We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SLOW service, microscopic rooms, shared bathrooms!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“SLOW service, microscopic rooms, shared bathrooms!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2007

I stayed here, along with the rest of my family, for a wedding weekend. Although I was only there one night, I observed the following:

-A (teenage?) girl was working the front desk all by herself during the afternoon. She had two calls on hold and four people waiting in line to check in. Those of us in line were disappointed when she continued to take calls rather than assist the customers whom were still in line, right in front of her. Can you say "staffing problem"?

-The (teenage?) waiter in their downstairs restaurant was perhaps the worst server ever. The server was incredibly late bringing the food to the table and never bothered to re-appear for refills. The check took forever to arrive as well. Can you say "re-train"?

-They only have a single, dog-slow elevator, which only holds a max. of 5 or 6 people at a time -- or 3 people and their suitcases. Expect to wait forever and a day to ride up a few floors once you check in.

-A (teenage?) server dropped a huge trayful of glasses directly beside a table of dressed-up relatives during a catered luncheon in a special room. Can you say "carrying too much at once"?

-I was required to share a locked community bathroom (located down the hall) for all toilet and shower needs.

Aside from those problems, the hotel was pretty cool. Here are the pluses:

-Laid-back, younger staff -- they're cool with things like staying past closing time at the basement bar and checking out past the standard check-out time.

-Sweet rooftop bar -- good crowd, good views, open late.

-Sweet basement bar -- friendly bartender, open late.

-Great old-style architecture, original wood and glass, at least three bars, and surrounded by plenty of shops, restaurants and wineries.

My conclusion? I recommend a stay here if you can tolerate the negatives.

  • Liked — Great architecture, laid-back younger staff, sinks in rooms
  • Disliked — Some of the staff were brain-dead, shared bathrooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freebiegrabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    121
    65
    33
    14
See reviews for
34
174
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2007

My teen daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Oregon for 2 nights while visiting nearby colleges. We loved this hotel! The furnishings were comfortable and there was a sink in our room and we shared a bathroom. We never saw anyone else in the shared bathroom, and the two showers each have their own dressing area/room with a locking door so it was very private. This was a concern when we booked but it was great for us. We loved opening the old windows and getting fresh air. Every inch of wall is painted with local designs/historical facts. Great reading the walls and fun to see the art. The cafe downstairs had fast friendly service and we ate there twice. We also went to the Red Fox Bakery 2 doors down for breakfast, and shopped at the interesting stores surrounding the hotel.
The location is excellent - in the historic part of town with everything in walking distance. We were greeted by friendly people constantly. We were on the fourth floor, which was a little noisy because of the rooftop restaurant directly above. A few trade-offs compared to traditional modern hotels but for $50/night and a fun friendly safe place to stay it was worth it. Can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — historic interest and accommodations
  • Disliked — a little noisy at times
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2007

Fun funky place... loved it! We stayed in a king suite with a private
bathroom, which was a great room for the $100 price tag. (You can also stay in rooms with shared bathrooms, for as cheap as $60.) The hotel had four floors of rooms, a hotel restaurant with great food but slow service, a cellar bar, and a roof-top bar that we spent a lot of time in....The room was clean and had huge windows overlooking
the town. The best part of the hotel is the fact that there isn't a blank wall or an undecorated space...the whole hotel was covered in original artwork and descriptions of local wine. Get a bottle of wine
and wander the halls..

  • Liked — The details, the attention paid to making it a truly unique experience, the strawberry milkshakes are awesome
  • Disliked — The service was a little slow in the restaurant, seemed understaffed
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaIndigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

A very unique property that isn't fancy, but isn't bad either. We stayed in the Vintner's Room. Like the whole rest fo the hotel, the walls were covered with quotes, in this case with pictures of area leaders in the wine industry. The room was small, with a rather old bed, but we slept fine. Our room had a bathroom, which was OK, except for the very low shower head (it was at shoulder level). The upstairs bar is lot of fun. We had dinner at La Ramblas, which was fairly good.

  • Liked — rooftop bar
  • Disliked — low shower head
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank phillycmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paia, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2006

I stayed on the fourth floor (room 411) and unlike other reviews that said this floor was quieter than the rest I was surprised at how loud it was. My room was right next to the staircase and there was a constant parade of loud intoxicated tourists and partygoers going up and down those hardwood stairs and hallways until the wee hours. I should also say that it was Homecoming for Linfield College and the place was packed so perhaps that had everything to do with it.

Regardless of the noise I would stay there again. The young lady at check in was very friendly, the shrimp penne was yummy, they have wireless internet, and even though it lacked a bathroom I thought my room was very cute, clean, and artsy. However next time I will request a room closer to the bathroom, or with a bathroom, and away from that staircase.

Other reviewers have said that this is not the nicest McMenamins property, and that is true, however there are only 4 hotels in Mcminnville and this is one of the top two.
If you want to swim in an indoor pool, watch TV, and go to bed early stay at Best Western. If you want to get your party hat on and BS with people in a fun and funky atmosphere stay at McMenamins.

  • Liked — More personality than the typical hotel
  • Disliked — Loud
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank TheRogueTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
138 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2006

Nick's Italian Restaurant (Saveur 2005) which is right next door to this hotel, brought us to the Willamette wine country and Hotel Oregon. NONE disappointed! Fourth floor corner suite with bath @$100 was super and reasonable for this wine region - all the comforts and plenty of of charm. Rooftop bar is right overhead (good for evening drink or even dinner) - no noise problem. Hotel is part of the McMenamin brothers sensitive rehabs - great ground floor pub/cafe. Not sure about other rooms - some small and some without baths.
Nick's Restaurant is everything Saveur promises - ate there BOTH nights we were in town (one a jazz performance in back room). McMinville is a charming small town and the Willamette Valley is a great wine trecking are quite close to Portland.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank Frequent travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2006

We are huge fans of Mcmenamins Hotels, however this one, while nice did not quite stack up. The room was tiny and there isn't much to do on the property. We enjoyed the rooftop bar and music in the cellar. Certainly worth staying one night- but not more. Edgefield, Grand Lodge, or Kennedy school a much better bet!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.4 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#5 of 6 in McMinnville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Newberg Inn
4.9 mi away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Hotel Oregon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Property: McMenamins Hotel Oregon
Address: 310 NE Evans Street, McMinnville, OR 97128
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McMenamins Hotel Oregon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On McMinnville's charming, old main street, Hotel Oregon strikes an inviting pose - as it has since 1905. Once home to a restaurant and lounge, banquet hall, Greyhound bus depot, Western Union, soda fountain and beauty parlor, the handsome four-story building we call Hotel Oregon is a delightful destination in the heart of Oregon's wine country.Warm lighting in the first floor pub, cozy tables and an impressive 40-foot long back bar invite close conversation over the glint of a fresh pint or maybe a game of shuffle board in the Paragon room. Artwork and wall hangings inspire thoughts of the past and a trip to the subterranean bistro-style Cellar Bar or magnificent Rooftop Bar (with its breathtaking 360-degree view of the region) are a must for any visitor to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your McMenamins Hotel Oregon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Hotel Mcminnville
McMenamins Hotel Oregon McMinnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing