We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well appointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coast Cabins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coast Cabins
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Certificate of Excellence
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very well appointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We chose to spend our anniversary at the Coast Cabins. We had read good things and viewed the website but they really didn't do it justice. The cabins are beautifully furnished with every amenity, down to the smallest detail. Very quiet and private. The ocean lulled us to sleep every night. We brought our puppy with us and they had a dog bed and dog towels laid out for her. We did stop to pick up food and wine at Whole Foods in Hillsboro, so were able to relax and enjoy ourselves in the cabin, instead of having to go out for dinner. Friendly staff. Just a great getaway. We plan to go back soon!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the spa cabin (#5) with its very private hot tub and sauna. No fireplace, but we were go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ikcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    9
    4
    1
    6
See reviews for
35
170
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
portland, or
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Last year we spent 3 days at Christmas, this year three days for Thanksgiving. Our kids who live all over the USA love this place, but now we have created a monster.....we love this place so much we don't dare go anywhere else. The owners are so quality and detail oriented. We find the highest attention to detail of anywhere we have ever stayed and that includes the San Ysidro Ranch in Santa Barbara.
Coast Cabins are in a class of their own. the town is small and reminds me of Carmel before it became too "tourista". We stayed in one condo this year and one cabin. The condo is great for cooking and meals for our adult family of 5, but the additional room in a cabin was just right. All in all, Coast Cabins deserves their well earned reputation. They have class, courtesy and the highest order of design and authenticity. I could not recommend a place to be more highly.

Room Tip: Cabins 4 and 5 are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doctormm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
639 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We needed a place to relax and this was it. We saw no other guests or anyone. It was awesome! We walked to everything in town and to the beach. Manzanita is wonderful.

Inspired: intimate Cabin 2

Atmosphere: ideal

Service: they were great and never seen

Return: yes

Room Tip: all will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 275GTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

It's our new favorite retreat in Manzanita, Oregon! We enjoyed it for our anniversary. Everything was perfect from the start-- being greeted with a glass of Chardonnay (why doesn't this happen everywhere?!). We stayed in Cabin 3 - The North Tower.

The cabin was beautifully appointed from the décor down to the kitchen and bathroom amenities to the big fluffy towels for the hot tub-- they thought of everything. The comfy bed made it hard to get out of it in the morning. We enjoyed some scrabble and dominos out in front of our cabin while our personal fire pit provided heat as well as made for a fun experience with s'mores-- they even supplied the s'mores kit...what fun! It was SO nice and private nestled among the bamboo and pines. When we ventured into town for shopping, drinks or food, we would come back to enjoy the large communal fire pit.

This is a gem of a place-- but we hope it doesn't become too popular such that we cannot enjoy it next year. Our only regret this year-- we didn't book it for more nights in advance! We'll be back for years to come.

Keep up the great work!

Room Tip: It comes down to what you're looking for. We were after privacy, a fire pit and a hot tub. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stumptown2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Believe the reviews on Tripadvisor, we did.

We just stayed in Condo 9. It was just beautiful. Very large, spotlessly clean, very tastefully decorated, and the bed was to die for! As well, there were unexpected little surprises. The owners of these cabins and condos are going the extra mile to ensure you have one of the most pleasant stays, ever.

While the condos are just a couple blocks from the beach, we would not hesitate to stay in the cabins. They are relatively close as well, just a pleasant walk away.

We talked about Coast Cabins for the rest of our trip, in part because it totally exceeded our expectations, and in part because the next place we stayed was so bad.

As first time visitors to the Oregon coast, we were also stunned by the beauty of the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wonderful stay. Cabin 5 was perfect in every way. Sauna, hot tub, grill, full kitchen. Amenities were outstanding. Every detail has been addressed. And the small staff was friendly and helpful. Outstanding value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stay October 20th 2013 at the Cabine 1 with very poor results.
When we arrived about 2:30pm we were informed "that checking should not be ready until 4pm". We were invited to walk around until that time. We discover that we were about almost one mile form the beach. No food service at the hotel, just some chocolate and apple at the the table. When I asked they give me "list of close restaurants" (In Manzanita just 4)
After we checked in I was surprise about the configuration of the "Cabine". Just a very small living area with a plasma TV and the bathroom. At the upper part the bedroom with a nice Bose music equipment buy when you need to get toilette you must go down. It is a very interesting exercise at 4am!
Next morning at 8:00am we discovered that we did not have water at the shower. Considering that you don´t have phone service at the hotel to call reception, I walked to the called "reception" (just a table and a chair) but was nobody.I called the phone indicated at the door, without any success. At 10am we departed without hear anything from anybody leaving the key at a designated box.
It seems surprised that a hotel charging more than $250 a night has a very poor facility and worse service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manuel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CoastCabinsManzanita, General Manager at Coast Cabins, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Manuel,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We strive to excel in customer service and experience.

It seems a few of the cabin specifics and logistics escaped your notice when you booked your reservation online.  As stated online, cabin #1 the South Tower, is a two level 425 sq ft cabin. Four out of our six cabins have bathrooms immediately off the bedroom. The two towers do not, but guests appreciate these units specifically for their architectural qualities and use of space.
We do not claim to have a restaurant on site. Manzanita has several restaurants within easy walking distance of us. We also provide complimentary seasonal amenities, complimentary wine/beer/beverage service at check-in and many small and some not so small touches to make our guests feel more comfortable. We do provide a list of and directions to all local restaurants.
With only six rooms, we cannot offer 24 hour front desk service. Our front desk is staffed from 10AM to 6PM with an after hours number listed for emergencies. Messages are returned promptly. I'm sorry that you were unable to reach us in the early morning of your departure, but there was no message from you on the main line nor on the emergency line. One must pull on the shower handle in the bath to start the water flowing, then the temperature is adjusted by turning the nob to the left or the right. The water works in the unit are of sound working order.

The main cabins property sits 6 blocks from the beach (approximately a quarter mile) and we have done our best to describe our location within our literature, website and marketing materials. It is a unique garden setting, not an oceanfront setting.

I notice that you rate our property 2 stars for cleanliness, rooms and sleep quality. Our housekeepers take great care, time and diligence in preparing the rooms for each arriving guest. This is why your room was not quite ready at 2:30 and why our guaranteed check-in time is 4 o'clock. The rooms are then double checked by management prior to any guests arrival. Further, the owners continuously re-invest in this property. You slept in pressed luxury linens atop a new featherbed and mattress, sat on a new sofa, and enjoyed two new Bose systems in your cabin. While it is true that one can stay in Manzanita for $95.00, quality cannot be measured by ocean views and price alone. Your effective room rate was $195 + tax (not $250). We feel this represents an excellent value when one considers what is offered in our rooms.

I thank you for staying with us, but wish you had either called and asked some questions or looked at some room descriptions before making your choice to book online with us. In our continued effort to manage expectations and correctly market our properties, we would have been happy to make recommendations based on your specific needs ensuring a pleasant experience- either with us or somewhere else.

Regards,

Lisa Nelson,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
11.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
11.0 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
10.8 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
11.1 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Cabins

Property: Coast Cabins
Address: 635 Laneda Ave, Manzanita, OR 97130-9092
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coast Cabins 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coast Cabins is a timeless and intimate hotel hideaway in Manzanita Oregon. With amenities galore, we offer the perfect retreat for couples, individuals and groups who seek comfort with style in modern and elegantly casual surroundings. Our Spa cabins feature private outdoor hot-tubs and patio areas. Located 13 miles south of Cannon Beach in beautiful, laid back Manzanita. Our gorgeous accommodations are designed to help you relax, renew and enjoy the beauty of the Northern Oregon Coast without sacrificing your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Coast Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Cabins Hotel Manzanita
Coast Cabins Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing