We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful respite in a charming town”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McMinnville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 McMinnville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
“Delightful respite in a charming town”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent two nights here in mid-October 2012. It truly is a delightful place. The rooms are well furnished with included bath. But the real attraction is the cooking of Jacques. The breakfasts we're simply unbelievable. My wife is lactose intolerant so Jacques provided wonderful alternatives to the quiche and home made croissants he served me. One morning it included a happy face of two eggs on toast in a smiley face. Another he provided a benedict with a spinach and potato pancake with egg on top while I was enjoying a tasty mini creme brulee with fresh fruit. The residence is in easy walking distance of McMinnville's main street with wonderful shops and wine tasting opportunities. I've stayed in b and b's around the globe this one is certainly among the top five.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
294
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I can restate all of the positive comments from previous posters; the lovely rooms, congenial hosts and amazing breakfasts or I can just suggest that if you are researching a convenient, comfortable B & B in the heart of the Willamette wine country and want that 'special experience', you can stop looking. This is the place. Cleanliness, comfort, cuisine, helpful owners and value for the experience all rate A+.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Our first visit to OR for wine tasting and we couldn't have found a nicer place to stay. Liz and Jacque are perfect hosts with Liz being a very knowledgeable go to for sightseeing and travel information. Needless to say Jacques breakfasts were out of this world and whenever we mentioned where we were staying to anyone they all were of the opinion that this is the place to stay. The property and rooms are beautiful and in my 30+ years of travelling this was the most comfortable bed and pillows that I ever slept on. We will be back for another visit very soon.

Tom & Wendy
Appleton, WI.

Room Tip: They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a marvelous visit to A Tuscan Estate B&B. We composed two couples travelling together, and the Craftsman bungalow, with two bedrooms, both ensuite, was perfect. The large living room was amply big to allow us to have a gathering with acquaintances in the area, and we had the whole house to ourselves - no fear of disturbing neighbors.

Jacques is --- amazing! A sense of humor that is always active and spot-on, a master chef, an author (cookbooks), a collector of antiquities --- I could go on. The breakfast was divine - quiche of ostrich egg, with black truffles! We took away a bag of homemade croissant and pain au chocolat, and some wonderful memories.

We highly recommend and will definitely return.

Room Tip: The main level Craftsman is huge - with a full kitchen, living room, large master suite, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RONVIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were wine tasting in McMinnville and the server asked us where we were staying. When we told him A' Tuscan Estate, he asked if we had "survived" the breakfast. They are the main reason to visit this inn. It is a perfectly lovely old, Victorian house within easy reach of the lovely downtown and it's many restaurants and tasting rooms, and the rooms, while cozy (read, small) and well appointed are not that note worthy. The breakfasts, however, are a thing apart. We had two breakfasts and they held us most of the day. The first morning's repast began with creme brulee - the first time I'd ever had it for breakfast, but why not - and a beautiful mix of really fresh berries. It was followed by the much talked about tomato volcano and home made croisants. the second morning started with tropical fruits (banana, mango, pineapple and papaya with just a touch of basil), more homemade pastries and followed with individual quiches that had diced black truffle and a touch of truffle oil floating on top. It wasn't until after we had finished that we wee informed that they wee made with ostrich egg. We won't soon forget these meals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We found this B&B by just driving around McMinnville during our first visit to the college. Liz gave us a quick tour of this beautiful property, and we decided we needed to try it for our next visit. We were very happy with our experience. It is a beautiful property, and Liz and Jacques were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was home made croissants, a berry medley, creme brûlée, and a truffle quiche - wonderful stuff in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. It's so refreshing to see hosts who care about providing a good experience, and who do it well - my wife commented that it is obvious they put a lot of thought into the guest experience, and pay attention to detail. Our room was very comfortable, and we slept soundly.

We will come again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drussell15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our first visit to the Tuscan Estate and we would love to go back. Liz and Jacques where great hosts of their little B&B. We stayed there two night as our hub to visit the wineries. I don't think there is a bad room in any of the 8 or 10 rooms they have. Each day (2) we got a new breakfast, and I know that if I had stayed longer, I'm sure they would all have been different. I would go back here in a heart beat. Jacques is a great writer too, and I bought one of his books "The Cook's Essential Kitchen Dictionary". Everyone should have this in their home. Great Christmas gift too. Thank you Liz, Jacques and Mike (brother) for a great stay. Mona and Chris.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Portofino Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anom10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McMinnville
0.2 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
318 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
1.6 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
0.7 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#4 of 6 in McMinnville
119 reviews
20.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel in Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast

Property: A' Tuscan Estate Bed and Breakfast
Address: 809 NE Evans St, McMinnville, OR 97128-3927
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McMinnville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in McMinnville
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
A' Tuscan Estate Bed And Breakfast McMinnville, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing