We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, great ammenities, uncomfortable beds”
Review of San Dune Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manzanita
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Dune Inn
Ranked #3 of 3 Manzanita B&B and Inns
Portland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good value, great ammenities, uncomfortable beds”
Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at the San Dune for 2 nights over Mothers Day weekend with our 2 kids. the owner was very nice, and they offer lots of things the kids loved, like free bikes to ride and free movies. the room was clean, we had a kichen unit, it wasn't as fully stocked as i thought it may be; 1 knife, a TINY cutting board, etc. the room was decorated in mismatched furniture and prints with broken frames hanging on the walls, and the beds were not good, old, hard and uncomfortable. the Inn is completely dog friendly, we were the only ones without a dog and the place was filled that weekend. overall i think it's an ok place to stay with kids if you aren't looking for more than a place to sleep at night. it's within walking distance to absolutely everything, very quiet at night, and the owner is great!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busymama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

After about a half dozen trips to Manzanita, I always find myself coming back to the San Dune Inn. Its an affordable and clean motor inn with friendly inn keeper Brian. They have hundreds of movies to rent for free and each room has its own tv/vcr combo. The location is set back on Laneda - the main street. Very dog friendly and they - unlike other places don't charge an extra fee per night for dogs.

The rooms themselves are simple and have a mini fridge - i think some units come with kitchenettes. The showers have good pressure and basically all you need when you are done for beach combing all day. The shared grill/patio is a nice addition if you want to just grill up some food in the back. For price and value its a good deal. Get signed up on their newsletter to keep you in the loop until next time you're in Manzanita.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teut0nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

The owners are nice, the room was small and older but very clean and cozy. The bed was not that comfortable (hard) but the linens were very crisp and clean which is rare even in a hotel these days. They have a ton of VHS tapes for free use in the lobby and board games, too. Close to the small town market, shops and a small gallery. Only a few blocks walk to the beach. Try the coffee shop down the street on the way to the beach...good donuts. The price at this motel is very low compared to anywhere else in this part of the coast and they don't have a 2-night minimum. We visited in January 08 and it was snowing and QUIET...lovely and peaceful.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Disliked — Bed was much too firm
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmp2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

I emailed owner Brian on a Sunday to ask about availabilty for our trip and he cheerfully replied less than two hours later with all the information I needed. Our experience once we got there was just the same--Brian and his wife are lovely and helpful. They gave us a little map of the town, advice on good restaurants, and personally showed us to our room. The room was spotless and had a microwave, small refrigerator and coffee maker. The bikes, VHS tapes, games, and books to borrow were a nice touch. The motel isn't new but it is well cared for and the service was fabulous. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here on another trip and would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Great owner, pet-friendly, laid back and fun. I really liked staying here and the owner was WONDERFUL. Clean even though the rooms aren't terribly spacious. Great location. Staff goes out of the way to make you feel comfortable. No-frills, but worth staying!!!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank jacknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pdx, OR
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Brian and Billie's attitude is simple, be the most accomodating owner's of a place to stay on the NW Coast. I return to the San Dune year after year even after trying other places. Nothing feels this special and yet like home. Big clean rooms with good beds, bikes to borrow, tons of videos to see, jazz collection to listen to, golf clubs, popcorn, ice, outdoor grill, efficiency units, honeymoon suite, dog friendly, accessible to everything and quiet. The San Dune is a great value and Brian especially is a good guy.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank UnBuenTipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2006

My husband and I wanted an aniversary get away in the beach and the only please that wasn't ridiculosuly expensive and/or booked was the San Dune Inn

Well, we are so glad the luck play in our side and we ended up there because it was a really nice experience. We loved this place and we plan to come back as much as we are able to do it... the owners are so nice people, it has such as homey feeling, its so affordable and close to the beach. Simply beautiful

Silvia

  • Liked — The owners, they are really sweet and genuine people
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy your stay in such beautiful town
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank santapatita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.2 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
249 reviews
10.8 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,563 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
659 reviews
6.3 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
763 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#4 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Dune Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Dune Inn

Property: San Dune Inn
Address: 428 Dorcas Ln, Manzanita, OR 97130-9019
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanita
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
San Dune Hotel Manzanita
San Dune Inn Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing