We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 31, 2006

We had a wonderful stay. We had the largest room in the property - the 2 room suite - and it is worth every cent. This is a romantic getaway location where you can have intimacy and privacy, and still share stories with fellow travellers from around the country over a professionally prepared breakfast . Within 30 minutes you can explore vineyards, the Oregon Coast and forests and shops in the towns. The drive to the B&B on backroads and a private gated drive up the hill to the main house is one of the pleasures. This is one of the top B&B experiences in the US.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ralff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 427 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2006

This bed and breakfast was an average experience for us. The rooms were large, clean and very nice. The staff was cordial but not as warm and inviting as other B&B's we have stayed at. The breakfast was just "ok" and definately not the best we have had. We stayed here after a great experience in Calistoga and were not impressed for the price. If you're looking for something better than the local hotel but not great this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

The “unhospitality”of Youngberg Hill

Having been part of a “wine-tasting” group for over ten years, my husband and I have experienced many “bed & breakfast” inns in various wine countries. None have been as disappointing as the “Youngberg Hill Inn & Vineyard. Just as a restaurant depends on it’s service and good management, an inn should be run with the same concerns. Keeping customers happy and comfortable.

Not so with the Youngberg Hill Inn. The owners could have cared less if everything was going smoothly or not. It felt as if once they got you there, you were stuck and they didn’t care what happened after that. We went with a group of 10 (five couples) and basically filled the inn (seven rooms). When my husband and I called to reserve our room, we asked for what they would consider a “good room”. They recommended the Jackson suite saying it was the next to the highest cost, but worth it. We arrived with all of our friends to find that the “Jackson suite” was dark and dreary with an expansive view of the parking lot. The other four couples had a wonderful view of the vineyard. When we asked why this happened, we received a shrug of the shoulders saying ours was the only room without a view. That didn’t help our disappointment at all. Deciding there was nothing we could do, we decided to make the best of it. The day we arrived we were told they would accept special requests for breakfast. My friend and myself requested decaf coffee and a light breakfast of cereal and toast. The next morning there were no special orders. When we asked for decaf, the owner replied, “you have to request that the day before” When we said “we actually did”, another shrug of the shoulders and he reluctantly made us decaf. We felt guilty asking for it and more guilty drinking it as he gave us ugly glares every time he entered the dining room. We decided that asking for cereal would be too uncomfortable, so we ate the fruit and remained silent.

Let me preface this by pointing out that everything at the inn is on the “honor” system. If you dare take a glass of wine that will cost you 8 dollars. This is the first inn that we have stayed in that has not offered a wine and cheese hour or a little sherry at the end of the day. Nickel and diming should not happen when one is paying top price for a room.

The website touts a discount for groups. When checking out, our friend asked about the discount. The reply was “we should charge groups more”. They are more work.” Need I say more?

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank tamalpais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We spent 3 days at this property and could not have been happier. The owners are incredibly helpful and the views from the porch are not to be missed. Breakfast every morning was a great treat.

The rooms are very comfortable and we felt very well cared for. We also found the owners were attentive without being intrusive. I read earlier reviews regarding the children at the property, but we (who do not have children) found that they were also very respectful of guest's privacy, and were well behaved and charming. The inn has lots of public spaces for relaxing and getting to know other guests.

We especially liked the dogs, cats and horses on the property.

I hope we can stay at the property again - I think we were lucky to get the reservation we did!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bratty_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2006

We spent two nights at the Inn. We chose the Jura room, which sits at the front of the Inn and has bay windows in the sitting area, which provide a view of the grand vista. The room was lovely and we have only a couple of issues - the mattress was a bit too soft for our backs, the bed squeaked loudly with any movement, and there was no soap in the shower and we had to scavenge the hallway storage closet to find some (at night, there's no innkeeper, to our knowledge.) Our two breakfasts were very good, and extra effort was made to accommodate diet restrictions. Our time spent outside on the porch and lawn was magnificent. The owners' cats, two dogs and the many birds constantly present were much fun. We were literally at "bird's eye view" with vultures, hawks, finches, etc. - excellent bird watching. We found the scenery of the surrounding valleys breathtaking. The fresh, country air was a wonderful change from our city life. The owners and employees were very cordial, warm, and concerned that our stay went well. We will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lhasa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2006

My husband and I just got back from staying at the Inn and we could not have been more thrilled and pleased with our accomodations. I am surprised the innkeepers children are mentioned in some reviews...we found them charming and well-behaved and frankly their presence added to our enjoyment of the stay (and we are DINKS). I have never enjoyed a hotel/inn more and like other reviewers, found the views breathtaking, the innkeepers informative yet unobtrusive, the breakfasts delicious. Given we live in an urban enviroment, the animals (dogs, horses, and evening crickets) plus one night of a huge full moon coming up over the valley, just made it spectacular for us. It was magical. We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hnlbosnycgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Malibu, CA
12
Reviewed April 23, 2006

Just got back from 4 nghts at Youngberg Hill. Wayne and Nicollette couldn't have been more welcoming or helpful. The vistas of the vineyards and the rolling green hills couldn't have been more beautiful. We stayed the first 2 nights in the Martini Suite and then, becuase it was booked for our last two nights, had to switch to the Pommard Room. The suite was private, romantic, spacious -- very special. The room was charming and nice, but a tough adjustment after the suite. Highly recommend the suite. And, Nicollette's breakfasts were great.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
4.9 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
332 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
3.9 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
5.2 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#4 of 6 in McMinnville
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn

Address: 10660 SW Youngberg Hill Rd, McMinnville, OR 97128-8560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Price Range: $283 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oregon’s premier wine country estate and one of Wine Spectator’s favorite locations; set on a 50 acre hilltop surrounded by vineyard. We have an amazing 24 year old vineyard that is farmed organically. We are well known for producing award winning Pinot Noir and Pinot Gris wines. As passionate farmers and winemakers we are thrilled to share, educate, and talk wine. The Inn provides the perfect winery, getaway, and wedding experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Youngberg Hill Vineyards Hotel Mcminnville
Youngberg Hill Vineyards And Inn
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn McMinnville, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing