We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, clean, simple, a good value”
Review of Spindrift Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spindrift Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Manzanita B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, clean, simple, a good value”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Manzanita is such a quiet, great beach that it doesn't have hundreds of motels. That makes the ones here expensive. I grew up going to small beach houses at the base of Neakanie, in Tolovana and Oceanside. I don't expect or want a 4 star room or a TV (although these rooms do have a TV).
I want a clean, decent place to stay. This Inn fits the bill perfectly. We were right in the middle of town close to everything and a block from the beach. Our room was quiet-off the main street. The staff was friendly. The room was clean and simple.The price was the least expensive that we found in this beach town. We will stay there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1shadeaufax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    68
    26
    5
    2
See reviews for
35
67
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a cute, clean motel in the center of Manzanita, making for a very convenient location. They have movies you can rent for no charge, good for evenings or rainy days at the beach.

They have rooms with Kitchenettes for $20 more than regular rooms. The Kitchenette includes what a regular room does plus a few plates, some cutlery, and a burner. No oven or toaster oven. We actually liked our non-kitchenette room better.

The walls are paper thin. Unless you're a heavy sleeper, expect lots of noise from inconsiderate guests and not to sleep past around 7am.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrangeLudo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is an old inn a block or so from the beach but very clean and cozy and excellent value. This is our second time staying here and we are always comfortable. They are also pet friendly which is great as we bring our dog. There are many places to stay in Manzanita but I think we will keep coming back here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Sprindrift Inn about 5 years ago on two separate occasions. The main reason why we stayed there was because of it's value. Very inexpensive and a great property at a great location. Glad to know that they are still the great little inn I remember from my stay at Manzanita, OR. Oh, and make sure to visit the coffee shop from down the street, they have the BEST pumpking spice muffins!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingWithMonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Spindrift Inn was not much to look at but it was clean, quiet and the town itself had everything you could want. There wasn't air conditioning so you had to sleep with the windows open and oddly enough you felt safe. We were balancing our stays and this was one of the inexpensive selections but well worth it.

Room Tip: Be sure to use the local grocery stores and restaurants you will be quite surprised at the quality o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryyo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Manzanita accommodations seemed to be more expensive than other towns on the coast, but this inn is a good value. It has an excellent location - about two blocks from the beach and in the heart of town (close to restaurants, a quick walk to the excellent Friday farmer's market and shops). The room opens up to a pretty courtyard with flowers, and the rooms themselves had a seaside chic feel to them. Free wifi. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyakabetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is an older property but well kept and clean as a whistle. No phones in the rooms but you can Skype on the internet! Manager was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aldogino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manzanita
0.4 mi away
Coast Cabins
Coast Cabins
#2 of 4 in Manzanita
253 reviews
10.7 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,927 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Surf Motel
Sunset Surf Motel
#1 of 4 in Manzanita
664 reviews
6.3 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spindrift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spindrift Inn

Property: Spindrift Inn
Address: 114 Laneda Ave, PO Box 1090, Manzanita, OR 97130-9045
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Manzanita
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Manzanita
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Spindrift Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely, quaint, great rooms, inexpensive, a great location, and the people are friendly ... that’s how our guests describe Spindrift Inn. This cozy 14 room cottage-style rural inn is just a block from a 7 mile beach in Manzanita, on Oregon’s gorgeous North Coast. Mountains meet the sea, surrounded by two State Parks, forests and the Pacific Ocean. In our inn you will find no smoking, pillowtop beds, some suites, some kitchenettes, and some pet-friendly rooms (call ahead to be sure). Off the highway, Manzanita’s small commercial district is nestled among cabins and cottages - perfect to park and walkabout. There are shops with trendy clothing, natural food, and several restaurants serving fish en papillote to authentic Mexican. And the connection with Nature is superb ... you can re-fresh, rejuvenate and be re-inspired when you return home. Or stay forever (we did). Come visit us ... then you may say: "Spindrift Inn might not have a lot of street appeal, but thankfully the rooms, cleanliness, staff, location and price were all wonderful. We’ll definitely be back again." Owned and operated by local families since 1946. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Spindrift Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spindrift Hotel Manzanita
Spindrift Inn Manzanita, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing