We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Stars for Maupin, 3 stars for rest of world”
Review of Imperial River Co.

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial River Co.
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

If you ever needed verification of the Theory of Relativity, try writing a review for the Imperial River Hotel in Maupin. On an absolute scale, you can't really give this hotel anything more than a 3 star rating. The rooms in the remodeled historic building and annex are modest, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is self serve where you can pull a Jimmy Dean sausage sandwich or waffle from the freezer and zap it in the microwave. Plus you get your choice of hard boiled eggs and cold cereal and toast. This is ordinary stuff.

But you have to consider the location. Nestled along the banks of the mighty Deschutes river with world class rafting and trout fishing within minutes of your door. You are miles away from the cares of the world. Given the right frame of mind, you could consider this as paradise.

The hotel restaurant is open from late April to September and is easily the best meal in Maupin. Be sure to try a grass fed and natural steak from the Imperial ranch.

Highly recommend for anglers and rafters.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeeliaIRC, Director of Sales at Imperial River Co., responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Thank you for your unique review of the property! We're glad that you enjoy the location so much and keep coming back. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 267 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2012

The company I work for has had our annual Manager's Retreat at this place the past two years in a row. What a fantastic place! The rooms have different names and have no tv's or phones, but plenty of books to read (and Wifi so you don't feel completely cut off from the outside world). There are journal books in each room where guests can write comments about their stays, and it was fun to come back this year, and read some of our own reviews from last year! The staff treated us so well - - and the food --- FANTASTIC!!! The steaks melt in your mouth, the desserts were to die for, and although dinner service was a little slow, it was worth the wait (and we were a pretty large party). The river running by adds a nice amibiance to the experience.

I was a little amibivilent the first time we were told we were going there, as it was chosen as an alternative to Kah-nee-tah, where'd we'd grown tired of. Let me say, there was NO comparison. Lovely place, even though we were there during the off-season.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river have decks, which are nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We always come in December every year, for company appreciation dinner/stay. Nice Get-Away, no tv, no telephone! Modern facility on the banks of the Deschutes....what else does a person need?????????????!?????????????????????????????????????????????????????

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanoriafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A hidden oasis in Maupin, on the Deschutes River. Comfortable, homey rooms with no phones or TVs, just relax and enjoy. The staff was welcoming and helpful. The continental breakfast was more that expected. The meals we enjoyed in the dining room were very tasty and served with attention to detail. We look forward to bring our famiy in the summer for a rafting adverture!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

It makes for such a better fishing trip if you can hit the Imperial after a day of steeheading on the D. A hot shower, a cold beer, a meal, gets you ready to get after it the next day.

Easy to park the boat. The breakfast room is open early so you can grab a bite to eat before putting the boat in the dark. Coffee maker in the room to get you going. Fridge to keep your beer cold.

We got in late and they just put the card in the door for me. We had to hit the Double Mountain brewery on the way over.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mitch D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rooms were fine, except for the ones located immediately across the walkway from four air conditioning units. Bar service was fine. Front desk service was below average...basically going through the motions and indifferent as to customer needs or desires. Fire pit was not working, but looked like an interesting gathering place. Nice lawn out to the river.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are looking for peace and quiet I would suggest not staying in any of the rooms over the restaurant or bar. These rooms have terrible sound proofing so you hear dinner conversations and music from the restaurant until 10 or eleven o'clock at night. The staff is OK. I believe they could use better training though. It would be nice that when checking in the desk person would tell you where the room is located so that you don't have to ask housekeeping. Some of the waitresses seem to be well versed in service while others do not seemed to have been trained properly as to refill beverages, clear empty plates, and as to all items on the menu. The property is outstanding and being able to walk to to the river from the back lawn is great.

Room Tip: Do not get a room over the restaurant or bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Imperial River Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial River Co.

Address: 304 Bakeoven Road, Maupin, OR 97037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Maupin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Maupin
Price Range: $78 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Imperial River Co. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imperial River Company isn’t just a place; it is a state of mind. And our motto proves it.…Actively relaxing on the banks of the Deschutes River. Whether you have come out for the whitewater rafting, fishing, hunting, hiking, cycling, scenery, or to just get away from the big city for a weekend of relaxation and sun (we average 300 days of sun a year), Imperial River Company can more than help. Nestled directly on the banks of the Deschutes River, we are ideally situated to provide you with a relaxing environment and scenic views of the river with over 1/4 mile of river frontage. While we may be known for our beautiful lodge, scrumptious food, professionally guided whitewater rafting trips, and pheasant and chukar hunting adventures, we strive to provide more. Excellent service and a relaxing atmosphere make your stay with us that much more enjoyable. Look no further than our open-flame fire pit in our courtyard during the evenings where our guests relax and talk of the day’s successes. Come out and enjoy the best that Central Oregon has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Imperial River Co. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial River Co. Hotel Maupin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing