We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable”
Review of River Run Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maupin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Run Lodge
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Had a great experience here! Stayed two nights in the Wapinitia room, which was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The room, located on the second floor, is equipped with an air conditioner, mini fridge, flat screen tv (with DirecTV), and a Queen and Twin bed. On the ground floor is a large common area that has a full kitchen (with self-serve breakfast in the morning - yogurt, toast, cereal, coffee, tea), washer/dryer, a computer with internet access, two couches and large-screen tv. The courtyard includes a grassy area with a BBQ and tables and chairs for those who want to cook their own meals and/or sit outside. The owner was very helpful and attentive. I accidentally locked myself out of my room in the morning and had to call him to unlock my door. He was already on the premises and came to my rescue within one minute. You can tell that a lot of thought was put into the River Run Lodge and that the owners take a lot of pride in maintaining the property. I had a pleasant and memorable trip to Maupin and would recommend the River Run Lodge to anyone seeking clean, comfortable and affordable lodging.

Some cons: Parking lot is small and the stairs leading up to the second floor are a little steep which could potentially pose a problem for someone with mobility limitiations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed two nights at River Run Lodge while on a rafting trip. We met the owner, he was very courteous. We had full access to the lodge lobby. The lobby had a full kitchen which we used for two of our meals. The lobby also had a computer and a lovely sitting area to watch HD t.v. This area could accomodate a large party.
The Lodge also included a beautiful garden area with tables and chairs. We used this area to eat, play cards and read. The area was very peaceful.
We will choose River Run Lodge for our next visit to the Maupin area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitneyk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrensburg, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We normally stay at major chain hotels, but could find none convenient to where we needed to be that night. Maupin is primarily a rafting town on the Des Chutes River, and most of the lodging was already full for the Saturday night at the time we booked. Room was small, but did have DirecTV. Bed was adequate, shower was good. This is family-owned, with no management on-site, but they do leave a phone number. There is a common area, with a full kitchen guests can use (& clean up themselves) and a grill outside. It has wifi with a good signal, but we didn't find the log-in (on a sign on the door). There are several places to eat within easy walking distance. Cost under $70 including tax.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Old_Drum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mforeaker, Owner at River Run Lodge, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate your comments. Since you stayed, we have replaced all the old queen beds with new "pillow top" sets, added a breakfast bar, converted one of our rooms to an office so I can be on-site more without being "underfoot", and continue to make many improvements to the Lodge.
We hope you'll come back and try us again!

Thanks,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Fabulous patio and rear lawn area with terrific views. The owners are the nicest people. Great value as well.

Room Tip: I liked the Trout and Steelhead rooms but the larger rooms are really good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdcheveallier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2010

The River Run Lodge was an excellent place to stay recently while on an extended job assignment near Maupin, Oregon. It has a large clean kitchen we were allowed to use to make our own home-cooked meals in this very nice, clean, comfortable and charming place. The owners, Mike and Dani Foreaker are extremely helpful, accommodating, hard working and dependable. We couldn't have asked for a nicer "home away from home", and we highly recommend it. In addition to the its reputation for great overnight lodging for river rafters, we think it would be a great place for a large family gathering such as a reunion or other celebration, as well as a business seminar or any other special interest group retreat. It is wonderful and we look forward to our next stay at the River Run Lodge.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yallanemshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

You are only in Maupin for one reason - Rafting, and this is a good base to stay. We were in the Oak Springs room which had a good self catering facilities, although restaurants and bars are in walking distance. When we arrived, half the youngsters from Bend were staying in the other rooms and we braced ourselves for a rowdy night, but they paid respect and behaved themselves. Strangely we never met the owners as they left a key in the room for us and we returned the compliment when we departed. The rafting is excellent and you will get wet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StanleySurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maupin
19.5 mi away
Balch Hotel
Balch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dufur
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial River Co.
Imperial River Co.
#1 of 5 in Maupin
264 reviews
22.2 mi away
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
Kah-Nee-Ta Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Warm Springs
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Run Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Run Lodge

Property: River Run Lodge
Address: 210 Hartman Ave, P.O. Box 280, Maupin, OR 97037
Location: United States > Oregon > Maupin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Maupin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, River Run Lodge offers quiet, comfortable lodging just a short walk from the wild and scenic Deschutes River. Located in the heart of Maupin's recreation district, River Run Lodge offers easy access to the river, restaurants, and other local amenities, along with the privacy and intimacy of a small, 5 room inn. On summer evenings, enjoy our shaded courtyard overlooking the river, and, if you wish, grill your own dinner on our complimentary barbeque.The Lodge sleeps up to 13 people. For large parties, reserve the entire building. For smaller groups, the three upstairs rooms can be rented as a suite ("River Rooms Suite"), with adjoining hallways providing common access to the full sized kitchen in Oak Springs, and a large, private deck. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing