We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McMinnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
2 reviews
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at A'Tuscan Estate B&B as a birthday/date night for my husband. We stayed in the very cozy, comfortable Siena room. It was quiet and charming The interior of the house and rooms takes you straight to Tuscany - they are beautifully appointed. Liz and Jacques are very welcoming and treat guests like royalty. Our breakfast in the morning was a delicious black truffle quiche made especially for my husband's birthday. The tropical fruit with Thai basil and accompanying creme brulee started off the gourmet meal. It's a perfect location to either walk into McMinnville and explore its cafes, wine bars and antique stores or visit the myriad of wineries in the area. This wasn't our first stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
265
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Liz and Jacques set a very high standard for excellence in service, presentation, and guest satisfaction at their beautiful B&B, A Tuscan Estate. Surrounded by 100+ wineries in the Willamette Valley, Liz and Jacques have a host of recommendations for wine tasting and restaurants in McMinnville and the surrounding area of the Valley. If you love French food, this B&B will take you back to Paris and any 3 Star Michelin dining experience. Outstanding, outstanding, outstanding!

We stayed in the Craftsman Suite in the adjacent building and enjoyed a large, comfortable "home experience," complete with everthing you would expect....and then some. Liz was extremely responsive to every request, made reservations for us at some of the best restaurants in the area, as well as having Jacques, an accomplished chef and master wine sommelier, recommend some of the best wineries to visit, along with outstanding recommendations for vino.

If your travels take you to the Willamette Valley, A Tuscan Estate is the place to stay!

Room Tip: The Craftman Apartment if you want privacy and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJS9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Possibly the best B&B we have visited. We stayed 2 nights in the Tuscan suite (an upgrade as other guests requested the room we reserved) and my in-laws had either the Napoli or Portofino room. The rooms were spacious and we loved the original details of the house, particularly the woodwork. Liz was an excellent hostess and informative in pointing us towards worthwhile lesser known wineries we would not have tried without her suggestion. We made good use of the free tasting coupons she provided. Jacques's breakfasts were amazing, and we were fortunate that he graciously agreed to prepare a private dinner for us as he generally no longer prepares dinners for guests. This delicious "5-course" meal included a main course that essentially featured 3 entrees, and the dessert course involved sampling a handful of treats. We savored it all and the presentation was beyond what we have observed at some top restaurants. The location seems to be best among all the B&Bs in Willamette Valley. We'll be sure to return on our next wine-tasting trip to Willamette.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

One of the best B&B's we have stayed in. We stayed in the Napoli room, very comfortable with a very large well appointed bathroom. Location is excellent with a short 10 minute walk to downtown and several restaurants and shops. Wake up hungry here. Jacques is an award winning chef and his 5 star breakfast is simply outstanding. It was the highlight to our daily meals. We'll be back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Tuscan Estate B & B is located in a historic house near the main McMinnville tourist must, 3rd street downtown. The house is beautiful and the rooms are classic and cozy. Liz is very hospitable and informative. Jacques was not only a gourmet chef, but entertaining as well! We were able to walk downtown, to a local wedding venue, to the Saturday farmer's market and several wine bars. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Siena room. It is their smallest room, but with just my husband and I, it was a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Everything said in the other reviews is true! From the incredible breakfasts, to the accommodations (we stayed in the Tuscany Suite), to the hospitality, every aspect of our four nights with Jacques and Liz was simply marvelous. Here's what the other reviews didn't discuss...

Their location in McMinnville sets the perfect stage for unwinding after a day of running around the valley. There are outstanding restaurants in that little town! Their circle of friends includes others who have the passion for food and truly exceptional wines. Jacques will guide you to the best vintners in the valley... Not the ones with the best views, or the most extravagant tasting rooms... Just the best wine. He was spot on. They both will guide you to the best restaurants, too. Each recommendation was perfect.

Spending evenings with them was like visiting family - comfortable and completely entertaining. Jacques shared some of his home-distilled treats with us and another couple. His skills with flavors is just astounding.

We will be back, this time during the summer months!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I don't even know where to start on what all we liked about this place! My husband and I were on a mini honeymoon back in October and stayed at A'Tuscan for 2 nights while we were touring Oregon wine country. It was fabulous! We typically are not B&B people so we rented the Craftsman Apartment. This was a private full 1 bedroom apartment in the Coach House next to the main house. We loved this apartment and would have enjoyed more time in it. The bed, which we are very picky about, was extremely comfortable. And Liz, I still want the website for those sheets, they were amazing! Next time we go, I would like to buy some fresh ingredients and take advantage of the full kitchen and the great dining room. Liz was extremely accomodating, and on the morning I wasn't feeling well and couldn't stay to finish my breakfast (at the time I had just had the 1st of 6 procedures done on my mouth) she packed it up for my husband to bring back to me. Which was fantastic. Being a semi-foodie, I coulnd't wait to try Jacques breakfasts after all the reviews I read. I must say, they did not disappoint! I mean he presses his own truffle oil, what more can you say. Truly 5 star breakfast and perfect way to get a base for a day of wine tasting. We found we never craved anything to eat until late in the day after one of Jacques breakfasts. Beyond his cooking skills, he is truly a unique man to talk to, my husband and I greatly enjoyed our conversations with him. Liz and Jacques, thank you for making us feel so welcom in your home. We have already been thinking about a first anniversary trip back!

Room Tip: Large, Spacious and Private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these McMinnville hotels
0.2 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.6 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
0.7 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#5 of 6 in McMinnville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
4.9 mi away
Youngberg Hill Vineyards & Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast

Property: A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 809 NE Evans St, McMinnville, OR 97128-3927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
A' Tuscan Estate Bed And Breakfast McMinnville, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing