We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome McKenzie Hosts!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McKenzie Bridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Horse Creek Lodge & Outfitters
Parshall, Colorado
1 review
“Awesome McKenzie Hosts!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Horse Creek Lodge is a perfect getaway for couples and families, especially if you like a personalized experience. Gary and Alyssa are the most accomodating hosts! They are enthusiastic about making your stay with them enjoyable, are generous with their time, and Gary is an especially talented and entertaining raft guide! We spent 4 nights there and had a wonderful time rafting, biking, hiking, and visiting family. The open welcome we received was very special. We hope to return next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesandmike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PDX
1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is ideal for groups or families on their own that want to stay in one of the cabins. the location is perfect for mountain biking. You can ride the epic McKenzie River Trail and enjoy a short 2 mile road ride from the end of the ride back to the cabins. Gary will even shuttle you to the top with your buddies in the grease bus (yes it runs on fry oil) and 5 hours later you are back at the cabins, beer in hand hanging by the fire pit. Alyssa is such a great host, they really want your stay to be special and will do whatever is takes to see that you have everything you need. If you are not into mountain biking there are great hikes in the area that lead to some of the best waterfalls you'll ever see. If you are looking to explore the McKenzie there is no better home basecamp than Horse Creek Lodge.

Room Tip: the lodge is great for bigger groups and the cabins are really nice if you want to be a bit more sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeDub007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A group of families have gathered twice at Horse Creek and we had the time of our lives! Alyssa and Gary are amazing hosts - so helpful in every way. The main house is great to gather for meals, games and dancing and the small cabins are so sweet for a family or couples.The location is amazing near a moss dripping forest and the creek and open areas for playing lawn games and biking around the property. It is so close to the McKenzie River trail, the waterfalls, lakes and all recreation. We love this place and hope to make it an annual tradition!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandj1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband's birthday celebration request: a cabin with a nice place to have a fire and relax. A place to have 8+ people spend the night. A place to bbq and hang out.

There are a ton of multi-person cabin rentals on Craigslist. I found Horse Creek Ranch's website more user friendly than most and was easily able to book the Delta House for one night. Something I also really appreciated during booking was no hidden or last minute charges, deposits, and fees. Planning a birthday retreat somewhere far away that you've never been to can be daunting- the owners answered all of my questions quickly and by the time we arrived I was totally at ease and well prepared.

The Delta House is a HUGE house nestled in the pines. There are four bedrooms, each with two double beds and a private bath. I wanted to take a second to mention the state of the rooms and bathrooms- they have all recently been redone and had new, clean linens and fluffy white towels. These aren't gross cabin rooms that look like they are from the 70's- it feels more like a hotel, which all of my guests really appreciated. Things are sturdy enough that they were inebriated-guy friendly, and stylish enough that one could have a Glamping weekend there for the girls.

Common areas: The kitchen, as I mentioned, is massive, has a ton of appliances, and has everything you need to cook minus the food. There is a dining space that sits 8 people and a giant island that could seat additional people. The living room has a large couch and plenty of space to relax. The house is v-shaped, so just outside every room you will find a fire pit, grill, and picnic tables.

My guests enjoyed the quick hike to the creek, the seclusion, and the cleanliness and quality of the rooms. I loved having a huge kitchen to prepare meals in, use of supplies that I forgot to bring, and so much space to entertain. It was also easy to clean everything in the morning before check out!

Peripheral things to note: Getting there was very easy. It took a little less than 3 hours from Portland, and not a single driver among 4 cars got lost. There is a well-stocked store about one minute down the road for anything you forgot to bring. There is no cell phone service at the actual house, but there is a land line at the owner's place, and there is free wifi in the Delta House. If you are afraid of forgetting plates, cups, cooking equipment- don't be- they have it all there AND a dishwasher. Each room has it's own TV.

If you're planning any kind of group retreat, I highly recommend renting the Delta House at Horse Creek Lodge.

Room Tip: It would be awesome to book the Delta House in the summer and take advantage of the rafting they off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Absolutely amazing! This is the place to go for relaxing or for sport. Hiking, biking, rafting, kayaking, skiing, golfing you name it! I personally like to view the falls, lava fields and other scenic areas and then stay cozied up to the fire in the adorable cabins with a good book. The cabins are cozy and comfortable and seem to have new upgrades every time I am there. I love to walk the trails to Horse Creek and play horse shoes and ladderball for fun in between. The owners are lovely and warm people with two adorable kiddos running the property. The cabins are well stocked, cozy, comfortable and clean. Definitely a must do and a definitely going to go back kind of place! Already planning my next trip!

Room Tip: The cabins are roomy and comfortable. If you have a big group you would need the Delta House which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I had a great weekend getaway at Horse Creek Lodge. Quiet, comfortable and the right touch of hospitality. The McKenzie River is heavenly and our river guides, Alyssa and Gary, who own and operate Horse Creek Lodge, showed us a grand time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dafvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McKenzie Bridge
8.6 mi away
McKenzie River Mountain Resort
0.9 mi away
Loloma Lodge
Loloma Lodge
#3 of 7 in McKenzie Bridge
2 reviews
13.8 mi away
McKenzie River Inn Lodging & Fine Dining
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
The Wayfarer Resort
Show Prices

Been to Horse Creek Lodge & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horse Creek Lodge & Outfitters

Property: Horse Creek Lodge & Outfitters
Address: 56228 Delta Dr, McKenzie Bridge, OR 97413-9732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > McKenzie Bridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in McKenzie Bridge
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best of McKenzie River lodging, Horse Creek Lodge offers beautiful cabins and world-class relaxation and recreation. Enjoy our vacation cabins while you explore the McKenzie River Valley, on the trails, the river and the roads. From epic mountain biking, hiking and fishing, to Oregon’s best skiing, there’s year-round fun at Horse Creek Lodge! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Horse Creek Lodge & Outfitters Oregon/McKenzie Bridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing