We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooftop Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My review is for the rooftop bar only. We had drinks here before dinner at Nick and it was great! Our wine and beer was wonderful and the views were amazing! It made for a very relaxing evening! The service was also amazing. I would highly recommend the Rooftop Bar for drinks.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank hookem79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, General Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to seeing you again on the rooftop! Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 332 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

I read all the Tripadvisor reviews and took a chance on this hotel. We needed a place to stay for one night on a Friday night and most area hotels required a 2 night stay. We also wanted to be within walking distance to downtown restaurants and shops.

We had a terrific lunch on the rooftop bar which had a great area view. Highly recommend this place for lunch. We also had a nice breakfast on the morning that we checked out. Service was very good and food was reasonably priced at both restaurant areas.

The hotel is very interesting with lots of quirky period photos and art. I enjoyed walking the hallways to see their great collection.

It was the accommodations and overnight part that was disappointing. We supposedly had the nicest room in the hotel according to the front desk. It was incredibly noisy even with the supplied ear plugs. We think that most of the noise comes from the elevator but noise from people in the hallways and floor below kept us most of the night. There was also considerable noise coming from the street and bar patrons at the outside tables.

We also had difficulty in using the shower that was installed over the claw foot tub. The floor is uneven so it was hard to balance in the tub. I was concerned that I would fall as there was nothing to hold on to.

The front clerk was very gracious when we checked out and gave us a small discount off of our room tab. Overall, we paid about $131 which seems overpriced for the room. My fault for not trusting the TA reviews

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PasoWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, General Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and will strive to improve. We are happy to hear that our staff was friendly and that you enjoyed your time on the rooftop. Thank you very much for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is our second night here in one of the rooms that comes with its own bathroom (wine pioneers' room). Thank god we're leaving in the morning. For the exorbitant price, there is barely room for the bed, no dresser; suitcases had to go on the bathroom floor. There is no TV and a couple of 40 watt bulbs by which to try to read. I'd have gone to the lobby to read, but there is no lobby! Unless you're really thrilled at sleeping in a historical hotel, skip this overpriced rip off!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, General Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are very sorry for your experience during your stay. I have sent you a private message in the hopes to make things right. Thank you for your review and I look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I am staying at the hotel sitting up in bed after a night of not sleeping. It's 5:30am. It's not like me to complain but I am upset. Primarily because when I asked for tea before bed from the upstairs lounge the waitress was annoyed. Then I asked if it was caffeine free and she said yes. A mint tea. But no. I don't drink caffeine at all because I have a sensitivity and this tea had caffeine. My heart has been racing all night and all bad side effects I get happening. Not to mention that the room smells unclean and we are sharing a toilet and shower with the room next door. We are on a company retreat and did not select this hotel and I can say that I would never come here by choice and after staying here I am angry. Primarily because the staff served me something that has made me feel terrible, ruined my night's sleep the first night in Oregon and will probably affect my day which is supposed to be about team building on an outdoor adventure course. This place failed me.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peacepeacepeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, General Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

I have reached out to you with a private message. I am so sorry for what happened during your stay, and assure you that managers and staff have been followed up with. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed three nights and enjoyed the location of the hotel very much! It's located in the central part of the historic downtown area and is within walking distance of some excellent restaurants.

I have to commend the front desk staff. Especially one of the staff members. I don't recall her name, but she had long brown hair and wore glasses. I have never had someone go out of their way to accommodate and help us the way she did! She recommended some great restaurant choices and made us reservations at each location so that we wouldn't have to fight the tourist crowd. She was always eager to help us and did a very good job of making us feel welcome during our entire stay. I was always very pleased to find her at the desk when I passed.

I would return to this location based off of her hospitality alone.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a quiet time, I would ask for a room that isn't facing main street. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samuelk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, General Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We will make sure to recognize this employee for their service. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have an excellent day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Shared bathrooms for 80.00 to 100.00 a night rooms? Ridiculous! I stayed in a very small room with a private bath...I loved the old town urban feeling. But the staff is inconsistent. Front desk girl was awesome. Stayed 2 nights and dined and drank there, roof top bar tenders were arrogant. Servers kind of rude. Breakfast staff great....damned good Bloody Mary. Housekeeping did nothing in our room. Dropped towels on the bed and took the tip... Terrible.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urbanluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, General Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. A good Bloody Mary is certainly a fine thing, and I am pleased to hear that front desk staff was awesome. I have sent you a private message to get some more details on the areas of concern you have mentioned. I have already shared your comments with the team at Hotel Oregon and we will be following up accordingly. We look forward to addressing these issues and making improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is our second visit and we very much enjoyed it. We are however McMenamins groupies, so we are biased. Our room was very small but that was okay as we were out and about exploring the town, having a beer on the rooftop bar, music downstairs. The town is very cute with many shops, restaurants and wine bars in the heart of wine country. If you prefer high end accommodations this place is probably not for you but if you enjoy historic, funky, artistic....then you will likely be pleased.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PamTaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon M, General Manager at McMenamins Hotel Oregon, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.4 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#4 of 6 in McMinnville
125 reviews
20.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
22.2 mi away
McMenamins Grand Lodge
McMenamins Grand Lodge
#2 of 4 in Forest Grove
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McMenamins Hotel Oregon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McMenamins Hotel Oregon

Address: 310 NE Evans St, McMinnville, OR 97128
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in McMinnville
Price Range: $82 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McMenamins Hotel Oregon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On McMinnville's charming, old main street, Hotel Oregon strikes an inviting pose - as it has since 1905. Once home to a restaurant and lounge, banquet hall, Greyhound bus depot, Western Union, soda fountain and beauty parlor, the handsome four-story building we call Hotel Oregon is a delightful destination in the heart of Oregon's wine country.Warm lighting in the first floor pub, cozy tables and an impressive 40-foot long back bar invite close conversation over the glint of a fresh pint or maybe a game of shuffle board in the Paragon room. Artwork and wall hangings inspire thoughts of the past and a trip to the subterranean bistro-style Cellar Bar or magnificent Rooftop Bar (with its breathtaking 360-degree view of the region) are a must for any visitor to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your McMenamins Hotel Oregon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcmenamins Hotel Mcminnville
McMenamins Hotel Oregon McMinnville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing