We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Mary Poppins of Bread and Breakfasts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McMinnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sarasota, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Mary Poppins of Bread and Breakfasts”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I can't say enough about the great time we had with Jacques and Liz. We wrote in advance and Liz found two restaurants serving the dishes what we had asked her locate.

From the gourmet breakfast to our night cap with our hosts, everything was "practically perfect in every way", just like Mary Poppins. The best B&B we've ever visited. Wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swisscoach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
292
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We only stayed one night but were well taken care of. I have recently had a total hip replacement surgery and the kindness and concern that Liz and Jacques showed was touching and certainly above what was necessary. The accommodations were comfortable, keep in mind it is a historic house with much original character. We appreciated the warm environment but if you are looking for modern and sleek, this is not the right spot. You are within a short walk to the historic area of McMinnville so this is centrally located spot. The breakfast was spectacular and truly one of the best we have had. You will not be disappointed. Liz is very personable and can help guide you to local wineries, sites, and restaurants worth trying. Overall, it is reasonably priced, service is excellent, breakfast is far better than you will find elsewhere - a must stay if you are visiting the wine country.

Room Tip: they do have a separate house that would be great for families -- two different options.. if we take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Liz and Jacques set the standard for hosts, friendly, attentive, and helpful. Liz helped with dinner reservations and suggested interesting wineries to visit. Jacques gave us a new insight as to what is possible with breakfast, truffled eggs? We stayed in the A'Tuscan suite which was comfortable and had the best stall shower that we have ever encountered in an inn. The location is convenient to walk to restaurants. This was our first visit to Oregon wine country and I cannot imagine a better place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sftraveler00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Montana
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a great stay! We stayed two nights in a comfortable, beautiful room with a large bathroom. The B & B is within walking distance of McMinnville. Our breakfast was memorable and we're still talking about it. Liz was very helpful with great information to make the rest of our trip memorable! Would definitely return.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Chef Jacques makes a mean truffle quiche! Liz is the consummate host - attentive yet not ever present. They have thought of everything you would need for a perfect visit. Tuscan Estate is everything a B&B is meant to be!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FemMOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Tuscan Estate B & B is charming. Liz and Jacques are warm and friendly. We have never had such a wonderful breakfast! It was great that Liz was up and had great coffee so early a treat for my husband. Jacques is an outstanding chef and Liz will spoil you. They made dinner reservations for us and gave us wine tasting tips and maps. Great first impression to Oregon hospitality, food and wines. As others have mentioned no details left undone!

Room Tip: wide variety of rooms, from small apartment style in the house next door to a room with a sitting ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Tripadvisor's comments were certainly true. The Tuscan Estate B & B was well located, a few blocks from downtown. Liz provided us with many suggestions for food, wine.. always ready, morning or night, to help us. The little touches that Liz & Jacques provided us made it a wonderful stay, ie coffee in early morning while ready the newspapers, cold water available in a little fridge to use whenever.
Jacques' breakfast creations were appreciated every morning and his home-made croissants & "petit pain au chocolat" were incredible. All in all, a wonderful experience staying with Liz & Jacques. C. & C. F.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
0.2 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.6 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
0.7 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#4 of 6 in McMinnville
119 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast

Property: A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 809 NE Evans St, McMinnville, OR 97128-3927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
A' Tuscan Estate Bed And Breakfast McMinnville, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing