salad had no dressing, one hazelnut in the bottom of the bowl and a couple of small bits of cheese. Basically a bowl of greens.

For all the "local" goods talk it was interesting that the beer and wine list was anything but. Having said all that, the bread was good. I had to eat a lot of it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly terrific!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stopped in with my wife on a whim while tasting in the valley. Limited chalkboard menu: just 4 entrees and 4 appetizers. Food was excellent, simple and perfectly prepared. Very unpretentious and appealing. Outstanding bartender made us Aviations off the top of his head followed by a fluffy, brightyellow little omelet stuffed with creamy local chevre and fresh asparagus. House rillettes were very good on crusty bread.

Briaised Carnitas style pork shoulder sliced thin and a very nice salmon dish. White Rose Pinot by the glass! finished with a salted caramel panna cotta. Just a really good, simple and enjoyable meal. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambier, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I would drive cross country to eat here, and we did. A wonderful evening. Great food and wine. I do not understand the negative reviews. Out tab with wine was $ 100. We loved it. Quirky but beguiling. If you are in the area or withing the USA visit this gem. We can't wait to return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grusmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Love it or hate it: we loved it.....”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Quirky, dedicated, expert, truly local, truly delicious ...... this place is wonderful, and yet reading other reviews there is a total split in appreciation. The food is delicious and served in reasonably sized portions which makes sense to a European like me but seems to anger some American reviewers. Emily and Patrick are intuitive hosts who work brilliantly together with the rest of the staff. The oysters were excellent as was the squash soup, steak tartare was one of the best ever and the pork loin and slow cooked shoulder totally on the money. Cocktails with Patrick are a pre-dinner must and Emily curates a wonderfully eclectic wine-list that matches the big food flavours brilliantly. Put it on your bucket list.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spadge55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thistle also viewed

 

Been to Thistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing